We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility perched above Funchal”
Review of Quinta do Monte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta do Monte
Ranked #60 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The hotel public areas are in the old quinta with new accommodation curved behind. The hotels own densely planted botanical gardens slope away with paths and terracing. It is a tranquil setting, good to relax.
The location is way up the mountain in Monte, perched high above Funchal the capital. The 15 min cable car ride terminates very near the lower pedestrian gate to the hotel, and the entrance to Monte Palace Tropical Gardens is just opposite. The hotel vehicle access is just above the start point of the famous wicker toboggan ride. There is a courtesy bus to Funchal during the day.
The reception was friendly and efficient. The rooms are spacious with appropriate furnishings and balconies facing south. The 4th (top) floor has the best views over the gardens. The restaurant has good food and good service.
My favourite hotel feature is the octagonal pavillion which serves afternoon tea (and other snacks) on its balcony surrounded by the trees and shrubs. Such a peaceful setting in which to take 'tiffin' and enjoy the ambience.

Room Tip: 4 th floor has best views. Be away from the lift, but not too far as the corridor is quite long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_Travelling_Tyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

Maybe I am turning into the Hotel Inspector but there were a number of niggles which spoiled this visit . Looking at the positives..... Lovely reception areas and sitting areas and lovely evening meals. There was a tasting menu the first night and I was presented with four vegetarian courses which were all delicious and the second evening's choice was also fine. BUT ...
What happened to the carpets ? We were on the third floor and all along the corridor were nasty stains .... Some looked like bleach which may be a good sign but there were also marks in our room and on the bathroom tiles . There were other cleaning niggles...... When I visited the pool first thing in the morning there were a number of used towels lying around presumably from the previous day; at breakfast time we sat surrounded by uncleared tables and the windows of the conservatory part were so dirty my husband commented on it! ... And if he noticed!!
Asking for a coffee was a major task as the kiosk in the gardens was closed ....
This could be a much better hotel with a few tweaks ..... I am not someone who looks for faults but these hit us in the face.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lauraGTyneside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

A lovely hotel in a lovely setting above and out of the way of overcrowded Funchal. Excellent and attentive staff both at reception and in the dinning areas. An hotel with an excellent reputation that lives up to its billing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed at the Quinta do Monte for two nights as part of a walking holiday with a friend. This was the best hotel of the four we stayed in. The staff were the highlight of our stay. They were attentive, friendly and efficient. When we had to wait a little too long in the bar, a complementary glass of Madeira was offered (and accepted!), even though we hadn't actually complained! The meals were great and waiting staff excellent. The breakfast could have been a little more exciting, but was well presented. Our rooms were lovely and the grounds delightful. The setting is wonderful, but Monte is very small, so if you are staying longer and want to eat out, the choice is very limited. On the whole we had a marvellous experience and I would return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JugglerBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We spent a few days here in February with a group and think it one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. First class food, spacious and comfortable bedrooms with large bathroom. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The situation is great as the hotel overlooks some beautiful gardens with views across to the sea beyond. It is well away from the noise of Funchal but just a short bus trip away if you want to go shopping. In addition the hotels has a courtesy bus.

The pool could do with refurnishment but swimming with such a lovely view made up for it. We hope to return.

Room Tip: All rooms have lovely views. Best perhaps not to be near the lift which is a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lavender20186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at the Quinta do Monte in February 2012. The location is beautiful overlooking the hotel's own gardens and Funchal beyond. The rooms are comfortable, facilities good and the hotel generally attractive. It is quiet and peaceful but a bit remote from the town, though there is a courtesy bus during the day. The people are very helpful and friendly, especially the reception staff. I would be very positive about the hotel in general.

The big negative sadly is the restaurant. We ate two dinners there costing 90 and 100 euros respectively, including a bottle of wine. We ordered fish dishes from the a la carte menu since Madeira has a deserved reputation for these. In retrospect not a wise choice since there were only a dozen or so guests dining - the chef's recommendation would probably have been better. What we got looked like various frozen fish items fried up or in one case dropped in a broth made (i guess) with a fish stock cube. We subsequently ate in town at the Restaurante do Forte and Lareira Portuguesa which were cheaper and much better. Maybe when the hotel is full in the higher season the restaurant will be better, giving it the benefit of the doubt!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor for best views. All rooms face over the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Four times in ten years and we have now had enough. This place has gone to ruin. The rooms are shabby, noisey and need much upgrading. The food is just plain awful and the management clueless. The pool is filthy, slimy and the jacuzzi plain disgusting.
We did our best to try and enjoy the holiday but the noisey rooms (lift motors and no insulation) lack of parking (my car was damaged) and overall dismall atmoshere that pervaded the entire place made this impossible. At £110 b&b we expected the best.
Just look at the photos for an idea of why this place is just sooooo bad.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bedwetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
2.7 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#31 of 88 in Funchal
411 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quinta Mirabela
Quinta Mirabela
#46 of 88 in Funchal
270 reviews
4.5 mi away
Quinta Do Estreito
Quinta Do Estreito
#1 of 1 in Camara De Lobos
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens
4.3 mi away
Eira do Serrado Hotel & SPA
2.2 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 88 in Funchal
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Monte

Address: Caminho do Monte 192, Funchal, Madeira 9050-288, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £65 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta do Monte 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oficial Category: 5 Star EstalagemLocation: In the historic Monte village, on the south coast of the island  700 meters above sea level  With panoramic views over Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean 10 minutes drive from the capital city, Funchal 30 minutes drive from the Airport Surrounded by 17.000 m2 of Gardens Transportation:Hotel courtesy bus Taxi station only a few meters away from Hotel or at the reception, when requested Bus station to Funchal, and other locations on the island in the main square Cablecar terminal 30 meters away Traditional wickerwork toboggans to city centre Parking Facilities:Free, in the hotel groundsRooms:36 Double rooms (23m²) divided in three floors:2 Superior double rooms (30m²) In addition to the standard rooms: Sofa Large table and chairsMore space available4 Suites (50m²)• 36 rooms with twin beds• 6 rooms with double bed• 9 rooms with communicating doors Room Facilities: Private Balcony with view over the gardens and towards the sea Spacious fully equipped bathroom Bath with shower Room safe (free of charge) Cable TV with 30 channels Mini-Bar with a selection of products Direct dial telephone  Air conditioning and heating individually controlled  Hair dryer and Bathrobes Spacious Bedroom  Table and easy armchair  Selection of bathroom amenities Decorated in hues of greenSuite facilities: Private Balcony with views over the gardens, and towards the sea Large fully equipped bathroom Bath with hydro massage and Separate shower Room safe free of charge Cable TV with 30 channels Mini-Bar with a selection of products  Direct Dial telephone Air conditioning and heating individually controlled Hair dryer Spacious bedroom Spacious separate living room Tables and armchairs Bath robes Selection of bathroom amenities Decorated in hues of greenAdditional services at the Quinta do Monte:  À la carte & table d`hôte Restaurant Cocktail Bar Reading room Several sitting rooms Billiard & games room Fitness Room Indoor heated swimming pool  Solarium with panoramic view Turkish bath Whirlpool Breakfast in the room Room service  Free sending and reception of faxes  Laundry service (dry cleaning outside Hotel) Reserved area for operators representatives Private Chapel 17.000m² of landscaped gardens of centenary trees and plants with views over Funchal and the sea Meeting RoomThe details that make the difference at Charming Hotels: The Resident Manager personally receives all arriving guests and will maintain a personal and regular contact with them to ensure their satisfaction and anticipate their requirements. All our guests are accompanied to their room on arrival  Gift on arrival of Madeira Wine & Madeira cake Free room safe, bath robe and slippers  Free use of sauna, Turkish bath,, sensations shower, whirlpool, panoramic fitness room, and relaxation rooms in any of the hotels inside the Group, at Chandra Spa in Quinta das Vistas. Guests on Half Board may eat at any of the Restaurants of Charming Hotels at no extra charge A policy of addressing our guests by name A policy of special attention to all our guests needs  A policy of always being willing and able to help our guests A policy of making everything possibleRestaurants & Bars in Quinta do Monte:Restaurant Monte Garden:A capacity for 120 persons, our restaurant offers a choice of two distinctive areas. The conservatory in old Madeira green with a black and white tiled floor, overlooks the extensive gardens.The main room is carpeted wood panelled.A table d’hôte menu is presented daily in addition to the à la carte menu that offers an extensive choice of Madeiran, Portuguese and international dishes fine tuned by our Chef.The wine list was carefully selected to offer a wide selection of Portuguese and International wines.A classic style service is offered from the professional and attentive staffBar:Situated in the centenary main house, on the first floor above the main entrance, the cocktail bar is dominated by a fireplace and was carefully integrated to ensure the ambience of this Madeiran Quinta was maintained.Open from 16:00 hours, it serves our popular “Royal Tea”Chapel:Built in a privileged area of our “Quinta” with exceptional views, the Chapel was built in 1936 in memory of “Our Holy Mary”.On the outside the building is supported by large pillars of solid madeiran basaltIts interior is decorated with sacred frescos in the ceiling, mosaic panels made by St. Anna’s factory and by leaded lights from the “School of Ricardo Leone”. Meeting rooms:Rooms I Dimensions:  Total area: 73,5 m2  Length: 10,5 m  Width: 7,0 m  Height: 2,75 m  Air conditioned & heated Capacity:  Convention Type – 60 School Type – 40 U Type Table – 24 Reception – 70 Banquet – 50Equipment included: Flipchart appropriate paper and colour pens  White board with colour pens  A4 size sheets and pen for participants  Document case  Bottles of water for meetingsSpecific audiovisual equipment: Possibility of providing a large range of audiovisual equipment. The quotation must be requested in advance as well as the material needed.Coffee Breaks & Menus for Business Lunches: A full selection available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Quinta do Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Monte Funchal
Monte Quinta
Quinta Do Monte Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing