We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Flame Tree Madeira
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
110
118
69
44
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
118
69
44
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housesmall hotelbalcony sea viewbudget hotelsmall poolexcellent wifilovely terracebreakfast includedbus servicebreakfast and dinnercharming hoteltown centrecleaned every dayrelaxing breakeach eveningbus stopplenty of choice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2010

upgraded the room for a substantial fee from the onset but still found it very small,plenty of ants even in the bed,a shower tray that didn't drain, walls paper thin, lots of doors banging.lots of noise from outside like dogs barking,phone ringing bin lorries etc.Breakfast monotonous.Dinner very nice but service slow and the wrong wine was brought out twice.No little freebies at all only a foot massage.Spent quite a bit on taxis and busses as not only the hotel itself is at a height but also the street it is on.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddytulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Excellent hotel, the food was brilliant and a good choice for the evening meal. The staff were very friendly and helpfull. We hadn't paid for a balcony before we went but were given the option to upgrade for a lot less than we would have paid at home and we were offered the choice of two rooms. If we ever go back to Funchal we would stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florida3034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

OK it's a two star Residencial - but the classification is woefully inadequate for wat is a far better hotel than it is officially classified! Its a great place with all the facilities you need (Pool, Wi-Fi, Michelin Quality food etc)

We had sea view rooms - OK it's not beach front but it's on the bus route and if you want to walk its thirty minutes into town (downhill - allow an hour for coming back!).

Rooms are simple and very clean and I would recommend it to everyone wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulnpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

We returned to the Vila for the 4th time recently. We're now welcomed as friends by Tony - the owner and chef, Miguel the Gen Manager, William - deputy manager and waiters Ricardo and Nelson. You get 5* treatment here at this little 3* hotel. Let's make no bones about it, the Vila is a small hotel - the rooms are not palatial but are neat and tidy and there are no frills such as coffee & tea making nor tv. But they are all available downstairs. Eating breakfast out on the terrace is pleasant but even more pleasant are the delicious meals that Tony cooks at night - Portuguese but with a twist, absolutely delicious.

Fancy a swim? There is a pool around the back but it is small - ideal for cooling down in after walking levadas all day. Do you ache after all that walking? Sonia and / or her husband will give you an excellent massage to relieve those aches for a much more reasonable fee than in the big hotel spas.

A lot of folk have knocked this hotel for being small and not having many facilities but it is only 3*. It is up the hill at the back of Funchal but is certainly within walking distance of the city centre and you can get the 45 or 50 bus back up. In our opinion you get much more than you pay for in the service you get from all the staff here. We're already looking forward to next May but if I have some spare days holiday towards the end of the year, who knows, we might just pay a quick visit to see the Christmas lights.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

I stayed here for a week last august/sept and have booked to go back the same week this year. It is brilliant for a single traveller having the waiter service meals. The vila has a small pool, sunbathing terrace plus the usual bar ,small library and a lovely outdoor dining area. It takes about 20 mins to walk down to the Lido area but longer into the centre of Funchal. It is best to get the bus back and it only cost 90 cents. The only downside is there is nothing nearby but this didnt bother me as I was out all day and early to bed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loobylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews