We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quinta da Bela Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quinta da Bela Vista
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Myself, my wife and our 7 year old son stayed for 11 nights in August 2013 and loved every minute. The service was outstanding and the staff could not have been more attentive. The pool was excellent and the food superb. Funchal itself was good to visit with plenty to do but we all loved the peace and quiet of the hotel. A fantastic holiday.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    152
    43
    17
    1
See reviews for
85
609
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
140 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Set in extensive wooded gardens with views down to Funchal from main buliding and pool area. Charming, restful, old timer colonial style with furnishings and sitting rooms as well as full facilities. Gym/fitness suite and Jacuzzi spa in a building next to fair sized pool area - towels provided. Sumptious buffet style breakfast in elegant dinning room. Very friendly and attentive service. A la Carte restaurant in separate building - also colonial style with slightly overpriced menu compared to the town. Rooms large, clean, good beds and TV (BBC World, CNN, Discovery and 2 other English Channels), mini bar, A/C - Bathrooms excellent good shower - over bath, separate WC, OK hairdryer, bathrobes, slippers towels - all first class. Taxi to town is 8 Euros each way and takes ten minutes. Plenty of restaurants and life in the town. Suits mature persons/couples. Only real criticism is limited poolside food menu. Would re-visit.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have balcony in main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steamingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from 10 days at this superb Hotel. Apart from the lovely relaxing feeling that this Country House style Hotel gives, the outstanding memory will be of the best and most willing staff we have seen in any of our fairly extensive holidays. Nothing was too much trouble and they all quickly dealt with any requests. An example was the Pool Attendant who on a showery day ,willingly took in and then brought out towels and lounger cushions three times in one day
A previous review complained about the food and our experience was exactly the opposite. Having experienced Funchal restaurants before, we took the half board option for every night. We found the selection ,cooking and presentation to be first class and thoroughly enjoyed every course.
We have every intention of revisiting Q.B.V. again and would thoroughly recommend if a quiet relaxing holiday is required.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Great service is a common theme with reviews of this hotel and for good reason. The service is impeccable.

Location is fine but you wouldn't want to walk into town and back too often. It's about 2km's on very steep hills. We had a car, but if you didn't you might feel a bit cut off. There is a good restaurant just up the road and a big supermarket, both in walking distance.

The room was fine and actually the one used for the pictures overlooking the bay. It does have a connecting door to the next room though so unless your neighbours are very quiet you might have problems.

Generally the hotel is kept very well and everywhere we saw was clean, but they could do with changing some of the stained runners and replacing the worn stair carpet. It's a grey line between old world colonial style and tired.

Now food.

Breakfast is very good, well topped up and a good selection. Served in a nice setting that rather oddly isn't used for anything else.

Lunch options are from the pool bar. A limited selection but nice enough quality wise.

Dinner is limited and a bit hit and miss. We ate a la carte twice (the menu didn't change in the week we were there) and both times there were issues with dishes. A salmon main was very over cooked, and on the other night my main was borderline temperature wise. We live in central London so I know what quality cooking is all about. The ingredients were very high quality but the cooking wasn't. Service was excellent but to be honest with food like that, if the restaurant was based in London it'd be shut in months.

Also if you don't want to use the restaurant your only choice are toasted sandwiches from the bar or room service, which bizarrely had more options!

All in all a good hotel that we’d return to.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is without doubt the best hotel we've stayed in in terms of the service, surroundings, character and charm. It is an old fashioned, stylish former "manor" house filled with antiques, books and pictures. It's quiet, very comfortable and has an old world style. Like Shirley B, we booked half board on 3 nights but unlike her we do not think the dining was formal, yes it was silver service but there wasn't a tie in sight, on the other hand neither was there a pair of jeans! An often heard complaint was that 5 courses were too much, the food was exceptional, in fact we ate in The Fort in Funchal one evening and whilst that was very good, the food at QBV was arguably better and the waiting staff certainly were. The hotel staff made our stay, nothing was too much trouble, everyone smiled and everything was accomplished without fuss. It was just brilliant, we will return.

Room Tip: Two styles of room available, garden view are good but sea view (with garden & pool view) better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blue235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Our first visit to Madeira. We couldn't have picked a better hotel. This is an old world colonial style hotel built in the 1800s. The staff all smile and greet you, from the most senior to the most junior. Nothing is too much trouble for them, and they are as friendly and chatty as you want them to be, never intrusive.
On arrival we were told we had been upgraded. Our room was on the first floor with a balcony overlooking the wonderful subtropical garden. The room and bathroom were large and spotlessly clean, and beds wonderfully comfortable.
The hotel was very quiet, most of the guests were around retirement age and were mainly couples. The hotel was about half full but nothing ever seemed crowded. Plenty of space around the pool, and again very quiet.
It is away from the city centre in a very quiet area. Walking into town takes about 40mins or you can get the hotel's minibus. Don't walk back though; it's too far uphill.
I am sure we will be back!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main building with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SooeyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Very relaxing 7 day holiday at the Quinta da Bela Vista. We booked 3 days half board and was pleased we did; although the food was very good, the dining arrangements where very formal and would not have liked to have done that every night. We eat in Funchal one evening, reasonably priced and tasted good. We spent one evening at a fish restaurant recommended by the hotel staff, that was excellent and fantastic views. All in all we have a great relaxing holiday, if I was to find a fault it would have been or me the gym, the equiptment was old and you couldn't see the functions so couldn't change any of the settings. The tredmill was dangerous as it kept sticking so you tripped up all the time. If the gym is important aspect then you will be disapointed. I found the Thomson rep to be irritating, unless you bought a trip she wasn't interested and if you mentioned something that you enjoyed like a nice restaurant she would always come back with a comment which referred to it not being as good as something Thompson recommended.

The hotel is in a great spot, fantastic views and was utterly charming.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Bela Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Bela Vista

Property: Quinta da Bela Vista
Address: Caminho Avista Navios 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#19 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Bela Vista 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to give you the warm and genuine hospitality of the traditional Madeiran Quintas. There are many moments to be cherished at Quinta da Bela Vista, one of the most select and exclusive family properties on Madeira island. This five star hotel enveloped in two hectares of luxurious botanical gardens – the ideal place to relax and enjoy spectacular views - hosts a significant antiques private collection. Our commitment ensures every guest wishes are fulfilled, making you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Quinta da Bela Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Bela Vista Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing