We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Four Views Monumental Lido
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Funchal(Madeira)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
    Suite Hotel Eden Mar(Funchal)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Porto Mare Hotel(Funchal)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Reviews (1,257)
    Filter reviews
    1,257 results
    Traveller rating
    454
    588
    158
    46
    11
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    454
    588
    158
    46
    11
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsself cateringhalf boardsea viewpool areasmall shoppingplenty of sunbedsplenty of choiceshopping centrebusy roadnightly entertainmenthappy tourscable carfish disheslovely hotelfourth floorsun loungersturn right
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    511 - 516 of 1,257 reviews
    Reviewed 6 March 2014

    We arrived at the Four Views Monumental on the 3rd March for a two week holiday booked with Thomas Cook. Two of the main reasons for booking were the recent comprehensive refurbishment and the newly equipped gym.
    From the outset it was apparent the refurbishment was still ongoing with the constant hammering and drilling being complemented by the smell of fresh paint and varnish. On entering our room we were met with wires hanging out of the wall, the TV laying face down on the suitcase holder and light bulbs were missing. An added irritation was that the gym was still in development and resembled a workshop rather than a workout centre. The following morning we had no hot water.
    The Thomas Cook representative faced a number of angry guests during her meet and greet and it actually got quite heated, unlike the water. Although non of the problems raised were her fault it did seem the odds were against her when the drilling started mid way through and then the electricity went off. It seemed like a sketch from 'Benidorm' which was even more amusing when she told a guest who stood up twice to raise complaints that whilst his behaviour may be acceptable in Benidorm it was not acceptable in Madeira !!! She did however resolve the hot water problem very quickly but many other factors were out of her control. Such as the food not being labelled and frequently being lukewarm.
    I am writing this now because yesterday I started to write and then we decided to give the hotel an opportunity to finish the work before writing a review, but have just come back to even more problems it seemed appropriate to write. Yesterday we came back at 4pm to face three hours of hammering from the floor above, and a phone call to reception had no effect. This morning from 9 until we went out at eleven it was constant drilling. On returning today we had to advise reception that for the second time the room key card was not working and an engineer came to the room and reset the card reader. Great we thought a relaxing coffee and read our books on the balcony, but low and behold there are now three workmen in the corridor removing all the presumably newly fitted door illumination panels.
    The bottom line is that the hotel opened too soon and Thomas Cook should not have taken taken bookings until they new it was ready. We only booked 10 days before the trip so Thomas Cook should have known and advised us accordingly. Three days of our break have been significantly disrupted due to being placed in an unfinished hotel, which is a real shame because in a few weeks time The Four Views will be really nice. The staff, especially those in reception are very helpful and try their best, but they must be feeling the pressure of constant complaints.
    Once complete the hotel facilities will be very good and the rooms are bright and obviously have a new feel to them.
    If your coming next week don't be put off because hopefully the majority of issues will be resolved by then. But if your coming tomorrow think twice.
    PS - the gym opened today but there is no information to tell anyone, but them again there is no hotel information available anywhere accept asking the hard working rep or receptionists.

    Sent from my iPad

    Room Tip: rear rooms are in shade all day but nice and quiet.
    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Dave-Maria
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

    We are sorry to read that you felt that Fourviewshotels Monumental Hotel did not came up to your expectations.

    We have refurbish our hotel in order to please our Guest and to offer them a memorable stay.

    It is true what you wrote, we had little issues on the first week and we can assure you that in this moment everything has been solved out. The rooms are in perfect conditions and the Gym is working fine with plenty of Guests using the facilities.

    We understand your concerning and we would be very pleased if you could give us the opportunity to welcome you again in our Hotel.

    This way you could feel that everything is working properly and that your words have also been very important for improving our service.

    Madeira is such a perfect destination that we want our guest to feel as comfortable as they are at home.

    Thank you very much for taking the time to write about our Hotel.

    We hope that on your next visit we will be able to offer you a memorable stay.

    Best regards,

    Duarte Ferreira
    Guest Relations.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 March 2014


    We came to this Hotel especially to see the re-furbishments after its closure late 2013. The Hotel opened to the staff few days before we arrived March 3rd and we are still here at the time of these comments.

    We were totally gob smacked as they say in the UK. They have done a fabulous job in the short time they had and opened on time. This of course left a few small problems that needed finishing, like the new TV powering up. Everything we listed was was fixed within a very short time the same day.

    People who visit for the first time should not be disappointed as almost everything has been changed for the better, Readers who read old reports will be in for a big surprise. New pool area. New open reception layout.
    Better lounge-bar and entertainment area. The Management have obviously listened to the visitors.

    Regular returning visitors are in for a big surprise. The rooms are beautiful with new bathrooms. The showers are outstanding albeit the rooms are the same size in most cases. The Hotels outward structural appearance has not changed other than a few modifications to the higher balconies and a excellent paint job keeping its iconic and Monumental status in the land of Hotels.

    The staff are the same people who remain as welcoming as usual. Even they love the new look.

    Well done everyone who has made the difference and if you ask why I haven't added photographs, you need to see for yourself. We will be back in April for more of the same.





















    Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    5  Thank MikeM504
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

    We are really happy to read such a lovely commentaries about our hotel.
    It is true everything you have mentioned, everything is new, the Pool, the Spa, the Restaurant. We also have made a few improvements In energy, a total refurbishing and renovations in all rooms and apartments, new accessible rooms for disabled guests, superior and junior suites.

    New communicating system, new garden areas with endemic local plants and flowers, organic farm.

    Everything you love about is still here and we have now new facilities to provide our guest an enjoyable Holiday.


    Thank you very much for your kind words, we really look forward to see you again in our Hotel.

    Best regards,

    Duarte Ferreira
    Guest Relations.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 December 2013

    Just to let people know that I have stayed in this hotel before and enjoyed my stay, I walked by it tonight and it has been closed for refurbishment, interested to hear what people think of it once it reopens

    Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    6  Thank walkingmama
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 November 2013

    Not long back from a long stay holiday in this hotel. We have stayed here before and always enjoy our stays. We particularly appreciate the location, on the flat, and bus stops to and from town are just outside. The rooms are kept immaculately clean by the friendly maids. Linen and towels were changed daily.We both enjoy the food, particularly the soups and salads. We sometimes swop dinner for lunch and that was also fine. When there I had a real problem with My IPad and reception went 'above and beyond' to help. In fact we find all staff we come into contact friendly and helpful. We were some of the last guests to leave before they closed for a major refurb and it was quite strange to see the hotel being closed up around us. Although there was obviously work going on we weren't disturbed by it at all.
    As I have said in a previous review we think it is terrific value for money and the people who work there really make it special. I hate picking out individuals as everyone is so helpful, but, the head barman is an absolute true gent who has been very kind and helpful over the years.
    Good luck with the refurb and we will be back next year to see the 'new' Fourviews Monumental.

    Room Tip: Sea view on eighth floor is our favourite
    • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank Calderglen
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 November 2013

    We had a room on the ninth floor with sea view, the room and bathroom were both a good size and I understand the hotel is due a major refurbishment, however when we booked a year ago we were led to believe the refurbishment would be completed by now and hence the room and bathroom were both looking tired.
    We had booked a seaview room and the view is good, however being at the front of the hotel you also get a lot of road noise all day from buses and cars and then the rubbish carts doing their late night collections. This did not make for a restful holiday.
    The food in the hotel is fine but we found it a bit boring after a few days and even though we were half board resorted to eating out and trying local restuarants. The hotel food was basically a variety of meat and fish everynight in different sauces which was probably used to stop the food drying out - the best thing in the restaurant was the bread.
    Finally on check out, we asked how many bottles of water we had used, the maids very kindly left water in the room a couple of times in the week which we presumed was complimentary, it was not and we were expected to pay for it - the water should have a lable on it with a price but ours did not and we refused to pay, a lady checking out at the same time did pay even though she was not expecting to.

    Room Tip: Sea view rooms have a good view but are noisy with the doors open.
    • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Canvey_group
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews