We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Great Funchal Choice”
Review of Hotel Monte Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Monte Carlo
Ranked #66 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed 16 August 2014

When I was looking for an accommodation in Madeira I found out I had a big problem. Which concreate cube should I choose? Well, I did not have to, because I had found this hotel.

LOCATION: Best ever - if you take a bus from airport ( which costs 5 euros), than you have to take a taxi from centre (8 euros) to the hotel, it is situated in a steap hill. Later it is a nice walk, but the baggage the first day....thanks to that location the hotel has a wonderful view over the old city.

ACCOMMODATION : The hotel itself looks like a house from the 1900´s. Lovely! Seems to have a soul. We had a room in the outside building with a balcony. We could not have better one. Can you imagine the evening dinner sitting on the balcony overlooking the pool?? We did enjoy it.

ROOMS: The hotel was clean, the bed was not soft ( we did like it).

SERVICE : Kind and helpful staff

Well, an overview : It is a three star hotel, do not expect a luxury service and accommodation. BUT If you look for a hotel with a soul, kind service and stuff situated in a historical city centre, trust me, that is the best choice. WE WERE MORE THAN SATISFIED.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Malamoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Although this hotel has a certain old charm on the exterior, our stay here was terrible. Upon arrival the rooms we booked were not available (we booked 1x twin, 1x double and there were no twins) - and the employee told us it was not sure that the rooms we booked would be available during our 6 day stay.
The room was very cramped, and had a strong odor. Upon inspection of the bathroom, we saw multiple fungi spots. The employee denied that there was a odor, nor fungi when showing him.
The electrical wiring was loose in the room and a sure fire hazard.
The floors are squeaky and you can hear every step in the hotel.
The bed was dirty and had a few stains.
We chose to sleep (as it was late) and complain the next morning.
However ... we were woken during the night with a lot of flea/bed bug bites and went to the employee on night shift. He didn't seem to care at all, so we checked out at 3AM and found a normal hotel.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yotam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is a lovely hotel with great staff and a wonderful atmosphere. Much more authentic and real than most of the rest of Funchal, where bland touristy restaurants and hotels rule. The views over the island are amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wombatwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Hotel is situated quite high up, so it has a fantastic view over the town. It's about a 15-minute walk down to the central market through interesting back streets. It has parking for 7 cars, and the staff will help if you need to park elsewhere. Our room was clean, but quite sparsely furnished. The bed was firm, but comfy. There is a large terrace at the front of the hotel where you can have breakfast or a drink from the bar. The hotel pool has fantastic views over the town, and also catches the sun in the afternoon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank db82407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I spent a week in late March 2014 with my fiancee at The Monte Carlo and had a mainly enjoyable stay.
The hotel in situated near the centre of the bustling Madeiran capital of Funchal, with it's steep, narrow, cobbled streets, lots of friendly bars, restaurants and cake shops. Every single Madeiran I met during our stay was pleasant, from the waiters, airport workers, shop assistants and the public in general. You also notice how clean the streets are, no litter or dog mess. Although I practiced my Portuguese phrases, most people spoke very good English.
The hotel itself was built in 1910 and to be honest it hasn't really changed much! It seems to have retained the charm of a distant age and I wouldn't mind betting it was THE place to stay at one time. There's a tiny car-park where the young woman on reception maneuvers the cars around whilst your back is turned and somehow manages to squeeze 8 cars in. The sun terrace in front of the hotel is the perfect place to take breakfast with a wonderful view of the rising sun, sea, harbour and the many red-tiled roofs of the nearby houses & apartment blocks. There's a small bar to the right of reception where a very potent version of the local brew Poncha is prepared. There is quite a large, but mainly redundant dining area to the left of reception. Breakfast is sparse to say the least, but what do you need for breakfast apart from lots of coffee and a boiled egg sandwich? They do serve evening meals if required but we didn't sample the delights.
Our room 6 was reasonable large with twin beds, large wardrobe, beautiful window with city/sea view. There was a TV which we didn't really bother with and we were lent a hair-dryer for the duration of our stay. The bathroom with the usual midget shower (I'm 6'1") was a little tired, but clean. Our room was serviced every day and we received a full set of fresh towels every day.
On the top floor and kinda bolted onto one side of the hotel is the sun- terrace and small swimming pool, although nobody was brave or stupid enough to take a dip as the weather wasn't that hot. Temperatures got up to 20/22 degrees by lunchtime which was very pleasant and the sunlight was strong enough to give me a touch of sunburn. The weather tends to cloud-over in the afternoon at that time of the year.
I suppose the best part of the hotel is it's staff, from the lovely and friendly receptionist, the barman/waiter who it seems never sleeps, to the mysterious owner who can be seen at all hours helping out and chatting to the guests whilst wearing the same, over-size, brown corduroy jacket.
I'm so glad we chose to stay at this hotel instead of some soul-less concrete block in the main tourist area a few kilometres out of town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed here for the first, second and final nights of our week touring Madeira. Rooms clean and comfortable and breakfast on the sunny terrace with panoramic views over Funchal was a treat. We arrived late ( 9pm) and hungry, but the very obliging staff soon came up with a hot sandwich. The car park will take 7 cars max., and the last one in is the only one that can leave easily. Car keys have to be left with reception for shunting purposes. Didn't try hotel restaurant but a plethora of restaurants in the old town, reached by a 20 min stroll downhill. Taxi back averaged 7 euros. Hotel continental breakfast average but perfectly adequate. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeeJay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Arriving at this palace-like place was like stepping back in time. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed drinks and breakfast at the terrace outside the hotel. Splendid view and very romantic - Would love to come back!

Room Tip: It´s worth to pay extra to get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norachavannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 mi away
The Flame Tree Madeira
The Flame Tree Madeira
#52 of 88 in Funchal
347 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residencial Parque
Residencial Parque
#64 of 88 in Funchal
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#29 of 88 in Funchal
516 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Imperatriz
Aparthotel Imperatriz
#55 of 88 in Funchal
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Orquidea
Hotel Orquidea
#62 of 88 in Funchal
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Carlo

Address: Calcada Saude 10 | PO Box 4507, Funchal, Madeira 9000-221, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Price Range: £31 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within a previous Palace of Funchal’s charming and historic town centre, the Monte Carlo Hotel promises affordable accommodation and relaxing panoramic views of the bay of Funchal, and the Ocean. It’s located next to some main heritage and cultural points of Funchal, and Monte Carlo offers a relaxing stay, after exploring the magnificent island of Madeira. It takes only 5 walking minutes to reach the center and Marina, and there is a mini bus coming up to the Hotel Street every 30 minutes. The hotel provides a buffet breakfast, a living and games room with TV, a bar with Snack meals, as well as Wines and cocktails. At Monte Carlo you can enjoy a charming and friendly stay, in a unique place in Madeira. There is an exclusive esplanade, and on the top an outdoor swimming pool open all year, with a great view to see fireworks festivities in winter. The rooms are restful, cozy, equipped with a complete bathroom, telephone and TV. Some cultural events take place in the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Funchal
Hotel Monte Carlo Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing