We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well situated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Views Monumental Lido
Ranked #30 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very well situated”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I had 9 days here and on first thoughts were that the some reception staff were not that welcoming or happy looking, and the self catering room was not already made up for 3 guest on our arrival. Once the sofa bed was made up there was not really much room for 3 adults as it was just 1 room and a bathroom. The balcony was only big enough for 2 people. The kitchenette was small but functional with a great combi/microwave oven.
Although our veiw was not of the sea (room 106) there was minimal noise at night.
The big flat screen TV had many english speaking channels. The house keeper come every day but you had an option to change that.
The pool was great in doors and out and the jaccuzi was lovely. For the steam rooms there was a small charge.
The whole hotel was spotless and the breakfast was so nice! So much ffod to choose from :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tray70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel.

We have read your commentary and we feel not to fill up your hotel expectations.

Normally most of our Guest mention the sympathy of the staff, so our truly apologies for this matter has it must have been a onetime situation.

We appreciate the words you have written regarding our breakfast. And we understand that in a general way you had an enthusiastic holiday.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your holidays destination.

We hope we can get the chance to see you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    521
    146
    45
    10
See reviews for
167
718
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have passed 1 full week. The hotel is perfectly located. Rooms are very clean (always very clean and not only the first day. Actually, the cleaning staff was very good and very nice). The food was great, especially the breakfast :) More than excellent quality over price ratio... We had free internet access in the room..... To recap, we had an excellent stay, and we are more than satisfied

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor regarding our hotel.

We feel truly happy to read such an enthusiastic commentary.

Thank you very much for having the time to comment and for helping our hotel to grow sharing your experience with the world.

Looking forward to see you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Upon arrival we were apprehensive on seeing outside of hotel. How mistaken we were!! A fabulous holiday was had in a very clean and friendly hotel. Our only concern was the extreme rudeness of some of the German visitors and we were made to feel like 2nd class citizens. The only other very small issue was after asking 3 times we were still unable to get wi fi in our room. We will certainly revisit the hotel in the near future. Thank you

Room Tip: The 9th floor sea view is excellent. No noise and lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that generally you have enjoyed your holidays.

Regarding the information you wrote we are sorry for the Wi-Fi, has we had a little issue in the internet that has been resolved. Now every room has free Wi-Fi access.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your holiday’s destination.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crediton
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel is much improved since re-furbishment. The knobs on the interior of the toilets next to reception need replacing because they are far too small and difficult to grasp particularly after washing your hands. A simple task which would cost very little.

Room Tip: 6th 7th or 8th floor with sea view are the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel in tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your holidays with us.

Regarding the little detail you have informed us about the knobs, we are already providing a substitute ones larger to hold.

Thank you very much.

We hope we get the chance to see you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

we just came back from our 1 week holiday. we where very impressed with the whole experience . the hotel is perfectly located in the hotel quarter of funchal. the rooms are very clean and modern. the food is very nice. you have a choice of meats and fish every day. you can get some food fron the pasta station too. it can get a bit crowded around the buffet as there are a few groups in the hotel too. the pool area is very tidy and clean. the pool is nice and warm around 20 - 24 celsius. all staff a very friendly.
thank you very much to everybody for the good time we had.

Helpful?
2 Thank toobster
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you very much for your commentaries regarding our hotel in Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your experience with us and that we have been up to your expectations.

The words you have used to describe your experience are lovely to read. Thank you very much for sharing with the world such an enthusiastic commentary.

We hope to accommodate you in a near future.


Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just returned from a two week stay at this hotel It was probably the cleanest and friendliness place we have stayed in for a long time We had a good room at the back overlooking beautiful gardens and even though a road below created some road noise at night with the balcony door shut and air conditioning on we could hardly hear it Whilst all the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful two gentlemen were exceptionally good Duarte (Customer relations) and Paulo (Restaurant manager) excelled themselves consistently-the latter particularly on my wife's birthday The only negative comment would be regarding the temperature of the food and the lack of choice- it was generally the same all the time Perhaps some theme evenings could be considered i.e Madeira night Indian night Italian night etc Otherwise keep up the good work!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bernard g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

It is with great pleasure that we read that you have enjoyed your holidays with us.

The words that you have used to describe our hotel are fantastic and we feel honored to read such an enthusiastic commentary.

Thank you for the kind words regarding our service, myself and our colleagues I will make sure that Paulo will read your nice review.

Regarding the food we now have the possibility to offer our Guests a second choice, there is always a different Menu every Tuesday (Fish lovers, where you can choose 1 from 5 different types of fishes and it includes the starter buffet, the main course, dessert, house wine or beer, mineral water and coffee) and on Friday (Meat lovers, where you can choose 1 from 5 different types of meat, the starter buffet, the main course, dessert, house wine, beer, mineral water and coffee).

Thank you once again for your kind words and for choosing our hotel for your holidays destination.

We hope we get the chance to see you again.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just back from our first visit to the newly renovated Fourviews Monumental, although we have stayed many times before it was renovated. We both loved many of the new things. The rooms are modern, comfortable and look so much bigger. The new pool and pool area are lovely and Reception is now very bright and modern looking. The apartments have also been renovated and ours very comfortable and well equipped. Beds were comfortable and it had lovely new comfy pillows the maid service every day was excellent. Unfortunately there were roadworks on the road outside during our visit, so our balcony was unusable for lots of the time. To the Hotel's credit they did offer to move us, in hindsight we should have accepted their offer. I think the roadworks started the day we arrived and were almost finished the day we left! Speaking to other guests who were in the hotel rooms or studios which are set further back, the noise didn't seem to carry so badly to there, so we were just unlucky. We only found 2 negatives, food preferences are a very subjective thing and unfortunately neither of us enjoyed the food very much. We both thought that the choices, although vast, contained too many competing flavours and we found it difficult to make a full meal that we enjoyed. Also, we quite often found the hot choices not to be hot enough, but we do like our food piping hot. On a few occasions we swapped dinner for lunch and found this worked well for us as the food at lunchtime was freshly prepared, simpler and hot. We do realise that they are trying to cater for many different nationalities and we're sure that lots of people enjoyed the food, it just wasn't for us. The other negative, for us, was the evening bar area. We thought it was too big, too brightly lit and lacking atmosphere. I believe they are aware of this and are planning changes to this area. Although we didn't like the bar area, most of the entertainment was enjoyable for us. Charlie and partner who performed Tuesday and Thursday were particularly good.
It's quite difficult to review somewhere you have known for so long and has changed so much, but, we think we have been very fair in our assessment.
During our stay every member of staff we dealt with was friendly, helpful and lovely to deal with. The fabulous staff(all of them)was the one thing that hasn't changed.
We will be back, but perhaps bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: We prefer the Seaview rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Calderglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

We feel happy to read that in a general way you have enjoyed your stay and that you found that the renewing was worth it and needed.

Has we previously spoke there are certain areas that we are still working on, in this particular case our Restaurant and Bar.

Regarding the food it is s bit of a sensitive case has we are also receiving very good comments, has our Guest opinion matter now we have available the Meat Lovers (every Friday day) and the Fish lovers day (every Tuesday) so that the Guests can have another possibility to choose from.

The bar itself we understand that it is not as crowded as it used to be, for this matter we are working on new possibilities and for sure that when you visit us again everything will be in order.

Thank you very much for visiting us again and for always choosing Fourviews Monumental for your holidays destination.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
1.0 mi away
Four Views Baia
Four Views Baia
#27 of 86 in Funchal
761 reviews
6.2 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
727 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#41 of 86 in Funchal
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 86 in Funchal
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Views Monumental Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Monumental Lido

Property: Four Views Monumental Lido
Address: Estrada Monumental 284, Funchal, Madeira 9004-541, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Funchal
#29 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#30 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Monumental Lido 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Four Views Monumental Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Views Monumental Lido
Four Views Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Hotel Monumental Lido
Monumental Lido Madeira
Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Four Views Monumental Lido Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing