We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much More than a Lovely View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quinta da Bela Vista
Ranked #21 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2008

We enjoyed our stay at the Bela Vista enormously. Although the hotel is a 10 minute drive from central Funchal, it is set on a hillside overlooking the city and the bay, and the view is breathtaking. Set in acres of lush gardens, Bela Vista has a very personal feel about it, which is down to the excellent way the staff treat you. The gardens, pool and location are a delight. The food is first class (even the set menu - a choice of of fresh fish or meat every day), the restaurant staff are efficient (attentive without being intrusive) and the regular Maitre d’ charming.

With a free minibus service to Funchal centre morning and afternoon you have the best of both worlds - quiet location with great views, within easy reach of all the main sights.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank LongacreCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 948 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2008

Lovely hotel provided the basis for a walking holiday in Madeira and base for Funchal. Great front desk staff and strong breakfast buffet. You'll probably need the courtesy bus down to the town for dinner (5:30pm last bus - no buses on a Sunday). Public transport buses back from town every 15 mins from where the courtesy bus deposited you. Good choice of restaurants in town behind the cable car.

Great selections of mountain/Levada walks - unescorted support from Manny - I have his contact details if required.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kevster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2008

Just got back from 11 nights at this beautiful hotel.
Fabulous views and very friedly attentive staff.
Nothing was too much trounle for them.
Pool area is particularly beautiful and the gardens spectacular.
We would recommned this hotel if you are looking for a quiet relaxing break in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank JayJayBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2008

Quinta da Bela Vista, Funchal, Madeira
Date: October 17th 2008
Reviewer: Jackie & Malcolm, UK

This hotel exceeded (our admittedly high) expectations. We found the guest service excellent. We were personally welcomed when we arrived and shown to our room, which was of generous proportions. We had a very large comfortable bed (as a back-pain sufferer, this is the most important feature of a hotel, in my opinion) with quality bed linen. The housekeepers were highly efficient – they serviced our room twice a day – and at the same time were invisible!

All the staff were smartly dressed in uniforms, courteous, smiled and made an effort to know who we were, making us feel very special. They all spoke English fluently, which made communication really easy. We noticed that they could speak several other languages as well.

The hotel is calm and not situated in the tourist quarter, (which may not suit everybody) but it was right for us – a total retreat from our busy lives. It is set in around one hectare of gardens filled with exotic plants and trees. There is a magnificent view over Funchal and the bay.

We enjoyed relaxing in the hotel’s numerous sitting rooms, which are traditionally furnished with antiques. The food and service in the á la carte restaurant was excellent.

We will certainly be going back the Quinta da Bela Vista again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Jaglover42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2008

We stayed at the Quinta da Bella Vista for a week in early October 2008 and we have to say it was excellent. The staff were warm and friendly, the service was excellent and the hotel delightful - we were in a superior room above the reception area. The atmosphere was charming and very relaxing. Breakfasts were very good, lots of fresh bread and fresh fruit as well as the usual hot options, and we had dinner two evenings in the a la carte restaurant which was also lovely - the service was just right, very attentive, but not so as to spoil the romantic atmosphere. The food was cooked and served beautifully.

We were a little surprised to find two single beds rather than the romantic double we had hoped for - but this was rectified the next day.

The gardens surrounding the hotel buildings were lovely and very enjoyable for a leisurely pre dinner stroll.

It was useful to have internet access in the sitting room to check on the weather forecast to help plan the next day.

Overall our stay was fantastic and we are already thinking about when we can come back!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank P_and_P_Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

Beautiful situation, completely quiet and yet reasonably accessible to the town thanks to courtesy minibus during the day and taxi faresof 5-8 euros at night. Staff could not be more helpful. Our only (very minor) niggle - you need to take your own moisturiser as it is not supplied in the rooms which was surprising given the standard of hotel. This was our first time in Madeira but we would not consider going anywhere else if we return. A fabulous find

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank flying_rugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

We certainly were impressed by the grounds and the fabulous view from the pool terrace of Funchal and the mountains. The overall ambience of the hotel was very nice, but I am afraid we did find it a little precious and very expensive. People often spoke in hushed whispers .The courtesy bus stopped at 5.45p.m., mid day on Saturday and did not run on Sundays so one is obliged to either eat in the hotel or travel by taxi into the town which is at least a 10 minute drive (not 5 as advertised by the hotel) and costs @ 12 euros round trip. The set 4 course dinner costs 40 euros per head, which if you add in a bottle of wine , makes for an expensive evening in. The walk into town takes at least 20 /25 minutes, probably longer to reach the old town, and the road is not attractive nor well pavemented - and you certainly wouldn't wish to walk back. We discovered that a number of buses pass the stop at the end of the road (turn left outside the hotel gate and walk up the road about 300 yards bus stop just down to the right). You buy a card at the office in the supermarket opposite the market in town for as many trips as you might require. Each trip costs 85 cents. I expect that the majority of the guests at the hotel would not be inclined towards public transport, but we did find it convenient and cheaper than taxis
There are no facilities for making tea or coffee nor is there a fridge in the room , so again you are forced to buy teas , coffees and beer etc at rather expensive prices again as compared with the cost of these in Funchal.
Any food item that you may be tempted to leave in your room is soon covered by hundreds of tiny black ants. We made that mistake!!!!
Our room was a basic garden room, but it was well decorated and of good size.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Poin2fview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
0.7 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
942 reviews
9.7 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,031 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#15 of 88 in Funchal
2,297 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Bela Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Bela Vista

Address: Caminho Avista Navios 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#19 Family Hotel in Funchal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £117 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Bela Vista 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to give you the warm and genuine hospitality of the traditional Madeiran Quintas. There are many moments to be cherished at Quinta da Bela Vista, one of the most select and exclusive family properties on Madeira island. This five star hotel enveloped in two hectares of luxurious botanical gardens – the ideal place to relax and enjoy spectacular views - hosts a significant antiques private collection. Our commitment ensures every guest wishes are fulfilled, making you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quinta da Bela Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Bela Vista Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing