We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quinta da Bela Vista
Ranked #21 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We chose the Quinta da Bela Vista because it looked like the most unique hotel available and as we had not visited Maderia before it was a "shot in the dark!"
On arrival we were amazed to see a lovely building with the most charming staff. The decor is antique and unique and makes you want to wander around to explore all the public areas and surrounding buildings.
How nice to stay in a hotel with the modern conveniences one would expect but with the added luxury of individual chic.
The pool and garden areas are vibrant wtih fabulous plants and very welcoming. The food briliant and plenty of it.
Most of all our experience was enhanced by the staff. Every member of staff we spoke to was helpful and really seemed to enjoy working there and wanted us to enjoy our stay as much as possible.
The other guests varied in age but all walked around with a smile !
We will certainly return

  • Liked — Indivuality and antique furniture
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank MargoandJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    158
    47
    17
    2
See reviews for
88
630
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Quita de Bela Vista and could not fault the services. The rooms were tastefully furnished and spotless throughout and the public rooms exceptional. The pool area was a delght and the staff were most attentive.

The hotel is probably the furthest fro the centre of Funchal, although saying this, taxis are about 5 euros each way. There is a hotel complmenary bus but this ceases at 5.30, lunchtime on a Saturday and there is no service on Sundays.

We booked on a bed and breakfast basis and the breakfasts were very nice and well presented. Again the staff were exceptional. When searching out restaurants, we found the better choice in the older part of town near the cable car. Arsenios was the best we experienced.

The hotel could have been improved by having tea / coffee making facilities as well as a fridge or mini bar in the room. The drinks were also a bit expensive (3.60 euros for a small beer that you could get for less than half the price in the tourist part of town).

The cable car ride is a must and if you have time, a visit to the gardens will not disappoint.

Afternoon tea at Reids Palace is sumptious and extremely filling). Great for a special occasion.

Don't think we would visit Madeira again as we like to seek out different locations, but would certainly recommend a visit.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Bit far from the centre
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Gilbinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2008

Having stayed at the Quinta da Bela Vista six years ago, we promised ourselves another visit in the not too distant future as we were very impressed with the hotel, service and setting. Why did we wait so long! This year my wife and I celebrated a joint special birthday and decided to go back to this hotel for a bit of pampering. We hoped nothing had changed and we were not dissapointed. The hotel and grounds were still perfectly kept, the view over Funchal was as beautiful as ever ( and no extra development to spoil this) the restaurants were excellent and all the staff were as helpfull, curteous and on hand whenever needed without being overbearing. We were shown around the new two bedroom suite, lounge, dining and kitchenette which was almost completed - this will be a great addition to the hotel and one we are currently talking to friends about with a view to returning next year to share. First class all the way.

  • Liked — peace, comfort, food and service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank enjoyinglifeSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2008

We spent a most enjoyable week at the Quinta de Bela Vista.
The staff are all friendly, charming and helpful. The pool is lovelyl and set in pretty gardens beside a terrace with a great view over Funchal and the sea. There we could sit and enjoy a drink or light meal at any time of the day or evening. The food in both the indoor restaurants is excellent but the meals served in the a la carte restaurant are outstanding and the small dining room has an intimate atmosphere and is a delightful room to dine in. We tried other restaurants in town but thought this restaurant was better than any.
Our bedroom was very comfortable - only problem no mini bar or tea making facilities, though excellent room service.
Altogether an excellent hotel which we hope to return to.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, food, pool
  • Disliked — No mini bar or tea making in rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MBG92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston brook
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2008

First time we have stayed at the Quinta da bela Vista.what a beautiful hotel ,the gardens were well established with trees from many parts of the world and plenty of colour from the wonderful plants and fauna. We were made to feel very special with the excellent service and attention,the accommodation was first class.Dining in the Al a carte restaurant of an evening after having a day by the pool or out exploring the island was a wonderful way to end your day the menu was interesting and varied excellent chef ,excellent staff .
We will certainly be going back..

  • Liked — beautiful room with garden views
  • Disliked — we did not find anything to dislike
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank manleylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2008

Both my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Quinta da Bela Vista. The room was excellent and the location away from the busy centre suited us very well.

We had not been to Madeira before, so found the assistance of the Reception staff very helpful in suggesting interesting places and booking visits.

We found all the staff very polite and helpful and could not fault their excellent English. We feel our first experience of Madeira has been an excellent one and a lot this is due to our stay at the Quinta da Bela Vista. I am sure we will visit again to see more of what Madeira has to offer and I hope to stay again at this hotel.

We really appreciated the professionalism of all the staff and their friendly manner that made our holiday a relaxing and enjoyable experience.

  • Liked — Quiet location & friendly staff
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David_Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algarve
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2008

The hotel was chosen by a member of our "Wine Society" for our visit to sample the wines of Madeira. I had been ill, and only the day before our trip made up my mind to go. The very attractive setting of the hotel, and the attention and helpfulness of the staff, enabled me to relax and recover after my illness.

The position of the hotel overlooking the bay of Funchal was very good and would be an excellent place to see the fireworks on New Years Eve if you were lucky enough to be there at that time. The grounds of the hotel were kept in excellent order and the trees and plants there were very interesting.

The food and service were both very good and I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GJR33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,768 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Bela Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Bela Vista

Property: Quinta da Bela Vista
Address: Caminho Avista Navios 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#19 Family Hotel in Funchal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Bela Vista 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to give you the warm and genuine hospitality of the traditional Madeiran Quintas. There are many moments to be cherished at Quinta da Bela Vista, one of the most select and exclusive family properties on Madeira island. This five star hotel enveloped in two hectares of luxurious botanical gardens – the ideal place to relax and enjoy spectacular views - hosts a significant antiques private collection. Our commitment ensures every guest wishes are fulfilled, making you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Quinta da Bela Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Bela Vista Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing