We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD MODERN HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Views Monumental Lido
Ranked #31 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We returned after a week at this hotel and can only echo most of the positives that many other guests have stated about this hotel. It has been modernised so the rooms are comfortable with new bathrooms - beware the water pressure though as it can result in the inadequate shower head spraying everywhere if turned on too high! We had room 719 with mountain view and it overlooked a lovely little church with pretty gardens. The air-con works well during the day and the fan drowns out any road noise if the door to the balcony is shut. However, we discovered that they turn off the cooling at night so the fan alone is needed to keep the room cool and we reported that it can get uncomfortably warm in the middle of the night but heard no more! Their beds are very hard, and my wife who suffers with a bad back was in a lot of discomfort by the end of our holiday. I like a hard bed so this was not a problem for me!

Their swimming pool is lovely and the fresh water is warmed to 24c, with plenty of sunbeds available for all guests. In fact there are terraces in many areas for those who just like to sunbathe, and parasols for those, like us, who prefer to avoid prolonged exposure to the sun! The indoor pool is small but they also have a spa and a steam room for guests to enjoy.

The hotel is in a good location about two miles West of Funchal and has an abundance of restaurants as well as shops nearby. There is a good supermarket, Pingo Doce, in the Shopping Centre directly opposite, and down to the rear, overlooking a car park near the lido. We walked into Funchal (turn left out of Reception) regularly and it takes around 40 minutes with one steep decline/incline as you near the Town Centre. For those who cannot walk, there are buses that will take you into the town for just E1.90 pp each way. A shorter and mostly level walk to the right of the hotel will get you to the Forum Shopping Centre where they have a C&A Store which many 'Seniors' will remember!

All staff at this hotel are friendly, although they do seem to favour those who are in the majority and obviously give the repeat customers, of whom there are many, special treatment. There is a good variety of food but it got a little boring towards the end of our holiday. We like peri peri chicken from Nandos and thought they may offer that to guests on at least one of the nights we were there, but disappointingly not - the best you can expect is some sweet chilli sauce to spice-up the bland food. My wife celebrated her 60th birthday while we were there, and the hotel did treat her to a bottle of 'bubbly' on the evening of her birthday - very nice gesture!

It is unfair to comment on the weather because the hotel has no control over this, but guests to the Funchal area need to be aware that it can be overcast most mornings. It usually brightens-up and is sunny most afternoons. This is great for the walks into town as it only gets uncomfortably warm on the return journey, by which time you are ready for a nice beer or three!! For those who enjoy a good cup of coffee, go to the Ravioli Cafe around the back of the hotel - they serve lovely cakes with good coffee for under E2 - well worth the short walk!!

Room Tip: The higher floors are obviously better, and seaview for those who want this extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank KenLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your holidays in our hotel.

We have enjoyed mostly the words you wrote about our hotel, and It is important for us that in a general way you have enjoyed our holidays.

Regarding the service itself, we always tend to help all the guest in every way we can, we treat everyone the same, it could be natural that the repeated Guest have a bit more time speaking with us has it is not the first time that we have a dialogue with them and most of them are close to all our staff.

We found also interesting the little tips you have mentioned regarding Funchal town.

Thank you very much for your visit, for your time writing about our hotel.

We hope we can get the chance to see you again.

Best regards,

Duarte Fereira
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We Have been back a few days from holiday, this was my 3rd visit to the four views, I was really happy with the hotel as it was but the refurbishment is absolutely fantastic, the rooms are fantastic the bathrooms absolutely top quality. Our maid Carla did a fantastic job everywhere was spotless. we were on the 7th floor with mountain view though the road runs below once the door is shut silence. Air con works a treat, kettle and fridge in room much appreciated.
Staff are all pleasant polite and helpful, nice to see the manager wondering around the hotel speaking to anyone and everyone in so many different languages! The restaurant food is top quality and so much choice, (though I do agree with other comments the drinks are a little pricey)
The pool area is lovely and relaxing no problem getting a sun bed, all clean and welcoming.
We look forward to another visit next year (hopefully the works along the sea front will be finished by then most disappointing to only see a concrete wall the entire length blocking all views of where the yachts etc are usually moored).

Room Tip: floor 5 and up offer good views of the sea at the front of the hotel, floor 7 and up at the rear not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel.

It is very pleasant to read such an enthusiastic e-mail.

Thank you for the kind words regarding the hotel and regarding the staff.

It is words like the ones you wrote that makes us believe that our daily work is well worth it.
Thank you so much.

We hope we can get the chance to see you again, until then I’ll leave you with my best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just back from this hotel for a weeks holiday. I would echo everyone's comments on this site. Very clean, ideally situated near enough to Funchal to be out of the hustle and bustle. Only issue I would suggest but it's not really a negative is that the price of the drinks in the restaurant are a bit pricey. All the meals we have had are of high quality and plenty of selection and they made my husbands birthday a very special evening with champagne and Madeiran wine....thank you.
The road out the front was being dug up at the time we were there but within the hotel we didn't notice it at all...not even by the pool.
Overall an excellent hotel and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it .

Room Tip: The mountain view rooms are just as nice as the pool/ sea view ones and very quiet. If you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val023_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your holidays.

It is with a happy feeling that we read that you would love to come back, and we would love to accommodate you back.

The road works are over in front of the hotel so everything looks even nicer.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays destination.

We hope we get the chance to see you again.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a nice hotel but in comparison to others in the area, there are better 4 star options. I understand it has recently undergone a refurbishment in the apartment we had i must say was very nice.i found the staff on the desk to be very helpful. The pool is adequate but lacks atmosphere. The week we stayed there were road works outside the hotel , very noisy, dusty, and rendered the balcony unusable 7am to 8pm, not the hotels fault, but very disappointing. I think by the end of July they should have passed the hotel. We had an apartment on the second floor. Wifi is free but very poor in the rooms you have to be in reception to use your device.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you very much for writing a review regarding our hotel.

It is with an unhappy feeling that we read that we have not fulfilled your expectations.

We understand your opinion regarding the noise s from the road words outside the hotel, unfortunately it is not our fault but we understand that it has been unpleased during your holidays.

The internet connections problems are being solve with the outsourcing company that provides this service.

Once again our truly apologies for this little inconvenience.

We hope we can get the chance to see you again in our hotel.
Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My partner and I stayed in fourviews monumental for tree weeks and what a great holiday we had this hotel is top end of 4 star.The food is first class never seen so many choices for all the meals even bubbly for breakfast.All the staff are so helpful and also friendly.We both would like to say a special thankyou to Duarte for being so helpful he is a credit to the company.I we do go back to madeira this hotel would be the one we would stay.Satisfied from Norfolk

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you very much for having the time to write such a lovely review regarding our hotel.
The words you have used to describe your stay have been fantastic.

We are really happy that you have enjoyed your hollidays, thank you for your kind commentary regarding myself, It has been a pleasure to meet you and we will certainly keep in touch.

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your holiday’s destination.

We hope we get the chance to see you again.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Everything is great other than a relatively unpredictable and slow WiFi connection. Staff are friendly, indoor and outdoor pools are very nice. Breakfast is excellent and location is perfect.

I would certainly consider staying again in my next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustinWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you very much for your comments on trip advisor regarding our hotel.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your holidays with us and our breakfast.
Thank you for sharing your kind words regarding our hotel with the world.

We hope we can get the chance to see you again.
Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I had 9 days here and on first thoughts were that the some reception staff were not that welcoming or happy looking, and the self catering room was not already made up for 3 guest on our arrival. Once the sofa bed was made up there was not really much room for 3 adults as it was just 1 room and a bathroom. The balcony was only big enough for 2 people. The kitchenette was small but functional with a great combi/microwave oven.
Although our veiw was not of the sea (room 106) there was minimal noise at night.
The big flat screen TV had many english speaking channels. The house keeper come every day but you had an option to change that.
The pool was great in doors and out and the jaccuzi was lovely. For the steam rooms there was a small charge.
The whole hotel was spotless and the breakfast was so nice! So much ffod to choose from :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tray70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel.

We have read your commentary and we feel not to fill up your hotel expectations.

Normally most of our Guest mention the sympathy of the staff, so our truly apologies for this matter has it must have been a onetime situation.

We appreciate the words you have written regarding our breakfast. And we understand that in a general way you had an enthusiastic holiday.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your holidays destination.

We hope we can get the chance to see you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1 mi away
Four Views Baia
Four Views Baia
#27 of 88 in Funchal
834 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
292 reviews
0.9 mi away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#25 of 88 in Funchal
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Enotel Quinta do Sol
#33 of 88 in Funchal
801 reviews
0 mi away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#49 of 88 in Funchal
360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Village
Pestana Village
#30 of 88 in Funchal
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Views Monumental Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Monumental Lido

Address: Estrada Monumental 284, Funchal, Madeira 9004-541, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Funchal
#30 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £63 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Monumental Lido 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Four Views Monumental Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Views Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
4 Views Monumental Lido
Hotel Monumental Lido
Monumental Lido Madeira
Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Four Views Monumental Lido Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing