We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location nice hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Views Monumental Lido
Ranked #30 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Location nice hotel!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a nice hotel but in comparison to others in the area, there are better 4 star options. I understand it has recently undergone a refurbishment in the apartment we had i must say was very nice.i found the staff on the desk to be very helpful. The pool is adequate but lacks atmosphere. The week we stayed there were road works outside the hotel , very noisy, dusty, and rendered the balcony unusable 7am to 8pm, not the hotels fault, but very disappointing. I think by the end of July they should have passed the hotel. We had an apartment on the second floor. Wifi is free but very poor in the rooms you have to be in reception to use your device.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you very much for writing a review regarding our hotel.

It is with an unhappy feeling that we read that we have not fulfilled your expectations.

We understand your opinion regarding the noise s from the road words outside the hotel, unfortunately it is not our fault but we understand that it has been unpleased during your holidays.

The internet connections problems are being solve with the outsourcing company that provides this service.

Once again our truly apologies for this little inconvenience.

We hope we can get the chance to see you again in our hotel.
Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    530
    148
    45
    10
See reviews for
176
727
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My partner and I stayed in fourviews monumental for tree weeks and what a great holiday we had this hotel is top end of 4 star.The food is first class never seen so many choices for all the meals even bubbly for breakfast.All the staff are so helpful and also friendly.We both would like to say a special thankyou to Duarte for being so helpful he is a credit to the company.I we do go back to madeira this hotel would be the one we would stay.Satisfied from Norfolk

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you very much for having the time to write such a lovely review regarding our hotel.
The words you have used to describe your stay have been fantastic.

We are really happy that you have enjoyed your hollidays, thank you for your kind commentary regarding myself, It has been a pleasure to meet you and we will certainly keep in touch.

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your holiday’s destination.

We hope we get the chance to see you again.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Everything is great other than a relatively unpredictable and slow WiFi connection. Staff are friendly, indoor and outdoor pools are very nice. Breakfast is excellent and location is perfect.

I would certainly consider staying again in my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustinWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you very much for your comments on trip advisor regarding our hotel.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your holidays with us and our breakfast.
Thank you for sharing your kind words regarding our hotel with the world.

We hope we can get the chance to see you again.
Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I had 9 days here and on first thoughts were that the some reception staff were not that welcoming or happy looking, and the self catering room was not already made up for 3 guest on our arrival. Once the sofa bed was made up there was not really much room for 3 adults as it was just 1 room and a bathroom. The balcony was only big enough for 2 people. The kitchenette was small but functional with a great combi/microwave oven.
Although our veiw was not of the sea (room 106) there was minimal noise at night.
The big flat screen TV had many english speaking channels. The house keeper come every day but you had an option to change that.
The pool was great in doors and out and the jaccuzi was lovely. For the steam rooms there was a small charge.
The whole hotel was spotless and the breakfast was so nice! So much ffod to choose from :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tray70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel.

We have read your commentary and we feel not to fill up your hotel expectations.

Normally most of our Guest mention the sympathy of the staff, so our truly apologies for this matter has it must have been a onetime situation.

We appreciate the words you have written regarding our breakfast. And we understand that in a general way you had an enthusiastic holiday.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your holidays destination.

We hope we can get the chance to see you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have passed 1 full week. The hotel is perfectly located. Rooms are very clean (always very clean and not only the first day. Actually, the cleaning staff was very good and very nice). The food was great, especially the breakfast :) More than excellent quality over price ratio... We had free internet access in the room..... To recap, we had an excellent stay, and we are more than satisfied

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor regarding our hotel.

We feel truly happy to read such an enthusiastic commentary.

Thank you very much for having the time to comment and for helping our hotel to grow sharing your experience with the world.

Looking forward to see you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Upon arrival we were apprehensive on seeing outside of hotel. How mistaken we were!! A fabulous holiday was had in a very clean and friendly hotel. Our only concern was the extreme rudeness of some of the German visitors and we were made to feel like 2nd class citizens. The only other very small issue was after asking 3 times we were still unable to get wi fi in our room. We will certainly revisit the hotel in the near future. Thank you

Room Tip: The 9th floor sea view is excellent. No noise and lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that generally you have enjoyed your holidays.

Regarding the information you wrote we are sorry for the Wi-Fi, has we had a little issue in the internet that has been resolved. Now every room has free Wi-Fi access.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your holiday’s destination.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crediton
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel is much improved since re-furbishment. The knobs on the interior of the toilets next to reception need replacing because they are far too small and difficult to grasp particularly after washing your hands. A simple task which would cost very little.

Room Tip: 6th 7th or 8th floor with sea view are the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel in tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your holidays with us.

Regarding the little detail you have informed us about the knobs, we are already providing a substitute ones larger to hold.

Thank you very much.

We hope we get the chance to see you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
1.0 mi away
Four Views Baia
Four Views Baia
#26 of 86 in Funchal
784 reviews
6.2 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
749 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#44 of 86 in Funchal
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#42 of 86 in Funchal
604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 86 in Funchal
240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Views Monumental Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Monumental Lido

Property: Four Views Monumental Lido
Address: Estrada Monumental 284, Funchal, Madeira 9004-541, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Funchal
#29 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#30 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Monumental Lido 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Views Monumental Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Views Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
4 Views Monumental Lido
Hotel Monumental Lido
Monumental Lido Madeira
Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Four Views Monumental Lido Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing