We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”
Review of Quinta Perestrello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quinta Perestrello
Ranked #17 of 36 Funchal B&B and Inns
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming hotel”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here from 2 to 16 September 2013 and we were thouroughly spoiled by the whole experience. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. Mannerly too - the reception staff would stand when you approached, give you their full attention and smilingly assist. We had a room fronting the garden on the pool level which was very comfortable (pillows a bit strange, felt as though they were stuffed with cotton-wool balls!) but slept well. The breakfast was good, varied and plentiful and snacks were available until 23.00hrs, as was the bar. Pool a reasonable size and well maintained. Internet access on their computer in the corridor available any time - just ask. Convenient for the centre as has been mentioned before. Cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Funchal and will stay there again when next in Madeira. Wonderful.

Room Tip: Try the lower level with french windows onto the pool/garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    84
    36
    7
    7
See reviews for
20
138
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Arrived in Funchal and wanted to spend a couple of days chilling out before touring the island by car. This was perfect. Lovely room, balcony, pool and not a child in sight. Breakfast was good and the hotel staff were very helpful. Wi-fi only available in the reception area, but difficult to connect if others were using their laptops/tablets/iphones.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuthieB51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Really enjoyed our week here. As well as the staff being wonderful, room was good and clean (though could do with an extra plug socket or two), balcony spacious, and pool lovely.
About 25 minutes walk from the Old Town so perfect for a stroll into (and a stagger back).

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor have large balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren197104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We have just returned from a perfect holiday staying at The Quinta Parestrello. Lovely hotel, we had a room at the front on the 3rd floor old part. Only gripe about this is we could have done with a small fridge and a balcony. Will request a room with balcony next year!! The staff were fantastic, nothing too much trouble and the choice of food for breakfast exceeded our expectations.
Lovely verander to sit and enjoy a cocktail before heading out for a lovely evening meal.
We ate at many different restaurants and didnt have a bad meal anywhere, but to name a few : Mar Azul, The Chalet, Mozart, Mar Brando, O Violino, The Red Lion, The White Candle, and for a very special meal (it was our wedding anniversary) book a vintage car and head to the Forte. Superb meal!!!
Madeira has so much to do we will have to return next year to see all the things we didnt see this year, but the cable car is a must. Next year we will do the toboggan ride as well!
Grdens are a plenty but flowers are everywhere if you dont want to visit anything formal.
The Story Centre is very interesting so is Blandys. Visit the market and be amazed. Also the yellow bus tour is value for money (12Euros for 48hrs) hop on and off as many times as you wish. Blue tour takes you to Camara de Lobos, stop and have a lovely lunch in the harbour.
Also stop at The Forum shopping centre and visit C&A!!!
Overall I was so suprised at the number of things to see and do in Madeira. we stayed 2 weeks and still didnt see it all.
Will definately be returning next year and stay at the Quinta Parestrello. Cant wait!!!

Room Tip: Book a room at the front and ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RosieW77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

When booking the Quinta Perestrello we had read many of the reviews on Trip Advisor and they gave a clear picture of a small hotel that is full of character.

Our experience supports other 5 star reviews. The Hotel is small and characterful and a lovely place to rest after a day spent perusing the island. Staff were clearly very professional, very considerate in all aspects of service delivery with particular attention in ensuring your stay at the Perestrello is a positive, relaxing and trouble free. Rooms were comfortable with those having a balcony view in my opinion getting the best deal. The rooms are kept very clean with maid service occurring daily, an improvement would be the provision of tea making facilities within the room, and at the behest of Kate I must mention provision of an 'Iron' would have been helpful.

Food presented at Breakfast met the culinary needs of varying cultures - and if you want bacon and egg, sausage and black pudding stay in the UK and don't whine on - remember you are in another country. The pool area is very good and is a great place to sunbathe, read a book, sip a glass of wine or have a beer or two.

The Hotel is positioned close to town, bit of a slog if you walk into town and back but if you choose there are good bus links and taxi's aplenty.

Tip of the week - go to the fish market and looK for a restaurant called A Bica, Rua do Hospital Velho, 17 Funchal, Madeira which is for my money one of the best places to eat in Funchal

Room Tip: Seek a room with a balcony - Room 302 was great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Amongst all of the huge hotels in Funchel stands this small gem. Not perfect in every way, but pretty close. Located between the main town & the Lido made it easy to get to either area, some traffic noise as the hotel is located above the road. We were in the main house with a fantasic view. Our room furnished with period furniture, original oak floor boards & lovely linen (changed each day). Some of the fixtures were a little tired but within character, everything worked well, shower was great plenty of hot water, AC, kettle, hair dryer, tv. The bed looked beautiful but was firm & a little squeaky. The staff were very friendly and helpfull. The gardens were beautiful and the pool area clean and well set out, the pool temperature could have been warmer( perhaps a cover at night would help) but definitly not unusable. Breakfast was lovely & plentiful available til 10am, the snack menu available all day til 10.30pm was good, but no actual evening meal available in the hotel, this was fine as you are surrounded by restaurants from low cost pub type food to top class restaurants ( Reids palace hotel 2 mins walk). Overall I would recommend this hotel highly to couples who like the flexibility of B&B, & enjoy good quality service & surroundings. I have been totally honest in my opinion of this hotel & have pointed out small things that should not put anyone off going, I will certainly be back if visiting the island again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mutleyminor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

If you like to eat and drink somewhere different every night this couldn't be a better choice. Turn right and you have the bars and eating places of the hotel "quarter". Turn left and 20 minutes finds you in the town centre. Just over the road and 5 minutes walk are 2 or 3 great bars and restaurants. Plus easy to get on and off the VR1. Parking is limited but we managed to find a space on site every day and the staff were helpful with this.
Buffet breakfast was very good - plenty of food and choice and the staff worked hard to keep the buffet topped up. The usual rather poor fruit juice - strange on an island with so much fruit, and ditto for only plain yoghurt but not that important. Other items available on request.
Staff throughout the hotel are pleasant and helpful. 2 good value "happy hour" periods at the small bar. Really good "snacks" menu available, beautiful filled baguettes.
Yes the beds are very firm - and the pillows very thin (but we have noticed this in other portuguese hotels). In addition, the room was spotless, every day thanks to the maid, comfortably furnished and due to the garden location shady, cool and quiet. We had a ground floor room, very convenient for the pool, and the large tree outside filtered the early morning sun and noise and kept the room at an ideal temperature so we didn't use the air con.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
7 Thank Linbergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#30 of 86 in Funchal
2,278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
563 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.0 mi away
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Enotel Quinta do Sol
#33 of 86 in Funchal
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Perestrello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Perestrello

Property: Quinta Perestrello
Address: Rua Doutor Pita 3, Funchal, Madeira 9000-089, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Perestrello 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oficial Category: 4 Star EstalagemLocation: Situated in the main hotel area of Funchal 1.5 km from the town centre Well located between the Savoy and Reid’s Hotels 10 minutes walking distance from the city centre Panoramic view to the mountains, the city and the sea Approximately 25 minutes from the International Airport of MadeiraTransportation: Taxi station a hundred meters from the hotel or directly at the reception door if requested Bus stop to Funchal and other destinations to the west part of the island, about 2 minutes walking from the hotelParking Facilities:Free parking places at the hotel entranceRooms:36 Double Rooms (30m² or 32m²) 2 rooms with a queen size bed34 twin-bedded rooms11 rooms in the Main House26 room with terrace or balcony in the new wing Room Facilities: High ceiling rooms in the main house New wing rooms with terrace or balcony with sitting area, garden and pool view  Wood flooring Marble bathrooms Bath with shower Selection of bathroom amenities Air conditioning and heating in bedrooms and public areas Safe in room Comfortable chairs Hair-dryer  Direct dialling telephone Cable TV with 30 channels Double glazingAdditional services at the Quinta Perestrello:  Swimming pool, surrounded by beautiful gardens Sun terrace Terrace sitting area Well kept gardens Relaxation areas Free reception of faxes Sending service of faxes at Reception Laundry service with delivers in 48 hours Organization of dry cleaning service (outside the hotel)  Breakfast in the room from 8:00 to 10:30  Bar service to rooms from 10:00 to 24:00  Table d’hôte Restaurant Cocktail Bar Reception desk and Sitting areaThe details that make the difference at Charming Hotels: The Reception Manager receives all arriving guests and will maintain a personal and regular contact with them to ensure their satisfaction and anticipate their requirements. All our guests are accompanied to their room on arrival  Gift on arrival of Madeira Wine & Madeira cake Free use of sauna, Turkish bath,, sensations shower, whirlpool, panoramic fitness room, and relaxation rooms and much more inside the Hotel Group, at Chandra Spa. Guests on Half Board may eat at the restaurant “ Adega da Quinta” in Quinta do Estreito, at no extra charge Guests on Half Board may eat at any of the Restaurants of Charming Hotels at no extra charge A policy of addressing our guests by name A policy of special attention to all our guests needs  A policy of always being willing and able to help our guests A policy of making everything possible ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Quinta Perestrello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Perestrello Hotel Funchal
Quinta Perestrello Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing