We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a couple”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Pico Musica

Enjoy the view from your open air terrace over the palm trees & rooftops to the city & ocean
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy the view from your open air terrace over the palm trees & rooftops to the city & ocean
Open air covered terrace, your living room for your stay with us
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Enjoy the view from your open air terrace over the palm trees & rooftops to the city & ocean
Open air covered terrace, your living room for your stay with us
Ideal spot for breakfast what ever the weather
The view from your breakfast seating area
View from your covered terrace over the old city and out over the ocean towards the Desert Islands
A bowl of welcoming fruit to enjoy during your stay
Fully fitted kitchen with window overlooking the city and the ocean
View from Kitchen out onto open air terrace
Bedroom with its own balcony and fitted wardrobe plus remote controlled ceiling fan
Wall mounted multi channel TV with assorted books to read and easy chair to relax in.
View from your bedroom balcony over the rooftops and out over Funchal and towards the mountains.
En suite area with remote controlled Velux roof light complete with mosquito screen & roller blind.
WC, bidet plus large walk in shower area.
Spiral staircase from Terrace to Courtyard garden
The spiral staircase from courtyard garden to your covered terrace
Courtyard garden, complete with Spanish Moss air plants
View towards spiral staircase from corner of courtyard
Courtyard table and chairs next to barbeque.
Traditional pebble paved courtyard with assorted sub tropical trees and climbers
Helaconias flowering in the garden
Just a few of the Orchids in flower in the courtyard garden, along with 'Spanish Moss'
Back courtyard gate which is your private access way to and from the apartment
Access the apartment via garden gate on the left from the public alleyway. The view down over city
Enjoy the view of the sea and city of Funchal from the comfort of your sofa or arm-chair
Easy seating to take in the views from the covered terrace or watch the cruise ships come and go.
Watch the coming and going of cruise ships from your terrace
View from top of spiral staircase connecting covered terrace to the courtyard garden
The Queen Mary 2 visits Funchal, seen from the open air terrace
You will be staying close by the frequently photographed view down Calcada do Pico & out to sea
Your back garden gate accesses the pebbled courtyard garden with traditional Madeiran tiled seating.
Looking back into the apartment & out over the city from your open air covered terrace
Easy seating plus café table & chairs to help you enjoy the outdoor living of Madeira.
Café table and chairs to take breakfast or dine at or simply enjoy a glass of wine and the views
You can also sit at the breakfast bar in kitchen and take in the view out onto the covered terrace
Fitted kitchen with halogen hob, microwave, toaster, coffee machine & remote controlled ceiling fan
Your kitchen window has views over the city & out to sea, easy clean black granite worktops
Your kitchen sink view over the sea, coffee maker, fridge and washing machine all to hand as well.
Looking back from your bedroom towards the kitchen & out onto covered terrace.
Remote control ceiling fan above double bed for those warm nights. Lights works on 2 way switches
Double bedroom with patio doors to small balcony with luggage store cupboard, mosquito screen fitted
Wall mounted cable TV with 120 channels, plus easy chair and mirrored wardrobe in bedroom
Luxury en-suite shower room, WC & Bidet. Auto close Velux window. Solar panel heats all hot water
Quinta das Cruzes museum & gardens are located a few minutes walk down the road from your apartment
The Pico fort (currently closed) is just around the corner from the alleyway
Another view from the local Pico Castle grounds looking towards the mountains, castle walls on right
View from the Pico Castle grounds located just above your apartment
View from local Castle looking over the city and out to sea
Flower festival in full swing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
MackGambo...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a couple”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This place is exactly what we were looking for. Not in the hotel district, near the main shopping area and close to some of the many gardens and museums. The flat has been decorated tastefully. The big verandah is also the lounge and dining room, which means you're embraced by the nature of the place when eating and relaxing. We really appreciated Michael supplying all the basics as well as a nice bottle of wine and plenty of fruit. The only two issues are the bedroom which is open plan with the bathroom and the loo flush which is weak to the point where you have to put the paper in a bin rather than down the loo. Despite this we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: verandah
Liked least: the open plan loo/ bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2014
Many thanks for submitting your detailed review as promised.
We are sorry you did not like the "open plan" layout of the bedroom and ensuite, this has not however been a problem highlighted by any of our previous guests and is we think clearly shown on our photos. However we respect your honesty.
Re the poorly flushing loo, the problem is not so much that it does not flush very well but, as we explain to all our guests, more a problem of the small diameter waste pipes which run under our house that have the slight risk of being subject to blockage if lots of toilet paper and hair are flushed down the toilet rather than placed in the small pedal bin which is provided next to it. Rubbish bags for this bin are provided and can be disposed of, along with any general rubbish, 3 times a week. We trust from the contents of the rest of your review that these small inconveniences did not spoil your holiday too much and hope maybe we may still have the chance to welcome you back again one day.
May I also take this opportunity to wish you both a happy Christmas and a peaceful and healthy 2015
Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonhall62...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great appartment to relax in and explore Funchal”
Reviewed 30 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Booking process was extremely easy, and our host doing the airport transfers made for stress free arrangements. Michael had got some basic shopping in for us - and had offered to do more. On the way back from the airport he stopped at the supermarket and was very patient while we shopped for all the heavy stuff.
The apartment is lovely - just as in the photos - spotless. It was very relaxing getting up in the morning to breakfast in sunshine, and to see what cruise liner had come in overnight.
It was about a twenty minute walk down to the sea front. There were many different routes, so it was a nice start to the day wandering down. There is a local bus back up, if you can't face the pull up. We never found it a problem though.
Michael gave excellent advice on where to get provisions and where to eat out. Food/restaurant costs were very reasonable
If I wanted another holiday in Funchal I would certainly stay there again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: No chest of drawers
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2014
Many thanks for your kind and detailed review, we certainly would love to see you back if you ever decide to visit Funchal again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPJones
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely apartment in a good location with an amazing view”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We spent a week in the apartment in June. We have been to Madeira previously and stayed in the Monumental Lido area. It was much better being very close to the middle of Funchal. The town centre was a few minutes' walk down a steep hill. The owner was very friendly and helpful, but also unobtrusive. He provided us with a welcome pack of groceries including a large basket of local fruit, and also offered a lift to and from the airport if needed. The apartment itself is very stylish and has a large shady verandah with a stunning view over Funchal. It was possible to see the hillsides above Funchal including Monte, the harbour, the Deserted Islands on the horizon, as well as Funchal. I would most definitely recommend this apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Quite a noisy location - as you would expect near a town centre
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2014
Many thanks for your kind review, I am please to hear you prefered our location to the Monumental Lido area (I have to admit I do agree with you & it is one of many reasons we chose this historical area of Funchal to live in over the modern concrete apartments further out of town)
I look forward to maybe one day welcoming you both back here again as it is always great to have such pleasant guests as yourselves staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and the view.
Liked least: Funchal dogs barking in the distance on two or three occasions. But that's life.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Apr 2014
Many thanks for your review we look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lisa H
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great apartment away from the hotel zone”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We were looking for somewhere to stay other than one of the large hotels within walking distance of the centre of Funchal - this was a great choice. Located 10 minutes' walk up the (steep) hill, the apartment provides fantastic views of the harbour and coastline. Handy for shops and restaurants, with some local convenience stores a couple of minutes' walk away and larger supermarkets a little further distance (Pingo Doce at Dolce Vita shopping centre). The booking process was very straightforward and we were provided with very detailed directions from the airport as we had hired a car. We always managed to find a parking space just up the hill from the apartment, and it took less than 5 minutes' drive to reach the motorway. Michael was a very friendly host, unobtrusive but always on hand to provide advice if asked, including driving tours and local restaurants. We tried Restaurant Espaco on Rua da Carreira on his recommendation - the fish and espetada were both excellent and portions very generous. India House across the street was also a very good choice if you want something different to the usual Madeiran fare. The apartment itself was very comfortable and as it looks in the photos, the balcony was a particularly pleasant space from which to enjoy the view with a glass of wine in hand. The WiFi connection was strong and reliable throughout our stay. There were plenty of walking options within an hour's drive, with plenty of maps and guides available in the apartment to help plan your day. We hope to return soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balcony with a view
Liked least: There were a few noisy dogs nearby but they did not bother us particularly and did not disturb a good night's sleep
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2014
Many thanks for your comprehensive review, it is always a pleasure to know that our guests enjoyed their stay and nice to have you confirm that what you saw on the website was what you found when you arrived. Just a note there are several routes back up to the apartment, some not quite so steep as others but maybe a slightly longer and less direct route to walk, however as other guests have said there is always something interesting to look at both on your walks up from and down into town. We definitely look forward to welcoming you again should you ever decide to return to Madeira one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quaestor1...
Ludlow England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A ray of sunshine”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This was our first visit to Madeira & it exceeded all our expectations. Climate, walking, flora, & fresh food. Lustre was added to our trip by this stylish apartment in an attic conversion in an old building on the hill above the town. Here one gets a flavour of the everyday life of Funchal. The view is spectacular. In the daytime boats come & go and the sun shimmers on the sea. At night the lights of the town are spread out below and on the hillside above.

Michael is a charming, helpful, and unobtrusive host who does everything possible to ensure his guests enjoy their stay.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2014
Many thanks for the thoughtful review, am very pleased Madeira lived up to expectations for you both and also glad that your stay with us went so well. Thankyou for being such charming guests and we hope to see you both again one day maybe?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and having such a kind unintrusive and helpful host.
Liked least: Honestly cannot put anything here
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Feb 2014
Many thanks for your detailed and thoughtful review, likewise would be very pleased to see you again back here next year maybe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;