We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Four Views Monumental Lido
Nearby Hotels
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$400
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$342
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,265)
Filter reviews
1,265 results
Traveller rating
458
592
158
46
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
592
158
46
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringhalf boardsea viewpool areasmall shoppingplenty of sunbedsplenty of choiceshopping centrebusy roadnightly entertainmenthappy tourscable carfish disheslovely hotelfourth floorsun loungersturn right
Filter
Updating list...
515 - 520 of 1,265 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014


We came to this Hotel especially to see the re-furbishments after its closure late 2013. The Hotel opened to the staff few days before we arrived March 3rd and we are still here at the time of these comments.

We were totally gob smacked as they say in the UK. They have done a fabulous job in the short time they had and opened on time. This of course left a few small problems that needed finishing, like the new TV powering up. Everything we listed was was fixed within a very short time the same day.

People who visit for the first time should not be disappointed as almost everything has been changed for the better, Readers who read old reports will be in for a big surprise. New pool area. New open reception layout.
Better lounge-bar and entertainment area. The Management have obviously listened to the visitors.

Regular returning visitors are in for a big surprise. The rooms are beautiful with new bathrooms. The showers are outstanding albeit the rooms are the same size in most cases. The Hotels outward structural appearance has not changed other than a few modifications to the higher balconies and a excellent paint job keeping its iconic and Monumental status in the land of Hotels.

The staff are the same people who remain as welcoming as usual. Even they love the new look.

Well done everyone who has made the difference and if you ask why I haven't added photographs, you need to see for yourself. We will be back in April for more of the same.





















Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank MikeM504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

We are really happy to read such a lovely commentaries about our hotel.
It is true everything you have mentioned, everything is new, the Pool, the Spa, the Restaurant. We also have made a few improvements In energy, a total refurbishing and renovations in all rooms and apartments, new accessible rooms for disabled guests, superior and junior suites.

New communicating system, new garden areas with endemic local plants and flowers, organic farm.

Everything you love about is still here and we have now new facilities to provide our guest an enjoyable Holiday.


Thank you very much for your kind words, we really look forward to see you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just to let people know that I have stayed in this hotel before and enjoyed my stay, I walked by it tonight and it has been closed for refurbishment, interested to hear what people think of it once it reopens

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank walkingmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Not long back from a long stay holiday in this hotel. We have stayed here before and always enjoy our stays. We particularly appreciate the location, on the flat, and bus stops to and from town are just outside. The rooms are kept immaculately clean by the friendly maids. Linen and towels were changed daily.We both enjoy the food, particularly the soups and salads. We sometimes swop dinner for lunch and that was also fine. When there I had a real problem with My IPad and reception went 'above and beyond' to help. In fact we find all staff we come into contact friendly and helpful. We were some of the last guests to leave before they closed for a major refurb and it was quite strange to see the hotel being closed up around us. Although there was obviously work going on we weren't disturbed by it at all.
As I have said in a previous review we think it is terrific value for money and the people who work there really make it special. I hate picking out individuals as everyone is so helpful, but, the head barman is an absolute true gent who has been very kind and helpful over the years.
Good luck with the refurb and we will be back next year to see the 'new' Fourviews Monumental.

Room Tip: Sea view on eighth floor is our favourite
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Calderglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We had a room on the ninth floor with sea view, the room and bathroom were both a good size and I understand the hotel is due a major refurbishment, however when we booked a year ago we were led to believe the refurbishment would be completed by now and hence the room and bathroom were both looking tired.
We had booked a seaview room and the view is good, however being at the front of the hotel you also get a lot of road noise all day from buses and cars and then the rubbish carts doing their late night collections. This did not make for a restful holiday.
The food in the hotel is fine but we found it a bit boring after a few days and even though we were half board resorted to eating out and trying local restuarants. The hotel food was basically a variety of meat and fish everynight in different sauces which was probably used to stop the food drying out - the best thing in the restaurant was the bread.
Finally on check out, we asked how many bottles of water we had used, the maids very kindly left water in the room a couple of times in the week which we presumed was complimentary, it was not and we were expected to pay for it - the water should have a lable on it with a price but ours did not and we refused to pay, a lady checking out at the same time did pay even though she was not expecting to.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have a good view but are noisy with the doors open.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Canvey_group
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed there from the 15/10/13 till the 25/10/13. My first stay at this hotel. The room was well thought out with a kitchen, toaster, microwave, two ring hob,and electric kettle. Very clean but now looking very tired indeed.Had to move to another room as A/C did not work,and this room was looking the same. Chamber maid very friendly and helpful, and was aloud to see a new finished suite, which looked very smart, in black stone work tops, flat screen tv ( lounge and bedroom) Front of house staff were ok and helpful, (well some were) As the hotel was closing down, when guest left the renovation started, banging till gone six o'clock some nights, just the thing you don't need on holiday. Stay B/B, waiting staff very friendly when you spoke to them, breakfast not to bad. Would i stay there again? Yes,when it has been totally renovated it will be like a new hotel, just hope they get new towels has well.

Room Tip: Go for a suite
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevor_tuckwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews