We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab place to go” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ajuda Madeira Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ajuda Madeira Hotel
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
telford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab place to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

Arriving at the hotel we were greeting very well,although the first room we were given was very shabby when we asked for a new one this was done with no hesitation, this room was lovely. The bar and restaurant staff are fab, always cheery and up for a laugh.
The hotel was always clean, the pool man kept the pool area clean, plenty of beds and brollies (both free),with a selection of English reading books to borrow.
Large selection of food for breakfast, buffet for dinner - salads, 4 main dishes (fish of some description most nights) you have to try the local fish - Espada - known locally as the ugly fish - very nice.
Duo played every night in the bar, only 7 of us there, which is a shame because they were good and up for a laugh when we all joined in.
Area very quiet at night but only a 15 min walk to the lido area with lots of bars and restaurants - China Town restaurant is great. Irish pub called O'Brien's with real beer but very expensive at 5 euros a pint.
Coach trips great should do east and west coasts, fab scenery.
We went for 2 weeks got a bit long towards the end 1 week would probably have done but had a grreat time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank labgirlTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2008

To escape the rain in good ol' GB, we booked a "last minute" to Madeira. To be honest, there was little else available and having heard good reports of Madeira, but never having been, we thought we would try it out.
We were not disappointed. It would be hard to find any grumbles. The Hotel was clean, reception greeted us in a friendly way and with efficiency, the room was spacious, clean and had a wonderful view (being on the 5th floor) right the way down to Funchal and over the sea. The Restaurant was clean (if a little warm), the food was buffet with plenty of choices, all of them tasty and plentiful (we were half board). Restaurant Staff were the best, service was faultless and they were up for a laugh and made our stay really enjoyable.
The Pool area was spotless, always beds available with only one couple insisting on "booking" their beds with their towels(when are hotels going to stop this stupid practice!).
There was always a pianist/guitarist playing/singing in the evening, tastefully and well done.
The Hotel was a little far out of Funchal, we took a 45 minute walk, but the Coastal Path (only some of the way) is lovely and Service Buses are cheap and plentiful, as are Taxis. In all, we loved it and will certainly return to Madeira to see more of this beautiful Island.

  • Liked — The excellent service
  • Disliked — Long way into Funchal
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AitchGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2006

After reading reviews on the website I was a bit wary of what to expect but I was pleasantly surprised! Comfortable Hotel, well situated,helpful staff, good food,clean rooms,although some decor was in need of a bit of TLC. Overall we had an excellent holiday and enjoyed our stay at the D'Ajuda.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 50lopezl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2005

Ajuda is the area (a couple of miles out of central Funchal), so there are one or two other hotels with that in the title (Jardins d'Ajuda, Musa d'Ajuda, for instance).

The Ajuda Madeira is a pleasant enough hotel with generous room space and extremely helpful staff. Guests were a mixture of English, French, German and Dutch. Breakfast is expansive, dinner is buffet-style, with a usual choice of two fish and two meat dishes (My wife and I are not vegetarian, but there didn't seem much on offer for those who are -- apart from salads). There's a floor show on a couple of evenings during dinner.

The pool is quite small, with beds (free) and umbrellas (1 euro 50 to hire). We went slightly out-of-season (September), so space wasn't a problem. The pool man keeps a close eye on activities.

There's a courtesy bus into Funchal centre and back. One pleasant surprise was the rather stylish shopping mall a short walk from the hotel. Another was that we were assigned a holiday rep., even though we booked independently through lastminute.com. Joanna was able to arrange excursions and a much cheaper option of getting to the airport at the end of the holiday.

To sum up, a relaxed and comfortable hotel that will probably appeal more to couples than families. Happy holiday!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Andy066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
The Jardins d’Ajuda Suite Hotel
1.5 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Avenue Park
0.5 mi away
Raga Hotel
Raga Hotel
#43 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Albergaria Catedral
Albergaria Catedral
#60 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dorisol Estrelicia
Dorisol Estrelicia
#84 of 87 in Funchal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#44 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajuda Madeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajuda Madeira Hotel

Property: Ajuda Madeira Hotel
Address: Rua Velha Ajuda, Funchal, Madeira 9004-534, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays so you can book your Ajuda Madeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ajuda Madeira
Ajuda Madeira Hotel Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing