We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical introduction to Madeira”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quinta da Bela Vista
Ranked #21 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical introduction to Madeira”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Having travelled widely we both have some basis for comparison and we were delighted with what we found. Not only was the service beyond reproach, the was accommodation very comfortable and spotlessly clean. There was a feeling that you were in someone's private house and somehow you had were staying there. Set in 2 acres of mature garden one could easily stay put for the day and not feel you were missing anything. The views over Funchal and toward Monte was spectacular and having a drink on the terrace after dinner was a must. The one thing that we would highlight was the attitude of the staff which was friendly and accommodating and nothing seemed too much trouble. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    158
    47
    17
    2
See reviews for
88
630
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Went looking for a completely relaxing environment and we were not disappointed. The hotel has a weird magical charm that within a few days envelopes you in a zen like atmosphere of calm. The crowd are a bit older (55+) and it's true there really is not much to do. But the service is so lovely, attentive but not in your face, and the gardens and public areas are so elegant and pretty. The rooms need a bit of of upgrading though- in a 5 star hotel we might have expected an iron (not available at all so we had to buy a travel version) a functional hairdryer (take your own) and a more modern TV.
Notwithstanding this, the hotel has a unique 'old school' atmosphere and very beautiful gardens together with stunning views over Funchal. The full moon over the Atlantic is a thing to behold. The on site a la carte restaurant is excellent ( you feel like you are a country house guest) if a little pricey compared to local restaurants. Finally check out the pool bar after sunset. It has a funky bodega vibe going on and the best margaritas ever!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kath F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We returned to the Quinta Bel Vista to celebrate our tenth wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. The setting and view are magnificent and the warmth of the welcome and the professionalism of the staff beyond reproach. As everyone has said it is set well above the town but taxis' are reasonable and easy to find. We made use of the hotel's minibus most days. Breakfasts were wonderful with an excellent choice each day. Unfortunately we didn't eat in the restaurant until later in our stay, this was a mistake, the food was amongst the best I have ever eaten so different to many of the restaurants we did eat at. It wasn't cheap but well worth the money. This hotel is a haven of peace and quiet you will love it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main hotel and I would recommend this to everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DaveMWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Bela Vista and I agree with most of the recent comments. This is a fantastic place, no doubt. The hotel itself is beautiful and set in lovely grounds, however by todays standards, not quite 5 star. I agree it needs updating in places, for instance there is no iron available in the room and there is a charge for the hotel to iron items. I would expect decent satellite TV reception, there isn't and it could do with a lick of paint in some areas.
The staff are amazing and friendly and could not do enough. The food, we thought was excellent and at 42 euros for a 5 course dinner was good value, however I wouldn't want to eat in the same restaurant each evening. We had dinner in the grounds one night which was very nice. If you want to go into Funchal for dinner which we did most nights you need to be aware it is not walking distance and the cost of a taxi is around 10 euros one way, so that's needs to be taken into account.
One other point of note is that although we are 52 and 50 respectively, we were one of the youngest couples there, the average age of the clients I would guess being in the range of 65. It did have a slight feel of a retirement home at times!
Overall, a lovely place, needs updating in areas, fantastic staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueboy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My friend and I recently spent a week at Quinta da Bela Vista and had a lovely time. I have to admit that when we first arrived we were slightly disappointed - our room was quite basic and I wouldn't quite rate it at 5 stars. However there is a lot to commend the place...

Positives:
- Staff are courteous, helpful and friendly without being overbearing
- The whole hotel is clean
- Beautiful antiques everywhere
- Set in attractive gardens
- Various attractive 'living rooms' scattered about the hotel for lazing in
- Tranquil out-of-town location with stunning views over Funchal and the bay
- Free minibus service into and out of town (but not Saturday afternoons or Sundays - a taxi costs about 7 Euros each way)
- The breakfast buffet has a great selection of food on offer (I got rather used to smoked salmon and champagne for breakfast!), and you can ask for anything you fancy that is not already out (e.g. poached eggs on toast)
- The freshly-baked scones we had with our afternoon tea were heavenly! Their cakes are good too
- Only half an hour from the airport

Negatives:
- The hotel is looking a little tired and the pool could do with some maintenance
- The clientelle are generally on the older side and the atmophere is rather staid. This may be what you want of course, but I don't like feeling I have to whisper at all times!
- We only ate in the restaurant once but our experience was that it was rather overpriced. The food wasn't bad, but I'd say it was a case of style over substance - trying to be a fancy high-end restaurant without having the quality of chefs to pull it off. Also the atmophere, again, is too stuffy - no-one looked like they were enjoying themselves and we felt we had to whisper

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony, others don't. Rooms in the main building have views over the pool,wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brownie_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This is quite a difficult review because I had a great hoiliday but I must be honest about the hotel:

The good points:
1. This is a very quiet location and very easy to relax and have a great time.
2. The staff are fantastic and cannot do enough for you.
3. The rooms are clean, fresh and well maintained.
4. There is some lovely furniture in the hotel (very English).
5. Things are not expensive around the pool (food and drinks).
6. Breakfast is great (good quality and selection).
6. You are only 10 minutes by taxi away from Funchai and that can give you everything you want.


The negatives:
1. The hotel is looking very tired. Carpets are badley stained in the main hotel and the gardens were a mess when we were there. The pool was not being maintained properly and it needs a real good makeover. Tiles missing as well as pool lights. Just lots of holes and weeds everywhere. Also the sunbeds are on the grass, well more dirt than grass so very messy.
2. The restaurant at night is just over priced and the quality of food is lacking (42 Euros for 5 courses of average food is just not good enough. We also felt very rushed as it was clear with so few people taking dinner that the staff wanted to go home as early as possible so don't dine late. We did one night (9pm) and were almost escorted out of the place by 10:15; not good.

In summary, a great place to relax but needs to be improved if it is to keep it's rating in Trip Advisor. Very English and not child friendly. Average age at the hotel was 60 (at least) so not for the young although we did meet some young people but they were very much in the minority. Take a book; everybody else does and you must be prepared to be quiet!

Well thats my view! Would we go back maybe, but it would be when I was sure this family run hotel had invested more in making it a fantastic place not just a good/average one.

Room Tip: Main Hotel with a balcony would be my advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank NeilRafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Having read the rave reviews on tripadvisor, we booked a weeks holiday here, but we were very disappointed. It is true that it is a tranquil spot, but the disadvantage is, apart from being around the pool, there is nothing else to do except a ride into Funchal (@7€ each journey). There is a shuttle bus, but there is a only a morning service on Saturday and no service on Sunday.
A big plus was the free wifi, which we have found to be limited to an hour in some hotels, but there was no limit here.
It is also true that the staff are welcoming, but not everything is too much trouble (as one contributor mentioned) because when we asked to borrow an iron, we were informed we couldn't due to 'past problems'. Other guests we talked to met with the same response. Surely it is an essential when clothes become creased in cases. If I had known I would have taken a travel iron.
The food, even coffee is quite expensive, but we found a lovely cafe nearby which served much better (and much cheaper) coffee and sandwiches.
The room was adequate and the shower was powerful.

Room Tip: Pay for upgrade. We emailed ahead to ask for a garden room with balcony, we didn't get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aliceband979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Bela Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Bela Vista

Property: Quinta da Bela Vista
Address: Caminho Avista Navios 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#19 Family Hotel in Funchal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Bela Vista 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to give you the warm and genuine hospitality of the traditional Madeiran Quintas. There are many moments to be cherished at Quinta da Bela Vista, one of the most select and exclusive family properties on Madeira island. This five star hotel enveloped in two hectares of luxurious botanical gardens – the ideal place to relax and enjoy spectacular views - hosts a significant antiques private collection. Our commitment ensures every guest wishes are fulfilled, making you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quinta da Bela Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Bela Vista Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing