We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location, confusing layout”
Review of Alto Lido Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Alto Lido Hotel
Ranked #40 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Handy location, confusing layout”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed 8 days at this hotel - one night in a small apartment, then a week in a sleeps 4, which offered a good sized living room, 2 bathrooms, a large bedroom and a small kitchen galley. The hotel is on the main strip, so there is always something going on and it has nightly entertainment. We chose to eat at various local restaurants and there is a super Pingo Doce supermarket within 100m, that also does takeaway food. The PO is nearby too. The hotel runs a minibus into Funchal several times a day on production of guest card. There is no evening run, but taxis are cheap. We hired a car, which was a waste and found we could have used local transport and saved our nerves and the very pricey petrol on the island. The route to the hotel on their website is old and there is a newer route in - stay on the motorway one junction longer and follow GPS to arrive on the correct side of the road for the hotel. The underground car park is free but badly lit and users do not park well; suggest using the lower level to avoid scratches and there is a lift into the hotel lobby. The hotel site is on 3 different levels and it was confusing at first to find the room - using 2 different lifts. There is a dreadful smell of boiled cabbage / fish as you pass the main restaurant, but it did not permeate to the rooms. Maid service was excellent and daily. Wi-fi is by reception but other tourists tended to wander in and use it too! The pool is good - circular, with 2 port-holes on the sides - so passers-by in the corridors can view dangling legs! The pool staff were very attentive and moved chairs and parasols for guests. Pool towels are available by leaving a deposit at reception and showing the card during your stay. There is a handy pool cafe with friendly staff and their english was great.There is a good library on Level 1 of the main hotel. All in all, a pleasant venue if just a little confusing to work out the layout, but it grew on us.

Room Tip: The upper levels have a view across other hotels towards the sea. The restaurant was on L 2 and see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisboeta56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    268
    146
    29
    13
See reviews for
153
267
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

From the street the Alto Lido is like any other massive hotels along the Tourist Zone strip west of Funchal, certainly those directly on the shore have better views. The lobby simple but dated, old velour couches and empty corridors make it feel stale.

The rooms however are a little more flavourful. Colourfully painted and well appointed with small kitchenettes, large bathrooms and ample balconies, we were pleasantly surprised.

The beds, even the pullout couch was solid and comfortable.

The breakfast was served in a bright open atrium and offered a large variety of fresh hot and cold items. The nescafe machine however was not the best.

The pool did not look at all appealing so we didn't use it.

The staff was pleasant and helpful.

Overall a pretty average hotel, I'm sure one among many similar properties in the neighbourhood. Nothing about it stands out, but it's right for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juli Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaragoza, Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Alto Lido is a comfortable hotel on Estrada Monumental, the road that links Funchal to Lido, and goes on to Câmara de Lobos, so it is right behind and above the luxury hotels on the coast line. We stayed on the 8th floor and had a beautiful side view of the sea and Porto Santo islands from sunrise. The room was big and had a large terrace which allowed us to enjoy the mild temperatures of the island at any time during the day in July, and it had a little fridge where we could keep some fruit for our outings around the beautiful island of Madeira, a TV and a large bathroom. Perhaps the rooms which give onto the road are a bit noisier, but our room was clean and quiet. There is a free shuttle service to the city centre and free parking space, if you have rented a car.

Many of the guests in the hotel were in their late fifties and sixties, so the indoor and outdoor swimming pools, the halls, and the bars were usually quiet, although you could also see a few young children enjoying the swimming pools or playing with their tablets. The night entertainment is not very exciting, mellow jazz music at its best, after dinner the promenade along the coast line below was nicer than walking along Estrada Monumental, although the entertainment in the big luxury hotels is probably too loud, if you are lodged down there.

Having breakfast on the terrace early in the morning was very, very enjoyable. The temperature was great even the day of our departure at 7:00. There is a wide choice of bread, eggs, sausages, bacon, beans, cheese, ham, tomato, cereals, yoghurt and three or four trays of fresh fruit (local bananas, melon, water melon, kiwi, grapefruit, fruit salad…), and you can’t miss the sponge cake, which is delicious (the pastries, on the other hand, were rather dull).

On Estrada Monumental and Rua da Casa Branca you can find many restaurants and shops, and there is a good supermarket next to the hotel, which is very convenient to buy food if you plan to spend the day visiting the island. On rua da Casa Branca you can find a footpath that leads to Piornais levada. This levada is not as beautiful, cool and relaxing as those in the laurel forests, but it offers an insight into the life of local Madeirans, their vegetable gardens, people picking prickly pears, children playing on the levada … There are impressive views of the coast and the banana plantations too, but a couple of times it could be frightening if you suffer from vertigo.

The staff at the hotel are very helpful and friendly, perhaps the décor is a bit dated, but the price is very reasonable, so Alto Lido is a good choice to stay at the beautiful island of Madeira.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ignacio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

first of all i wish to state , it was a great place to stay, spotlessly clean, a quite place to relax in.
from the airport you can get the airport bus which will deliver you outside the hotel for 10 euro return, or take a taxi from 35 -45 euro one way.
the courtsey bus is very handy to take you into town, you can walk but it is a struggle in the hot sun.
breakfast was included in my package but it was only so so.
a good stay was had and i can recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CorkKenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The hotel Alto Lido is well run, well maintained, & very clean hotel in a good location. The pool is very small for the size of the hotel but, we had no problems getting a sunbed. There's a very reliable courtesy bus several times a day which takes you to Funchal centre, last one back is 6:00p.m. but a taxi back is only about 6/7 euros, also the hotel is situated on the main road with a bus stop right outside Bus No's 1, 2, & 6 will take you to & from the centre at a cost of 1.85 euro. However, there is a big choice of restaurants around the hotel one to suit everyone's pocket from the fabulous Chalet Vincent a very nice up market place (expect to pay about 30 euros per head for 2 course's with wine) to the help yourself snack bar in the super market which is on the next block were you can get soup, sandwich & a drink at lunch time for less then 5 euros. This hotel is very very quiet the clientele tend to be older the tour operators seem to be the French & German equivalent of Saga so don't go here looking for fun, you will not find it. Madeira over all is lovely but, definitely not for the price conscious.

Room Tip: If you're using time share try to avoid the rooms over looking the pool snack bar as there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BarbaraGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I chose Alto Lido because a reviewer wrote it was very quiet with no atmosphere , it was like music to my ears the other reason for visiting was that it was the only hotel that would guarantee me a room on the top floor. On arrival I was greeted by Laura who went through the formality of checking me in I had to wait 45 minutes gave me enough time to go to the supermarket to get milk and water.
My room was clean, bright and the bathroom had fresh towels and a shower that worked. I was surprised the pool area was furnished with sunbeds and on request the pool boy would give the parasols. Beech towels were available with a deposit of 10 Euros which was refunded.
I went bed and breakfast as one of the reviewers wrote about an Indian Restaurant Sabor Da India just around the corner, I had delicious Indian food in a friendly atmosphere.
The shuttle was very convent way of getting to and from Funchal town centre and left at regular intervals.
There were a number of tours from France, Netherlands and Austria the only time you felt they were there was at breakfast. The first day it was difficult because there were queues to get tea or coffee I soon had a plan to beat the queues. There was a good selection of hot and cold food. I found it difficult having my egg on toast on a side plate, I requested staff if I could have a full plate, I did not have to ask again because when the waitress saw me she brought one over to me.
I have already booked to return to Alto Lido, with reasonable rates and a room of my choice can't ask for anything more.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room go for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank IndianKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Alto Lido is a nice, clean. large and comfortable hotel in a very nice area just 15-20 minutes walk from Funchal centre. You can also take the courtesy bus from the hotel or a taxi for aprox 5 Euro. I got a verny nice suite in the 13th floor with an incredible view over the sea and hotels under us. The room was really nice and cosy and with the separate bedrom with own doorr to the balcony this was very nice. But it is 4 star, not 5. There are little things that lack. Example. The butter and, tomato, ham and cheese for breakfast is in avery cold tray. So the butter is impossible to spread on the toast or bread. I issued this problem to on of the breacfast staff and suggested them to take som butter packs in a bowl and place it next to the bread. Expected that to happen, but it was obviously in one ear and out the next. Also I thought it was strange that you have to pay 5 Euro to use the computers in reception for !72 hour. Also strang that you have to pay 6 Euro pr.person to use the jacuzzi. Little details like this is not a big deal... but what separates the best from the second best.

I did not eat at the restaurant as I heard it was not so great. But why bother with eating there? Just outside the hotel doors there are many nive restaurants.

The staff was very helpfull and polite. The reception crew wonderfull so all in all a very nice stay :-)

Room Tip: 12th and 13th floor has incredible views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TravellerfromtheNort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Raga Hotel
Raga Hotel
#44 of 85 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Duas Torres
Duas Torres
#45 of 85 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#41 of 85 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#35 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.0 mi away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#46 of 85 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Lido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Lido Hotel

Property: Alto Lido Hotel
Address: Estrada Monumental 316, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Lido Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alto Lido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Lido Funchal
Alto Lido Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing