We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite a 4 star!”
Review of Alto Lido Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Alto Lido Hotel
Ranked #41 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hotel is in a good location, plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. First impression inside is the hotel is a bit dismal looking (seemed quite dark) but very clean. The reception staff were friendly and polite. We had a room on the 13th floor. On exiting the lift there is a spectacular view over the sea! Our room was quite large had a side sea view and was pleasant enough. It was very clean but felt like it needed a bit of an update! The worst thing were the beds - oh my were they uncomfortable, even the sunbeds felt more comfortable!! Glad I was only staying a week as I didn't get one decent nights sleep. Pool area was ok, inside pool seemed rather chilly to say it was supposed to be heated! You have to pay to use the sauna (6 euros per person for half an hour) and also the Jacuzzi (5 euros per person for half an hour).

We never ate in the restaurant in an evening as it was buffett style food an they charged 21 euros a head! Breakfast was OK. Cold meats and cheeses were nice and there was fresh fruit which was lovely but the hot food was not very hot or good! Coffee was out of a machine which was awful and kept breaking down. Staff on the whole were pleasant, our maid was lovely and always spoke and seemed very jolly! The evening entertainment was a bit of a joke and drinks were very expensive in the bar (2.7 euros for a can of warm pepsi!) All in all we had a relaxing stay but nothing about it was memorable! I personally would not go back to stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
There are newer reviews for Alto Lido Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my son in November 2013 for a week and found it to be pleasant and had a good stay.

I have to say we stayed in low season so our experience was when it was very quiet.

Room - Our room was a twin and had ample room to move around in without bumping into each other. Clean and tidy room and facilities. The balcony was facing a block of flats next door however as we didn't spend too much time in the room / on the balcony this really didn't matter to us.

Eating - we found the restaurant to be pleasant food, clean and good service. The variety of food was adequate at breakfast time - had all the normal hot and cold foods on offer with plenty of variety. The only thing I would say is the hot food caters for all nationalities so don't expect your standard English bacon or sausage! We enjoyed our breakfasts and only ate at breakfast time so can't comment on other meal times.

Swimming pools - The time of year meant the outdoor pool looked a little cold so we only swam in the indoor pool. It was adequate size for a decent swim although I can imagine at peak times it could seem too small. The outdoor pool looked very small given the size of the hotel.

Sun lounging - we didn't really have the weather to sunbathe much (very mixed weather) but when we did we found the sun bathing areas were good sun traps. If it were high season and the hotel full these areas might not be large enough.

Bar - we only used the bar a few times early evening but found it adequately stocked and they had a good choice of cocktails. Each day had it's own cocktail of the day which was a little cheaper than usual so seemed to offer good value.

Entertainment - as we only used the bar for early evening drinks we didn't really see much of the entertainment. The bits we did see I wouldn't have rated more than 2/5 - lower than average, this may have been due to it being low season. I was disappointed that you had to pay to play snooker/billiards, especially considering it was low season and the hotel seemed barely a third full and demand was non existent.

Games room / Gym / Sauna - forget it! The gym equipment was old, tired and mostly broken, the games room seemed to consist of a table tennis table only and the sauna wasn't open while we stayed (maybe due to low season - not sure)

Wifi - good strength in the lobby area. Would be good to see this extended to all the rooms as well.

Staff - very pleasant, knowledgeable staff with helpful information on local attractions / things to do.

Courtesy bus - available about 3 times a day and was a reliable bus service (even considering it was low season and less than half dozen people were on it each day). It took around 10 minutes to get to the town centre on the bus.

Location - the hotel is quite far from the centre, we walked it a few times and seemed to take approximately 30 minutes. If you like promenade/ coastal walks then there is a fantastic walk just a few minutes from the hotel. Walk right up the coast for a good hour and half.

The hotel appeared to cater for all nationalities so if you like all British hotels this is probably not for you.

As we stayed low season it was full of 'oldies', probably having (like us) a cheap holiday! We laughed about it being a retirement hotel when we first got there however the longer we stayed the lower the average age became. By the time we left there were people (and kids) of all ages.

Would I stay again? - Yes but only with the right people. It offered us value for money for what we wanted, a more picky person would probably stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: We stayed on 13th floor and never heard a peep from anyone but the hotel was less than a third full...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrLew99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Really nice hotel with friendly staff. Room was excellent ( we were lucky enough to have 2 which were joined by a kitchenette). Balcony overlooked the sea and hotels opposite. Plenty of restaurants nearby and the Indian restaurant just a short walk from the hotel was excellent. Good servings and the best chicken tikka I have ever had. Quite a long walk into the town ( 30 to 45 minutes depending on how fit you are). We walked down but got taxis back which were reasonably priced. Bar at the hotel was good and entertainment with dancing some evenings. This was a timeshare exchange through RCI/Pestana and is one of the best exchanges I have had. Would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 weeks from 17th January. We knew the area as we have been to Madeira many times. We had room 421 which had a seaview looking down the street between the Enotel & Pestana

The room was good with a kitchenette. It was cleaned daily and we asked for a kettle and a toaster which they brought straight away. The area around the pool was small but as the hotel was quiet it wasn't a problem. There are lots of good restaurants in this area and the buses stop close by. Visit the Pingo Doce supermarket for food to take away or eat in. WiFi is only available in the lobby or bar area which is a pity it doesn't extend to the rooms

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dial1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This is the first time we have used our time share to swop for another place and we have been pleasantly surprised. Firstly, it claims to be a four star but I think it's really a good 3 star.
Firstly, we were given a warm welcome when we arrived a day late due to not being able to land at the airport. I have to say easyJet had to take us on to Tenerife where we were put up in a 5star hotel with breakfast then transferred efficiently back to Madeira.
Back to the hotel - we were staying for 3 weeks so we had emailed ahead to request that we had one room for this whole period and one that was away from the main road. These were both catered for. We had a bit of a walk to our room via 2 lifts and a corridor but the important thing was that the room was in the right place. We overlooked the pool cafe, room 460.
The room was large, clean and well furnished with modern furniture and a flat screen TV. The balcony faced the see over another hotel.
The bathroom was a bit jaded but had everything you need in a bathroom plus a good shower in the bath. I didn't even have to 'poke' out the holes in the shower head which I normally do.
The kitchen had an oven which was superfluous to requirements. We had no toaster which was disappointing as the oven just would not toast the bread so matter how much I tried!!
We had two rings, a kettle and a fridge, all fine but of course you should remember to take a few bits with you like a scratchy thing, tea towel, w'up liquid or you just buy them there.
The maids kept the room very well clean and didn't disturb us if we were up late.
We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, so I can't comment but tea and cake after 3pm for €3 was lovely. I must have managed a total of at least 3 bit cakes while I was there!!
The entertainment in the bar was a bit mediocre but they tried. The barmen need a kick up the bum, weren't very attentive & spent most of their time with elbows on the bar playing some game!!
The outdoor pool was a bit tired, tiles off round the edges but didn't really matter. Indoor pool was lovely although could have done with a few more degrees.
If you turn left out of the hotel there are many restaurants, all much of a muchness but beware the beer at the Chanceller & Granny's - €4.75 a pint, normally should be under 3.50.
If you go right out of the hotel, there are a few restaurants, beer only €2.20 a pint and a really super Shopping Centre, the Forum.
All in all, a great holiday, thanks to the Alto Lido

Room Tip: Don't have a room directly by the road, road works still ongoing
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owlly99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel! We stayed there for a week this January. WiFi is free at the lobby, and it worked just fine. Staff is helpfull and they speak good english! I wasn't so pleased to breakfast, that could been better. Coffee was not great. Room was nice with a nice ocean view. Room was cleaned good and linen was changed almost daily. Location was ok, though there was roadwork just in front of the hotel. There was a shopping mall Forum near the hotel. Lots of good restaurants on Estrada Monumental, which is the road where hotel is located. We went only to inside pool area, but it was nice. Could come here another time absolutely!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank ouzooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

The rooms were very pleasant and the staff was extremely kind. I'd like to give special props to our receptionist Patricia, who was amazing!
It has a great location and all the rooms have sea view. Wi-Fi and garage are free. :)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank jsantos15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 88 in Funchal
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Girassol
Hotel Girassol
#43 of 88 in Funchal
557 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#29 of 88 in Funchal
498 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#24 of 88 in Funchal
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Lido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Lido Hotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 316, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £55 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Lido Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Alto Lido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Lido Funchal
Alto Lido Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing