We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”
Review of Orca Praia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Orca Praia Hotel
Ranked #37 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great holiday”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed in this lovely hotel with my parents for two weeks in September 2013. The great thing about it is that all rooms have a sea view, you can enjoy sunrises and sunsets, and sounds of waves as long as you like. There is a very attractive path leading from the hotel to the pool area and the beach, you feel like walking in a botanical garden. Spacious rooms and spacious balconies, very clean everywhere. The staff was always friendly and willing to help.
I liked the location because it was away from the noisy downtown streets and, on the other hand, appox.10 -15 minutes ride from the center of Funchal on the city bus (or you can book the free hotel bus in advance).
The only little drawback was that at first they put us in a room on the floor just under the hotel music bar, and it's not so great for sensitive sleepers :-) But we changed the room the next day, and everything was fine after that. If we go to Madeira again, we will gladly stay at the Orca Praja.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dasha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    184
    46
    10
    5
See reviews for
57
223
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cadca, Slovakia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The hotel is a unique architectural piece, faced to the south with beautiful garden, own black sand beach and medium sized pool. It is situated in a silent outskirt of Funchal with a perfect access to the centre by hotel minibus or by local bus service; the bus stop is right in front of the hotel. The hotel is well maintained, very clean and really offers relaxation after many day activities.
Every room - pretty spacy and practically furnished - is turned to ocean and the view from a large terrace is fantastic. Bathrooms are comfortable and perfectly cleaned.
The personnel is helpful, very nice and willing.
Food (breakfats and dinners) was rich and tasty, they served many Madeiran specialities with fresh fruits and vegetables salads to every meal.
We spent most of time on the touristic walks, we criss-crossed the island in 10 days, so our returns to our temporary home were a kind of magic relax - no industrial sounds just the sound of nature / rythm of waves and breath of wind :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dcesnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daugavpils
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I was looking for a quite place during a business trip in the city and ultimately found this hotel on the internet. We booked two rooms for our four days stay in the city and it turned out to be a great choice. Property is well maintained and very clean. Rooms are excellent and view of sunset and sunrise form balcony is something which no one should miss. Everything needed for a comfortable stay was present there. Washrooms are luxurious. Food was very delicious and elegantly served. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Eduard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Location is great if you like to wake up to the sound of waves or see the sunset from your balcony. Stairs go straight from hotel to the pool and beach is 5 feet away, too. A bit outside of town and you need to take the bus or a 20-25min walk to Lido/outside of Funchal. Remodeled a few years ago. Clean. Breakfast/Dinner is simple 3-star hotel buffet but everything you need and they do make an effort to have a lot of local/portugese/fish. For the money I spent it was a good deal. Gym/Fitness studio is a joke, though: not open and if only one treadmill there.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ESR31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Pros: view from the balcony, especially at sunset. Fantastic. Just take a bottle and sit and watch Decent size and quality of room, despite ants. Balcony itself - large (some rooms have small). Location between Funchal and Cabo is nice.

Cons: decidely indifferent, almost to a person, staff. Not rude, just not happy to be there. Tasteless breakfasts, which you can supplement with a 2 euro instant coffee by the pool. Atmosphere is a bit glorified retirement home for middle Europe. You pay for wifi - 4 per hour or 10 per day, but then to use it you have to stay in the lobby. To me, this is preposterous. Perhaps for retireees its no issue. Because we never ate at the hotel we did need to shop for snacks and water etc. Unfortunately the room had ants who streamed out during the evening and a couple times in middle of night I absent mindely reached for a cracker or half banana and...... So we rented a fridge. No fridge in the room but you rent for 5 euros a day. There is bar open from 1800 (with only 1 available red wine, weirdly) which has rather odd live acts from 2130. We saw a couple. I loved the magician on Saturday but there was no audience for the poor fellow.......... All in all, we found the place a little depressing - but closing our eyes and going straight to balcony every day worked well, sort of). The restaurants on the beach to the left aren't bad..... We did abandon this hotel in the end in favor of a far superior place bizarrely ranked a couple notches below Orca by Trip's system - and were very happy to have done so.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dopice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

It is a very special hotel, wonderful for those who do not look for crowds. It is situated some 15 minuted bus ride to the center of Funchal. It is quiet, clean, with a beach (partially sandy, partially pebbled), a number of nice restaurant around, including some on the oceanfront. The rooms are very big, so are most of the balconies. The beds are comfortable You hardly need air conditioning as there is always breeze from the ocean. Still you can rent a fan for some charge. The same is right about a fridge and a safe box. We did not close the glass door, so we fell asleep and woke up listening to the music of Atlantic. As all the rooms have an ocean view it is difficult to miss beautiful sunsets and sunrises. The place offers a very good breakfast. Almost every day there is a nice entertainment programme in the bar.The staff was friendly and helpful.. We found it was strange - the hotel was full, but we did not notice it a bit. The feeling was very cosy, comfortable, relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank regaleks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Location
Pro - fantastic location set in the cliffs above Praia Formosa beach - the views of the ocean are amazing and we left our room doors open all night and fell asleep listening to the ocean.
Con - the hotel is very isolated - it is 3 miles to the nearest supermarket and when the courtesy bus is not running - i.e holidays, Saturday and Sunday - it is very difficult to get out and about. The lifeline is the Funchal yellow buses - you need to buy 2 Giro cards from reception (one each) and get a timetable
Rooms
Pro - the rooms are very large and comfortable with massive balconies - big enough to take a table, 2 chairs and 2 sunbeds
Con - there is very little storage - we ended up leaving our clothes in a suitcase all the time
Food
Pro - breakfast was great - lots of fresh fruit and fresh bread, cereals,cheese and ham and hot English breakfast
Con - the main course was limited in choice for English palates. We never went hungry though - filled up on lovely home made soups but we weren't sorry when we started to eat out in the 3rd week
It is possible to swap dinner for 3 course lunch round the pool - a much better option
Entertainment
Pro - a brilliant trio called 3D played twice a week - we would have paid to listen to them - they were class musicians with a brilliant sense of fun - got everyone dancing.
Con - the magician did the same show 3 times - very boring
Staff
Pro - this is a family run hotel - the staff are amazing! They cannot do enough for you - always cheerful and friendly - must mention Angelo - a great character in the evening bar and Sandra - the head of the restaurant
Con - there is no con to the staff but the hotel does charge a lot for extras - sunbeds on the balcony, safe, wi-fi, fridge, pool/snooker.
Warning
Other people have mentioned the steep climb from the pool to the hotel. We are fairly fit nearly 70 year olds - still playing golf and tennis - but the hill was a killer - we had to rest to get our breath 4 times coming up. In another couple of years, we couldn't go there.

We only paid £700 for 3 weeks at this hotel with Mercury Direct but we still can't make our mind up about this hotel - would we go there again - don't know!!

Room Tip: Floors 1/2/3/4 at the top of the hotel are the best - ask for a room with a big balcony - a couple o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JeanS61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
5.0 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#33 of 86 in Funchal
370 reviews
1.2 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
1,126 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#24 of 86 in Funchal
959 reviews
1.6 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
#32 of 86 in Funchal
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orca Praia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orca Praia Hotel

Property: Orca Praia Hotel
Address: Estrada Monumental 335 | Prainha do Arieiro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-236, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Funchal
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#26 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Orca Praia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Orca Praia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orca Praia
Orca Praia Funchal
Orca Praia Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing