We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dorisol Mimosa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
48
112
136
47
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
112
136
47
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshallow endindoor poolcourtesy busminutes walk from funchalwalking difficultieswashing up liquidfantastic holidaylocal busesroom was spotlessbars restaurantssmall kitchenstar hotelcooked breakfasteach eveningcleaned dailyhotel facilitiesplenty of choice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2008

This is the noisiest and dirtiest hotel we have ever stayed in.
Our room was the other side of a gents toilet and you could here the urinals being flushed.
We had cockroaches in the room.
The swimming pool area was dirty and a broken lamp in the pool had a jagged edge that got totally ignored by the maintenance team.
The hotel restaurant was basic and on two occassiond we witnessed the waiter returning uneaten food back to the self service food containers.
The main restaurant served a hot plate with cold food that had obviously been microwaved.

The hotel asked for any suggestions, we suggested a bulldozer and rebuild it with some of the utra stunning modern hotels close by.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

we stayed there just last week untill the 3rd july. hotel full of rude french people (old people)hotel dated and room like something out of the 1960's beds like sleeping on a bed of nails! breakfast so so.room clean enough shower would not stay on wall bath very small so if you weigh over 10 stone you will not fit in it!hotel up very steep road 137 steps to the top.!funchal its self is lovely would go again to a much better hotel give the mimosa 1 star!and it should think its self llucky.as i said never again to that hotel! still the island was great,and well worth the visit. debbs.dundee.scactland

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbsann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2008

We stayed for 2 weeks at the hotel Dorisol Mimosa and although the reviews were not good to start with, we found the hotel clean and proper. The room was big with a kitchenette that help us a lot considering we have a 2 year old baby with us. We were on the 10th floor, therefore, the views were stunning. We asked for a double room plus baby cot, but we got a triple room, so we push two beds together for the double room and the extra bed for the baby.
The bathroom was OK and all the facilties work properly. The swimming pools were clean and the heated one the one preferred by our 2 years old baby. The tennis court was used from time to time.
The hotel was not overcrowded either, therefore, no fights in the morning for sunbeds. Most of the clients were french, which did not bother us.
The only thing we have to point out is that we found the breakfast very limited (buffet with only 2 choices of hot food in the morning) but it filled the gap. The hotel is located in a hill, therefore, good exercise to push the baby all the way up everyday, however, the courtesy bus to Funchal was reliable, air conditioned and punctual, apart from pretty regular (apart from Sundays and bankholidays).
Funchal as a destination is brilliant, very relax, no drunks everywhere, no fights, excellent clima, no too hot or too cold, no over expensive either, lovely food and wine with excellent prices...
The island is clean and the gardens are amazing, the marina is a pretty side and we recommend the cable ride to the top.
Beware of the people trying to sell you timeshare which is now called Holiday Ownership, they usually stop you if you are a couple and get you involved in freebies in order to get you to the hotel to sell you a timeshare...
All along, the destination has top marks and the hotel is good for what you pay, no complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebeca74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2007

The Hotel was very good, clean and the staff were all very friendly and very helpful. Only problem that we found was that they are building next door and could be noisy. We took my elderly mother with her wheelchair. We found it very hard going mostly everywhere on the island. The main part of Funchal wasn't too steep but we were always getting funny looks from the locals, especially the children. One little girl nearly walked into a tree looking at us and not where she was going! So I would advise anyone who isn't fit or can't walk up steep hills not to go. Having said that we still had a great time and my husband has developed some good muscles pushing the wheelchair!. The courtesy bus from the hotel into the main town of Funchal was great and very frequent. The food was good in the hotel and around the town too. The Island itself is fantastic and so, so pretty. The flight in was interesting too. If you go you will find out what I mean. I would recommend the cable car and the island trips. All in all a fantastic holiday and wonderful to feel some sun.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank earwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2007

We have just returned from 3 weeks at the Mimosa and it has been a lovely holiday. I do think we made the right decision having B&B for 2 weeks and room only for the 3rd. There are so many good places to eat within a very short distance. We found our room very clean and tidy, the cooking facilities were very basic but hardly used.

I do think more warning should be given about the "last" hill, as it really is a killer! We are very fit but ended up always out of breath! I also felt mention should have been made about the building site next door which at times was annoying, but you would have been hard pressed whilst we were there to find an Hotel without one next door!

The indoor pool was lovely and we regularly had it to ourselves, the Gym looked ok but we never used it. Breakfast was adequate for us as we are cereal and toast people. The weather was excellent most of the time, just one really bad day.

We did the best of the West tour which was very good with an excellent guide. Be warned the half price trips are a con, as they say there is no such thing as a free lunch. If you can put up with 3 hours of Time Share rubbish then you have earned your trip, if not like us, just pay up and at least you will have saved yourself half a day!

Stayed: November 2007
3  Thank BarbLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews