We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quinta da Bela Vista
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A really lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

As you drive in through the gates, you know you have made a great decision. The main building has gorgeous wisteria hanging from the balconies and there are staff there to welcome you the minute you get out of the taxi.
The whole hotel is beautiful, and the view over Funchal is amazing. Lying by the pool, it is so quiet and the gardens are so beautiful, that you could just spend your whole holiday there. Don't though, because there is plenty to see and do when you are out and about on the island.
Everyone says the staff are wonderful, and they are! I had forgotten to inform the hotel that I was vegetarian, but no problem. I asked that they surprise me each evening, and I got delightful food - brilliant!
If I were going back to Madeira I would stay here again, and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geogteacher01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    155
    45
    17
    1
See reviews for
88
618
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a 5 night break staying in this hotel. The staff were friendly and very helpful, although there was no tourist attraction leaflets, the staff were knowledgable and were happy to do internet searches. The swimming pool was warm even though it was outdoors so we used it daily. The range of food for breakfast was very good and the a la carte menu food delicious. There is a regular free mini bus service into and returning to Funchal and a complimentary bottle of madeira in the room

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaJ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I liked this hotel for it's quiet serenity, away from the hustle and bustle of the main town but not too far away to be a problem. not quite a 5 star hotel but the staff make you feel as if it is, they are very obliging and always there without being to obtrusive.
The hotel is situated just out of town and we chose this deliberately for it's style and position, and we found it much nicer than some of the more 'plastic' hotels that you find at some resorts, antique furniture every where, rooms were clean and comfortable.
The hotel runs a free shuttle into town which you can book each way, taxi's to town are easily available by a quick call from reception (6-8 Euro's) or there are plenty of buses that run pretty frequently into town from the bus stop at the end of the road (1.95 Euro's).
We arrived on my wife's birthday and the reception staff must have noticed this from her passport upon registration, after we had been settled into our room, about an hour later there was a knock on our room door by a waiter with a bottle of champagne and two glasses with a birthday congratulation (nice touch and well received).
The hotel has two restaurants both are pretty expensive if you're not staying on full or half board basis, but the food is excellent.
Cliental appeared to be 40+ and we were not aware of any families with children staying there during our stay.
Overall a very pleasant stay, and I would definitely stay there again if I went back to Madeira.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Etypejag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

If you are looking for somewhere really special to stay in Madeira, this beautiful, traditional Quinta cannot be beaten. Set in lovely grounds, with stunning views over the bay, the hotel offers a unique experience for those who enjoy the finer things in life.
We booked a superior room, within the main house, with wisteria-clad balcony overlooking part of the garden. The hotel offers various dining choices - main restaurant, a la carte, and poolside bar/restaurant, so you can choose to eat informally on the terrace or choose the more formal options if you prefer. The food is excellent.

Everything here is within easy reach, with a good sized heated pool and plenty of loungers with padded seats and towels already laid out. There is a decent gym, with sauna and Jacuzzi, which you pre-book so that no more than 2 people use them at any one time - very private.

The hotel is well located. It's about an hour's gentle downhill stroll into the centre of Funchal, but the hotel operates a courtesy bus every half hour or so, which is great for the return journey.

You expect a 5* star hotel to be good, but this one is exceptional. The service is brilliant - nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff and everyone seems genuinely happy to welcome and look after the guests. This place really is absolutely faultless.

Room Tip: Choose accommodation in the main building, which is absolutely beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucaswestyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We spent 5 nights at this beautiful hotel. The staff was very professional and helpful (and almost all spoke very good English). The room was huge and clean, as was the bathroom.

The weather was a bit cold so we didn't get to enjoy the swimming pool (which looked amazing), but liked the quiet location. It attracts mostly senior travellers, but if you are looking for peace and comfort that should suit you well (as it did us). We were not impressed by the gym (most machines were not working), but spent the days hiking so we didn't feel it was a terrible sacrifice.

The hotel is situated high up in the hills (about 15 min walking down to Funchal), a taxi ride is about 8 euros. We ate one night at the restaurant, but felt you got better value for money in the city. The breakfast, howeverm, was a higlight every day!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dordi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Lovely grounds, a nice vista, good pool and a high standard of service from friendly helpful staff. The place is well run, there's a welcoming ambience and the breakfast and restaurant food is delicious. The hotel isn't cheap, and any add-ons are pricey, but overall you're getting what you paid for. The garden makes the hotel an oasis in Funchal, peaceful and relaxing. On the downside the gym equipment is a bit 1990's ebay; and there's no minibus service into town on Sundays, but the local bus service and taxis are an OK fallback. The clientele was mostly Brit, French, German and Swiss. Hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Agarophobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My husband took me to Quinta da Bela Vista for a surprise 60th birthday. I had never been to Madeira and I was really impressed. The island is beautiful, the wild flowers amazing and the people very friendly. We arrived at the hotel and it is stunning, the gardens are fantatic and the view from the pool breathtaking. The feeling of calm and tranquility comes to mind as you enter the hotel. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful, the food is delicious and the service extremely good. The whole experiance was wonderful and I really hope that we can return in the near future.

Room Tip: Any room as they all face south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manjimup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
2,711 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
816 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 87 in Funchal
1,076 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Bela Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Bela Vista

Property: Quinta da Bela Vista
Address: Caminho Avista Navios 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#19 Family Hotel in Funchal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Bela Vista 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to give you the warm and genuine hospitality of the traditional Madeiran Quintas. There are many moments to be cherished at Quinta da Bela Vista, one of the most select and exclusive family properties on Madeira island. This five star hotel enveloped in two hectares of luxurious botanical gardens – the ideal place to relax and enjoy spectacular views - hosts a significant antiques private collection. Our commitment ensures every guest wishes are fulfilled, making you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quinta da Bela Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Bela Vista Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing