We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay.”
Review of Quinta Perestrello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quinta Perestrello
Ranked #16 of 35 Funchal B&B and Inns
Birmingham, England
Level 6 Contributor
907 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“Decent place to stay.”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My forst visit and nice not to be in a big chain hotel. Much of what others have said is correct it is a "character" property but slightly frayed in places but nothing that would put me off returning.
If you like soft mattresses forget it these are firm and for me that's how i like it but it won't suit everyone and yep pillows need a good upgrade. Bathroom functional and hot water aplenty so no bad points for me. Breakfast is a little below par and thats being fair, the weakest aspect for me. Nice situation/pool/little garden and terrace but the excellent staff give this place a major thumbs up from me. " bus stops outside including one for the hop on/off sightseeing busses. All in all I liked it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brianthelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    84
    35
    7
    7
See reviews for
20
138
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Clean and tidy Hotel well located for restaurants etc. All the staff work hard and are pleasant however the décor in places is in need of updating, threadbare carpets for example, the pillows supplied are not in the least comfortable and need replacing. Noise from the road can be a problem. The breakfasts although adequate are nothing special and can be repetitive. This is our second stay at this hotel and none of the above points in any way spoilt our enjoyment of our holiday but for some they may and are worth noting. Would we return for a third visit? Maybe depending on further reviews.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife & I stayed here in March 2014, the hotel is just the right side of having character, with period features without seeming too dated. The staff were all fantastic, and very helpful, our room was large (206) very clean and had a lovely view. The breakfasts were OK without being special. The hotel is very peaceful and well located, the drinks were not overly expensive, and there must be 100's of places to eat within 15 minutes walk. 2 to recommend are La Vaca Negra, Rua Velha Da Ajuda (Argentinian), and Wine & Chocolate Velha da Ajuda (Portugese Fusion) with great wine!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wrensnestred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I have just returned from this lovely hotel in Funchal. Our greeting on arrival from Delilah was excellent, all the staff are very friendly and seemed to love to chat, especially the lovely Carla who is a lovely girl. We had a room in the old part which was charming and spotless and a good view. The breakfasts were adequate with a variety, the fresh fruit salad was good, many breads to choose from.
The terrace is a delight to have breakfast or a drink before going out in the evening. We will recommend this hotel to our friends if they are visitng Madeira. We hope to return..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DobbinSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We booked with Thomson and paid extra for a balcony room but on arrival we were given 206 no balcony but they changed us to 303 on 2nd floor, nice room but far to noisy as the hotel is on a busy road junction. Asked to change again and was given 06 on the garden level, this was a lovely room with a double bed. Best rooms 1-12. Breakfast ok nothing special. Pool small but adequate to cool down in. Great pizza place Luigi's for a take away by the pool or hotel menu but not cheap. Turn right at junction past Reids for nice bar (hole in one) and some nice restaurants. Never had a bad meal all week, enjoy Madeira.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank scudder44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dornoch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just back from a 2 week break here that we thoroughly enjoyed and would have no problem at all recommending to others. As others have reported it is a great location which is run by a very efficient and helpful team of staff. It is kept immaculately clean with even the sunbeds cleaned daily. Yes there are minor quibbles you can pick out such as pillows and minor leaks in the conservatory, but hey you are not staying at Reid's.

A word on balconies for those thinking of staying here. They all face south east so are good at capturing the morning sun until early afternoon. If your idea is of sitting on a sunlit balcony late in the day enjoying a wee drink then you can't here. We had a room on the top floor (3rd floor) and the balconies are very small and not very private. You do however get the best view across the city/sea. Balconies on the lower floors tend to be larger but don't have the views.

If you are concerned about the noise of traffic which is not excessive, ask for a room at the rear of the hotel (old part of the building) - downside to this is there is no view.

I would guess some improvements have been made to the breakfasts as there was a reasonable choice and variety.

Booked car hire through the hotel and got best rates locally too, having made comparisons elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms 301 - 304 with balconies have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_Dornoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Quinta Perstrello Heritage Hotel in Madeira for two weeks in a lovely clean room in the original building. It was a large room facing the sea. It was a little dated however some improvements are needed eg there are few power points and no WiFi in the room. The television was the old "dumpy" type that should be replaced and the pillows on the bed should be thrown out.

We were bed and breakfast. The uncooked breakfast was okay however the cooked breakfast was very poor. There was seldom any bacon and fried eggs.
There was a chopped fried meat which we suspected was a type of spam from a tin, chopped and fried.
I asked what it was and could not get a straight answer.

Other guests disliked the cooked breakfast.

The hotel has a small swimming pool to sit around.and It was always kept clean.

The staff are very helpful and the location is very good.

Would we stay here again? The answer is no.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rolal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
2,247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Enotel Quinta do Sol
#32 of 86 in Funchal
716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
875 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Perestrello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Perestrello

Property: Quinta Perestrello
Address: Rua Doutor Pita 3, Funchal, Madeira 9000-089, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Perestrello 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oficial Category: 4 Star EstalagemLocation: Situated in the main hotel area of Funchal 1.5 km from the town centre Well located between the Savoy and Reid’s Hotels 10 minutes walking distance from the city centre Panoramic view to the mountains, the city and the sea Approximately 25 minutes from the International Airport of MadeiraTransportation: Taxi station a hundred meters from the hotel or directly at the reception door if requested Bus stop to Funchal and other destinations to the west part of the island, about 2 minutes walking from the hotelParking Facilities:Free parking places at the hotel entranceRooms:36 Double Rooms (30m² or 32m²) 2 rooms with a queen size bed34 twin-bedded rooms11 rooms in the Main House26 room with terrace or balcony in the new wing Room Facilities: High ceiling rooms in the main house New wing rooms with terrace or balcony with sitting area, garden and pool view  Wood flooring Marble bathrooms Bath with shower Selection of bathroom amenities Air conditioning and heating in bedrooms and public areas Safe in room Comfortable chairs Hair-dryer  Direct dialling telephone Cable TV with 30 channels Double glazingAdditional services at the Quinta Perestrello:  Swimming pool, surrounded by beautiful gardens Sun terrace Terrace sitting area Well kept gardens Relaxation areas Free reception of faxes Sending service of faxes at Reception Laundry service with delivers in 48 hours Organization of dry cleaning service (outside the hotel)  Breakfast in the room from 8:00 to 10:30  Bar service to rooms from 10:00 to 24:00  Table d’hôte Restaurant Cocktail Bar Reception desk and Sitting areaThe details that make the difference at Charming Hotels: The Reception Manager receives all arriving guests and will maintain a personal and regular contact with them to ensure their satisfaction and anticipate their requirements. All our guests are accompanied to their room on arrival  Gift on arrival of Madeira Wine & Madeira cake Free use of sauna, Turkish bath,, sensations shower, whirlpool, panoramic fitness room, and relaxation rooms and much more inside the Hotel Group, at Chandra Spa. Guests on Half Board may eat at the restaurant “ Adega da Quinta” in Quinta do Estreito, at no extra charge Guests on Half Board may eat at any of the Restaurants of Charming Hotels at no extra charge A policy of addressing our guests by name A policy of special attention to all our guests needs  A policy of always being willing and able to help our guests A policy of making everything possible ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quinta Perestrello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Perestrello Hotel Funchal
Quinta Perestrello Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing