We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location!”
Review of Orca Praia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Orca Praia Hotel
Ranked #37 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful location!”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I stayed her with my adult daughter for two weeks, we had a wonderful holiday, our room was huge with a fantastic private balcony on the 10th floor. The food was varied and attentive staff. This hotel is not suitable for people with mobility difficulties due to the steep access. It's a delightful walk into Funchal along the beach, stopping for a swim or refreshments on route. Would recommend this lovely hotel and hope to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitbred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    186
    50
    10
    5
See reviews for
57
228
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks half board at this hotel which was very enjoyable. The rooms and patio where absolutely amazing, spotlessly clean and modern, bathroom was superb spacious and well kept. Our room was located on the end of floor -9. The only noise you need to get used to at night are the ocean waves. Not sure why there is no air conditioning in the rooms, maybe this is why it is only has a 3* rating? We could not fault any of the staff all of them very polite and friendly. Most of the guest at the time we stayed were from Germany and France which meant conversation with other guests was difficult. It would appear that a couple of large German / French package operators had taken most of rooms. Both breakfast and evening meal are both buffet service, food is plentiful but a little 'plain and ordinary' You need to be fairly active to make the most of the hotel as there is a steep pathway and steps leading down to the swimming pool and cafe. The coastal pathway in each direction accessed from the swimming pool gate is a hive of activity during the evenings with lots of 'locals' jogging and walking along the pathway. The beach in front of the hotel has some dark stand which again seems popular with the local families at the weekends. The bus service from the road level outside hotel is very regular into the city and return until after midnight. We enjoyed the levada walk from opposite the hotel but again you need to be fairly fit and agile.

Room Tip: Remember to take a travel kettle if you want tea or coffee in your room. The hotel charges for '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisChristine190722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The Orca Pria is situated a 20 minute bus ride from the centre of Funchal.Hence the price is less than those in the centre.Also the local bus stops outside the hotel and runs until late.(There is alkso a free limited hotel shuttle bus)
The hotel is built into the cliffs with reception at road level and the rooms below.The rooms are some of the largest we have stayed in with balcony to match.There are uninterupted sea views - only noise being the waves.
We had Bed and Breakfast - this was good with plenty of choice,local breads etc
The hotel pool is at beach level - a steep walk back !
The pool also leads ot onto a beachfront path which goes many miles in each direction - the Lido one way and Camara de Lobos the other - if you like some exercise this is the place.

The staff are very good and helpfull,rooms refurbished and clean - shower only - again large.

Good for an independent stay.

Room Tip: All have superb views - avoid locations near lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MR.23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Just arrived back after a week in Funchal. The food at the hotel was excellent, varied and a huge choice at every meal. The staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly the head waiter in the restaurant and Andrew in the Bar. Hotel rooms and general areas were very clean and comfortable. The beds were also very comfortable. All the rooms have brilliant views out to sea. The only downside was the trek down to the pool and pool bar. This was very, very steep and not recommended for anyone with walking difficulties.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall uk
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We loved this hotel. Our room was huge and very clean. All rooms have sea views and balconies and we loved watching the sunset while drinking a glass of wine! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was plentiful, but I found it a bit samey. We loved being a bit out of town as it was so peaceful. We used the curtesy bus and the local buses which were easy to use. I had a spa treatment which was lovely.
If you eat in Funchal... try The Mozart Restaurant. A gorgeous restaurant , amazing food and staff and great value for money.

Room Tip: The higher you are, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cherylmCornwalluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just come back from a week here - rroms and balconies a very good size. Location superb, views of the sea.
Try the bakery just up the road (turn right out of hotel entrance) - 2 cakes plus 2 coffees only 3.2 euros!
Only a short climb up some stairs opposite hotel to join levada.
On levada turn right for Funchal or left for Soccorides river valley.

Room Tip: We were on floor -3 which is nquite high up so good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank barbypair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We visited from Canada for a 2 week early winter break. The weather was perfect while we stayed and we enjoyed Funcal/Maderia completely. Local Transportation is fabulous, cheap and easy to use. The Hotel is beautiful and clean, Staff was awesome and the views are just spectacular. Rooms are very spacious and the balconys on our floor were huge. Our only complaint was the food. Don't get me wrong, you certainly will not go hungry, but the buffets left a lot to be desired. We found the food at the the little restaurant by the pool much better and always fresh. We are lunch there several days, which we swapped at the front desk instead of eating dinner at the buffet.
We did a Jeep Safari tour which was awesome, our guide was second to none in my opinion and we were sure glad he was driving, especially in the mountains where it was raining and very muddy in some areas. He handled all of it beautifully and also very knowledgeable.
We were fortunate enough to be there on Dec 8 when all the Christmas Lights were turned on in Funchal. One of the most spectacular displays I have ever seen. We ate at quite a few restaurants in Funchal and can honestly say we never had a bad meal.
Also ate several times at a little restaurant not far from the Orca, it was obviously a local favorite as most of the time, we could easily tell we were the only tourists. It is right in front of the Circus/carnival and has both inside and outside seating. We had the lunch special a couple of times, it was awesome, but one of our favorites on the menu was called in English "Little Fish". When we saw it originally we thought it would be sardines, but no. I bet we ordered these on at least 4 differant occasions, either a double order as a light lunch for two or as an appetizer for dinner one evening.
We loved Madeira and would go back in a heart beat. Have done a lot of travelling in Canarys, Caribbean, Costa Rica, Panama, but have never been on an Island that is so clean and easy to see the pride of the people that live there. Almost garbage free everywhere we went on the Island, even downtown Funchal.
A long trip from Canada, took us about 15 hours overall, with stops and flight changes, but it was well worth the effort.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor, which was actually Minus 7 and had a great view. Only thing is you have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lilylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.8 mi away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#24 of 86 in Funchal
974 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#29 of 86 in Funchal
382 reviews
1.6 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#20 of 86 in Funchal
236 reviews
1.2 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
1,139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
#32 of 86 in Funchal
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orca Praia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orca Praia Hotel

Property: Orca Praia Hotel
Address: Estrada Monumental 335 | Prainha do Arieiro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-236, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Funchal
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#26 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Orca Praia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Orca Praia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orca Praia
Orca Praia Funchal
Orca Praia Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing