We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Views Monumental Lido
Ranked #32 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good Value Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

We had a lovely stay at the Monumental. Our first impressions on arrival were not good, the hotel is on the main road above a shopping centre, however the hotel did grow on us. The reception area is nice, with a library just off it with 2 computers that you can use free of charge. The room was fine; we had a nice view of the sea, but be aware that between the hotel and the sea there is another row of hotels and also lots of shops, so it is not an interrupted view by any means. We also had a fridge which was handy for keeping the alcohol cold. The one thing that was a problem was the bed, it was concrete, we ached all over for days and did find it difficult to sleep. The pool area was lovely, lots of different places to sunbathe; we particularly liked the upper deck area which had lovely sea views. The indoor pool was also very nice with a lovely hot tub, but you had to pay 5 Euro each to use the sauna and steam room which I think should be free. The free breakfast was great, a hot buffet with sausage, scrambled egg, beans & bacon each day plus lots of fruit, cereals, breads etc. The hotel bar is cosy with happy hour between 7 & 8. They also put on a show each night at ten, most were good, some were not but it was nice to finish the night with a drink.

We were only b&b as we wanted to try out the restaurants in the area and we were not disappointed. We had some lovely meals, the steak on the stone is one not to be missed, left out the hotel, turn left and it’s on the left just down some steps. It was so good we went twice, had a starter to share, steak on the stone each, dessert to share and drinks each and it came to around 45 Euro each time. We also had some lovely meals in the old town. The hotel is in the Lido area and is not really in walking distance to the old town restaurants. However, walk straight ahead out of the hotel and down the slope and you will be at the start of a lovely promenade walk, lovely at night, with many restaurants. There are also dozens of restaurants in walking distance and if you want to go to eat in the old town you can jump on the bus and be there in 5 minutes.

I would recommend you pre purchase your bus tickets before your first ride. You can get a swipe card from the shop just past ‘the steak on the stone restaurant’ and it will just cost you 1 Euro for each bus ride. It costs much more if you purchase a ticket on the bus. The bus stop is immediately outside the hotel and the number 1 runs about every 5 minutes. We also used the Aero bus from the airport, it costs 5 Euro each and stops right outside the hotel, it could not be better, much cheaper than a taxi.

We are a couple in our 40’s and were a little concerned that Madeira would turn out to be far more suited to the over 60’s, but we could not have been more wrong. Yes there are a large number of mature visitors, but there were also far more younger visitors to Funchal than we expected, all in all it was a very nice mix of ages. It is definitely not for the ‘clubbing’ type, but for anyone who wants a more sophisticated break it is perfect.

The weather in October was lovely, we were sunbathing everyday and going out in short sleeves in the evening. We went on a lavada walk, 4x4 tour, casino night & meal, up the cable car and down on the sledges, so if you want a little excitement you can find it! We loved it so much we are going back in December to see the Christmas lights.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tingley2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    492
    146
    45
    10
See reviews for
159
699
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

Just returned from a week at this hotel, and really enjoyed it. The fist room we were given was at the back of the hotel with a view of hills. The room was very nice but it's on a busy road and we were woken at 5am by the noise of the traffic. So we changed to a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the pool and sea view for an extra 10 euros a night, which was well worth it. It was very quiet, again a very nice room, well equipped and clean.
The pool area is very quiet with not many kids, and the pool itself very pleasant.
The evening meal was very acceptable for buffet style food I have to say that the breakfast, in keeping with many European hotels, was poor., consisting of scrambled egg or hard boiled, very fatty bacon with little meat on it, and german type sausage.
There was entertainment every evening, albeit a bit mediocre (but hey it's free) consisting of a singer. The show on the Saturday night was very worthwhile.
Overall a good hotel and one we would go back to..

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeusYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eskdalemuir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

We were here in November 2009 and going back December 2010.
Hotel is great......clean....helpfull friendly staff. We take a self catering apartment......maid does the room every day. The hotel does buffet syle meals and you can pay as you go if you want to eat in. All the usual facillities..indoor and outdoor pools..sauna,,gym etc.
It's located about 30 mins walk from town or the bus stops outside the door. Avis have an office at the front of the hotel and you can park in the hotel's underground car park. Cash point at front door. Great supermarket 400yds down the road....and Casa Italia 200yds away for great pizza...recommend to anyone!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsergiocosta, General Manager at Four Views Monumental Lido, responded to this review, 16 November 2010
Obrigado!!!
That's thank you in Portuguese and that goes to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in our Hotel in TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay last year and are coming back again in December. I agree that our location and facilities are both a great asset for anyone visiting Madeira Island.
We look forward seeing you again in December in our Hotel.
Obrigado!!!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

On arrival it is like walking into a shopping centre so after that it gets better. The hotel was good value for money. rooms comfortable we had a room at the back looking out at a very nice garden, we did look at a room with a sea view but the cost of 7euro a night was not worth it. We booked half board and the food was of good standard but the surroundings in the dining room was more like a canteen so that was not good.There are lots of places to eat near the hotel so bed and breakfast would of been the better option. Madeira is not cheap the euro is strong against the pound and prices are more than UK. We did the red hop on hop of bus which cost 12 euros each but at the moment that covered 2 days. For the public buses go to Joes just left from hotel and they are so helpful wth advice and info. The cable car from the marina to Monte is good and not expensive go one way if you plan to do the toboggan ride it is 20 euro for 1 and 25 for 2 eople in the cart. it is worth doing but the bigger thrill is getting away from the rip off tax1 driver at the drop off point. There is a bus stop near by but it is a very steep walk so be prepared . when you do the cable car up to Monte there is another cable car ride across the trees to yet another garden it is only worth doing if you really like gardens and if you want to visit the other botanic garden where the worlds largest vase is it costs 10 euros each. Remeber to smile when you get in the cable car and the toboggan as someome comes quickly to take a photo, the cost is 10euros for the pic but cheap if you want numerous dvd of maderia a different one at each site we bought 3 yes 3!!!!!!!
The weather was good sunny but windy if you are going n the trips around the island be sure to bring a cardigan or coat and scarf to protect ears.We went with strawberry world cheaper than tour company and very good. We joined the madeira night which was good value 25 euro each and the food just kept coming as did the wine, A note if you are veggie please tell the waiter as soon as you arrive as they will cook you a fish dinner which is great but takes time. if you want to bring wonderful flowers home as they are so cheap there is a flower shop inside the shopping centre beside hotel and they will bring to the hotel the day you check out. My advise is to go and look and plan what you want , check the price first because i paid 9 euro for a beauitful orchid as i just pointed at the flowers without checking the cost. have been home a week and they are still beautiful.PS flowers do not count as luggage and at airport after you check in you take them to the outsize window to been taken on as fragile. Tha airport is on 3 levels and the bar/cafe upstairs where you can go outside to watch aircraft and if you smoke.
once you go into passport control there is a small drinks area not much else so saty out as long as possible. drinks are not cheap at airport we paid 2.70 euro for a small bottle of coke which we ended up taking on the plane the coke on the plane was only 1.50

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank big50fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

Just got back from a very relaxing week at the Monumental Lido. This is a 4 star which lives up to its rating. The studio we booked was clean and comfortable with a sea view which we had not expected and the hotel facilities were excellent. Only criticism was the evening "entertainment" which consisted of one man each night playing the keyboards - not very imaginative but maybe it was because of the time of year. The hotel is only 10 mins easy bus ride to the centre of Funchal but there are many good restaurants nearby so you don't need to travel far to eat out. Would recommed the trip to the Nuns Valley (amazing views) and if you eat out try the Espada fish - very nice cooked with banana !

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gphilip45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

The hotel was clean, the staff were on the whole pleasant, the food (for us as vegetarians - and probably non veggies) was always well cooked and usually pleasant for our half board stay. The location was in a tourist but not tacky area with many choices of car hire, buses, food outlets etc. Yes the beds were hard and we did not like having to sit alongside (well with a 70mm gap between tables) the same 2 couples for evening dinner. these were the only small gripes and we would use the hotel again. Just across the side road to the right of the hotel is Futuro Car Rentals who were excellent for car hire. We had a Corsa for 4 days at 138 euros. Everybody else wanted insurance excess deposits but they did not want anything. The paperwork was in both English and Portugese and it was so easy to complete the formalities. We could leave the car in the underground car park of the hotel (free for guests) and they collected it. if you request a quiet room you may be given one on the upper floors - we were in the back on the tenth but somebody did state that he was kept awake because he was at the back but much lower down.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlytail55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

The fourviews Monumental Lido is situated adjacent to a small shopping centre in the Lido area. Taxi and open topped buses are right next door. It's a fairly standard package-tour type hotel of circa 3 star standard. Aircon and fans in rooms but hard beds and hard pillows. We were half board so ate most nights in hotel. Food is edible but not of a particuarly high standard. I don't think I could stand more than a week' of it. Watch the waiting staff who will whip your plate away if you put your fork and knife down for a nano-second. It happened to us several times over the week. The restaurant stafff appear to race to see how quickly they can close the dining room. Hotel library is a nice touch with internet access provided through 2 hotel computers. Staff are friendly and generally very efficient. In the main we enjoyed our stay but probably would not return to this hotel. There are better nearby for around the same price, including the Savoy Gardens which has nicer rooms, better food but is a bit of a climb. Not the best hotel we have stayed in but also not the worst.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnieterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
1.0 mi away
Four Views Baia
Four Views Baia
#28 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
6.2 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 14 in Canico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#41 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#27 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Views Monumental Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Monumental Lido

Property: Four Views Monumental Lido
Address: Estrada Monumental 284, Funchal, Madeira 9004-541, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Funchal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#30 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Monumental Lido 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Views Monumental Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Views Monumental Lido
Four Views Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Hotel Monumental Lido
Monumental Lido Madeira
Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Four Views Monumental Lido Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing