We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming receptionist”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Quinta do Monte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quinta do Monte
Ranked #58 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Welcoming receptionist”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Arrived very hot and probably looking disreputable after a long walk.
Receptionist was delightful, and quickly checked us in. Our luggage had arrived before us and had been taken up to our room.
I was quite worried about this part of our Madeira trip after reading the review posted by dk2822.
Can only say we saw that the pool walkway has been fixed and a new walk way with impressive pillars is under construction. Agreed, a couple of small stains on the corridor carpets, but nothing major on the fourth floor which is where we stayed.
Beautiful room, very large.
Lovely garden too.
Downside, felt the restaurant was under staffed and we waited some time for service on our second night. Avoid busy times!

Room Tip: 407 lovely and big
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    76
    47
    17
    11
See reviews for
19
151
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We decided to have our lunch at Quinta do Monte as it looked like a very nice hotel and presumably had good service and food. We were partly wrong.

After being ignored for 10-15 minutes after sitting down at the table, the waiter decided to pay us some attention. I could have accepted that if only the place had been packed with people. It wasn't though.

We ordered simple sandwiches, two large beers and two sodas. It took another 15 minutes before the beverages were served, and another 15 minutes until the sandwitches were served. So after 40-45 minutes of wating we could eat our simple, but tasty sandwiches.

Finally, it took nearly 10 minutes for the waiter to get the bill even though only one other table was occupied, two waiters were on duty and two, what looked to me, people from the management discussing the parasol next to our table.

Unacceptable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great location, but this is a pretty crummy hotel which does not merit its 5 star status. Except for the rooms in the old manor house, it has been allowed to deterioriate and is now in a state of disrepair. The carpets in the bedroom corridors are stained, the pool ceiling is coming down, and the covered outside walkway is exposed to the elements and dirty. The dining room glass ceiling is cracked and leaks, and the paintwork and tiling are cracked and peeling . The service is average, but we were only permitted two tea bags a day in our room, and afternoon tea was only served outside (even when Monte was shrouded in mist) unless it was actually raining. The buffet food was uninspired and institutional (over-cooked cabbage!), and the breakfasts poor.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dk2822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Ideally located for various attractions in Monte. I was staying at the HPB property at Cabo Girao and some other guests had been to Quinta do Monte and recommended it, I looked it up on trip advisor and thought it was worth a look. Easy to find by following the road signs (hang in there, bit round the houses due to one way roads, and if you don't like steep winding narrow roads then it is a challenge, but you could get the cable car from downtown Funchal). There is a car park for guests which is jolly handy for then wandering around Monte. Clearly not the cheapest place, but a very good selection of sweet treats to be had with a decent cup of tea. No idea about evening dining or the hotel, but I can certainly recommend it as a refreshment stop.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Terrific location with all communal areas - reception, bar & dining room - excellent. Rooms require some updating with carpets well past their best, plumbing in need of overhaul and wi-fi only available in one corner in reception & bar. Swimming pool is out of the 4th floor along a covered walkway and again in need of an overhaul

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

To be at "Quinta do Monte" hotel is a very special experience. First, you can enjoy the Funchal Bay view from your room balcony. Just step down to seat in the tropical garden, or be comfortable in one of the romantic, 19th century style seating-rooms.
The hotel has got a nice pool - a bit chilly for me- and a jacuzzi. Great !
Our room (307) was really large and provided with everything we needed. It is true that some renovation would help to enjoy the charm even more. We love silence: we got silence.
The breakfast buffet is very complete. You can even drink spumante wine (!!!). Fruits are excellent and fresh. The dinner rather expensive for a set menu with no choice (35 euros per person + drinks).
It is better to travel by car if you stay there for a few days. May be useless if you stay two days only. You can walk to Nossa Senhora church, the botanic garden et have the "cesto carro" experience just at a minute from the hotel; you can take the (expensive) cable-car to get dowtown in the morning and get back in the late afternoon (until 5.45 PM).
We did enjoy the stay and would recommand the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Charming staff and a beautiful view. We had a toastie and a beer on the terrace, which was a great find. Cannot comment on the main hotel, as we did not enter. Not cheap, but 20€ covered beers and toasties on a lovely garden. Fantastic setting for lunch though!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
2.1 mi away
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens
4.5 mi away
Quinta Do Estreito
Quinta Do Estreito
#1 of 1 in Camara De Lobos
166 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quinta Mirabela
Quinta Mirabela
#50 of 87 in Funchal
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Eira do Serrado Hotel & SPA
5.6 mi away
Hotel Quinta da Serra
Hotel Quinta da Serra
#1 of 2 in Estreito de Camara de Lobos
141 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quinta da Bela Vista
Quinta da Bela Vista
#21 of 87 in Funchal
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Monte

Property: Quinta do Monte
Address: Caminho do Monte 192, Funchal, Madeira 9050-288, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta do Monte 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oficial Category: 5 Star EstalagemLocation: In the historic Monte village, on the south coast of the island  700 meters above sea level  With panoramic views over Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean 10 minutes drive from the capital city, Funchal 30 minutes drive from the Airport Surrounded by 17.000 m2 of Gardens Transportation:Hotel courtesy bus Taxi station only a few meters away from Hotel or at the reception, when requested Bus station to Funchal, and other locations on the island in the main square Cablecar terminal 30 meters away Traditional wickerwork toboggans to city centre Parking Facilities:Free, in the hotel groundsRooms:36 Double rooms (23m²) divided in three floors:2 Superior double rooms (30m²) In addition to the standard rooms: Sofa Large table and chairsMore space available4 Suites (50m²)• 36 rooms with twin beds• 6 rooms with double bed• 9 rooms with communicating doors Room Facilities: Private Balcony with view over the gardens and towards the sea Spacious fully equipped bathroom Bath with shower Room safe (free of charge) Cable TV with 30 channels Mini-Bar with a selection of products Direct dial telephone  Air conditioning and heating individually controlled  Hair dryer and Bathrobes Spacious Bedroom  Table and easy armchair  Selection of bathroom amenities Decorated in hues of greenSuite facilities: Private Balcony with views over the gardens, and towards the sea Large fully equipped bathroom Bath with hydro massage and Separate shower Room safe free of charge Cable TV with 30 channels Mini-Bar with a selection of products  Direct Dial telephone Air conditioning and heating individually controlled Hair dryer Spacious bedroom Spacious separate living room Tables and armchairs Bath robes Selection of bathroom amenities Decorated in hues of greenAdditional services at the Quinta do Monte:  À la carte & table d`hôte Restaurant Cocktail Bar Reading room Several sitting rooms Billiard & games room Fitness Room Indoor heated swimming pool  Solarium with panoramic view Turkish bath Whirlpool Breakfast in the room Room service  Free sending and reception of faxes  Laundry service (dry cleaning outside Hotel) Reserved area for operators representatives Private Chapel 17.000m² of landscaped gardens of centenary trees and plants with views over Funchal and the sea Meeting RoomThe details that make the difference at Charming Hotels: The Resident Manager personally receives all arriving guests and will maintain a personal and regular contact with them to ensure their satisfaction and anticipate their requirements. All our guests are accompanied to their room on arrival  Gift on arrival of Madeira Wine & Madeira cake Free room safe, bath robe and slippers  Free use of sauna, Turkish bath,, sensations shower, whirlpool, panoramic fitness room, and relaxation rooms in any of the hotels inside the Group, at Chandra Spa in Quinta das Vistas. Guests on Half Board may eat at any of the Restaurants of Charming Hotels at no extra charge A policy of addressing our guests by name A policy of special attention to all our guests needs  A policy of always being willing and able to help our guests A policy of making everything possibleRestaurants & Bars in Quinta do Monte:Restaurant Monte Garden:A capacity for 120 persons, our restaurant offers a choice of two distinctive areas. The conservatory in old Madeira green with a black and white tiled floor, overlooks the extensive gardens.The main room is carpeted wood panelled.A table d’hôte menu is presented daily in addition to the à la carte menu that offers an extensive choice of Madeiran, Portuguese and international dishes fine tuned by our Chef.The wine list was carefully selected to offer a wide selection of Portuguese and International wines.A classic style service is offered from the professional and attentive staffBar:Situated in the centenary main house, on the first floor above the main entrance, the cocktail bar is dominated by a fireplace and was carefully integrated to ensure the ambience of this Madeiran Quinta was maintained.Open from 16:00 hours, it serves our popular “Royal Tea”Chapel:Built in a privileged area of our “Quinta” with exceptional views, the Chapel was built in 1936 in memory of “Our Holy Mary”.On the outside the building is supported by large pillars of solid madeiran basaltIts interior is decorated with sacred frescos in the ceiling, mosaic panels made by St. Anna’s factory and by leaded lights from the “School of Ricardo Leone”. Meeting rooms:Rooms I Dimensions:  Total area: 73,5 m2  Length: 10,5 m  Width: 7,0 m  Height: 2,75 m  Air conditioned & heated Capacity:  Convention Type – 60 School Type – 40 U Type Table – 24 Reception – 70 Banquet – 50Equipment included: Flipchart appropriate paper and colour pens  White board with colour pens  A4 size sheets and pen for participants  Document case  Bottles of water for meetingsSpecific audiovisual equipment: Possibility of providing a large range of audiovisual equipment. The quotation must be requested in advance as well as the material needed.Coffee Breaks & Menus for Business Lunches: A full selection available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quinta do Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Monte Funchal
Monte Quinta
Quinta Do Monte Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing