We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quinta da Bela Vista
Ranked #21 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

An oasis of calm above the overbuilt concrete jungle of Funchal. Everything was perfect. Beautiful gardens, peaceful surroundings, friendly , helpful staff all set in a characterful hotel. Meals were varied and delicious served by attentive waiters, the pool area was restful and calm with plenty of sunbeds and fresh white towels. Definitely one for Alastair Sawday! Sheer bliss!

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying extra for a superior room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

We spent a brilliant week here last year and, for the first time ever, decided to return to the same place again this year. Usually revisiting somewhere with fond memories results in a slight disappointment but not the Quinta da Bela Vista. It was pretty much perfect last year and everything was absolutely spot on again this year. Friendly, helpful, professional staff from the management to the guy who keeps the pool area tidy, a superb restaurant and spacious clean comfortable rooms. It deserves six stars.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
8  Thank ADGL1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is our second stay. The hotel is located out of the centre of Funchal which I think is good because it is more peaceful, with beautiful views.
We had two superior rooms with balconies and that is one of the best things - to sit out and look out across either the coast or the mountains. The hotel has its own botanical gardens with lovely tropical flowers and trees. The scent was wonderful.
We had bed and breakfast which is good - wide selection of food available for breakfast including lovely fresh tropical fruit from the island.
We enjoyed some bar snacks by the pool which were nice but it is very expensive.
From the hotel you are able to walk within five minutes to a number of local restaurants and cafes - a bakery,supermarket, chemist etc

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room with a balcony - its worth paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank yes61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

What can I say? There are too few superlatives to give this little holiday heaven on earth enough
praise.
This is our second visit in two years, (See Funchal Perfection 20 August 2012) and can think of no words to describe how truly magnificent this beautiful Hotel is.
The grounds,the rooms.the restaurant and food all shine,but on reflection the real secret that makes this Quinta work is the glorious staff. Although totally professional and attentive, they are happy,smiling and friendly,from the moment you arrive until the second you leave.If there was a sixth star available on Tripadvisor it would be awarded to Quinta da Bela Vista.
If you love peace,tranquility and excellence treat yourself.
Guess where we,re going next year?

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We spent a week at Quinta da Bela Vista in July and it certainly lived up to the reviews posted here. The staff and management were very attentive, helpful and pleasant and did their best to make our holiday enjoyable and memorable. We stayed in a superior room with a balcony on the top floor of the main building. This provided us with a superb view over Funchal and we could even see the sea. (It is the room on the website taken at night). Our room was kept extremely clean with the sheets being changed daily. Opting for half board gave us a five course meal each night. The food was excellent with a wide variety (but no choice). Bottles of wine started around 19 euros and a bottle of water was 4 euros. Any drinks not consumed could be taken on the following day. Evening meals were served outside of the old house and breakfast was either in the conservatory restaurant or on the lawn in front. They were good too. It was just the type of hotel we were looking for - quiet and relaxed, so think again if you have children (although there were some) and want lively entertainment. The hotel provided a daily shuttle bus to Funchal (8 seats) which started around 9.30 and ended at 5.45. There was a reduced service on Saturday and no service on Sunday. If we return to Madeira we will not consider anywhere else to stay other than Quinta da Bela Vista..

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor of the main building have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Our stay in Madeira was our first and this Hotel made it really special. Parts of this hotel were built in 1800s and the other buildings replicate the history of and on from that time. The employees are curtious, helpful and many are loyal and long serving. The other guests we met were a mix of regulars and new - everyone had great experiences. The food is excellent - we wereBed and Brakfast but had dinner one night - its not inexpensive but fine dining once in a while does no harm! The pool, view, facilities - spot on. Our room was charming. Wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel - just lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dominique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We have just returned from a week at this lovely hotel. We consider ourselves quite picky when it comes to cleanliness and service etc but after staying at the Quinta dal Bela Vista we had nothing to worry about. This hotel is overlooking the town of Funchal away from the crowds. The greeting from the staff at the reception was warm and friendly, our room was no. 321 which overlooks the pool and with views to the sea was just lovely, very clean and comfortable with crisp white cotton sheets and fluffy towels. Air conditioning kept the night time sleeping nice and comfortable. Breakfast was very good and substantial, something for everyone. Most of our days were spent out and about, however we did have lunch at the hotel on two occasions and dinner outside at the Quinta on two occasions. (which is something not to miss.)
The food and service is outstanding, it was a pleasure to have our meals served to us by some of the most friendly and efficient staff we have come across. The hotel itself has a colonial feel, large, airy and full of good quality antique furnishing and artwork. They offer an excellent mini bus shuttle to the town several times a day, the only problem is that it only has 9 seats so you must be prompt!
Going out and about: We went up to Monte Gardens in the cable car which was a great day out, we bought our tickets at the cable car. The gardens a beautiful and the view from the top of the church stunning. Go to the flower/fish/fruit market at the end of the town and pop upstairs to the rooftop cafe for a beer, ladies ask for a small one, the medium was like a small bucket! we also had a snack here and it was delicious.
We also took the ferry to Porto Santo, the beach was the softest sand we have seen ( and we live near Cornwall) but the town disappointing. Next time we visit we will do the catamaran to see dolphins and whales instead.
Blandys tour is a must, we took the premuim and the vintage tours , the latter was just the two of us and a guide and we sampled a 1968 vintage Madeira which was smooth as silk.
Take time to go to the Ritz on the plaza area sit down, order sangria and watch the world go by, if you get there just before lunch there is live music.
We did have a seafood meal at the marina but felt it was overpriced.
Yellow bus tour is great, for 12 euros each you can hop on and off at the designated stops as many times as you wish in 24 hours, a good way to see what you want to see then revisit when yo want. The water was safe to drink which is a plus in my mind, and at no time at all did we feel unsafe.
If you do visit this hotel we are sure you will have a lovely relaxing time, but if your wish is to have a disco or entertainment every night then this is not the place for you, try the hotel district in Funchal .
A big thank you to everyone at the Quinta da Bela Vista for making our stay so comfortable, we will be returning as soon as we can.!

Room Tip: For a view of the garden and sea, choose rooms 317- 322. these rooms have a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank seawych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
0.7 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
920 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.8 mi away
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#16 of 88 in Funchal
2,243 reviews
9.7 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
0.8 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Bela Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Bela Vista

Address: Caminho Avista Navios 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#19 Family Hotel in Funchal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £119 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Bela Vista 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to give you the warm and genuine hospitality of the traditional Madeiran Quintas. There are many moments to be cherished at Quinta da Bela Vista, one of the most select and exclusive family properties on Madeira island. This five star hotel enveloped in two hectares of luxurious botanical gardens – the ideal place to relax and enjoy spectacular views - hosts a significant antiques private collection. Our commitment ensures every guest wishes are fulfilled, making you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quinta da Bela Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Bela Vista Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing