We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 2nd visit to this lovely peaceful hotel”
Review of Orca Praia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Orca Praia Hotel
Ranked #36 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was our second visit to this lovely hotel. The staff are nice, the rooms are spacious with very big balconies (all facing the sea and very private), the food is very good with locally caught fish (including Black Scabbard found only off Madeira and Japan). The soup is delicious and there is a salad bar with a good variety. The desserts are mouth watering and the fruit, mostly grown on Madeira is good at dinner and breakfast. One morning we even had scones for breakfast which had just been made by the lady who serves sometimes.

We like this hotel as it is away from the hustle and bustle of the Hotel Zone of Funchal yet it is easy enough to get into Funchal itself either on the hotel courtesy bus (book in advance) or at the top of the drive (steep climb) there is a bus stop and buses are every half hour. Another way to get into Funchal is to turn left from the swimming pool on to the promenade. When getting to the end of the promenade go down on to the beach and walk about half way along until you see a café. Go up and you will find a narrow promenade which goes along the back of the hotels and you will come to a white tunnel through the cliffs (an amazing feat of engineering). The tunnel is lit and is about 100 metres or so long and skirts around a deep inlet where you can watch the waves splash up. You will come out by a Lido (where you can swim with lots of fish) or carry on up steps to a promenade with nice gardens, there is also a supermarket Continente. and cafes. Magic Tea Garden further along is nice.

The bar in the evening is nice and entertainment is enjoyable especially the magician (Saturday)and dancing lessons twice a week.

Looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: As all rooms face the sea they are all good, we enjoy watching the kestrels near the cliffs.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Bertie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Orca Praia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed in this lovely hotel with my parents for two weeks in September 2013. The great thing about it is that all rooms have a sea view, you can enjoy sunrises and sunsets, and sounds of waves as long as you like. There is a very attractive path leading from the hotel to the pool area and the beach, you feel like walking in a botanical garden. Spacious rooms and spacious balconies, very clean everywhere. The staff was always friendly and willing to help.
I liked the location because it was away from the noisy downtown streets and, on the other hand, appox.10 -15 minutes ride from the center of Funchal on the city bus (or you can book the free hotel bus in advance).
The only little drawback was that at first they put us in a room on the floor just under the hotel music bar, and it's not so great for sensitive sleepers :-) But we changed the room the next day, and everything was fine after that. If we go to Madeira again, we will gladly stay at the Orca Praja.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dasha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The hotel is a unique architectural piece, faced to the south with beautiful garden, own black sand beach and medium sized pool. It is situated in a silent outskirt of Funchal with a perfect access to the centre by hotel minibus or by local bus service; the bus stop is right in front of the hotel. The hotel is well maintained, very clean and really offers relaxation after many day activities.
Every room - pretty spacy and practically furnished - is turned to ocean and the view from a large terrace is fantastic. Bathrooms are comfortable and perfectly cleaned.
The personnel is helpful, very nice and willing.
Food (breakfats and dinners) was rich and tasty, they served many Madeiran specialities with fresh fruits and vegetables salads to every meal.
We spent most of time on the touristic walks, we criss-crossed the island in 10 days, so our returns to our temporary home were a kind of magic relax - no industrial sounds just the sound of nature / rythm of waves and breath of wind :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dcesnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I was looking for a quite place during a business trip in the city and ultimately found this hotel on the internet. We booked two rooms for our four days stay in the city and it turned out to be a great choice. Property is well maintained and very clean. Rooms are excellent and view of sunset and sunrise form balcony is something which no one should miss. Everything needed for a comfortable stay was present there. Washrooms are luxurious. Food was very delicious and elegantly served. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Eduard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Location is great if you like to wake up to the sound of waves or see the sunset from your balcony. Stairs go straight from hotel to the pool and beach is 5 feet away, too. A bit outside of town and you need to take the bus or a 20-25min walk to Lido/outside of Funchal. Remodeled a few years ago. Clean. Breakfast/Dinner is simple 3-star hotel buffet but everything you need and they do make an effort to have a lot of local/portugese/fish. For the money I spent it was a good deal. Gym/Fitness studio is a joke, though: not open and if only one treadmill there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ESR31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Pros: view from the balcony, especially at sunset. Fantastic. Just take a bottle and sit and watch Decent size and quality of room, despite ants. Balcony itself - large (some rooms have small). Location between Funchal and Cabo is nice.

Cons: decidely indifferent, almost to a person, staff. Not rude, just not happy to be there. Tasteless breakfasts, which you can supplement with a 2 euro instant coffee by the pool. Atmosphere is a bit glorified retirement home for middle Europe. You pay for wifi - 4 per hour or 10 per day, but then to use it you have to stay in the lobby. To me, this is preposterous. Perhaps for retireees its no issue. Because we never ate at the hotel we did need to shop for snacks and water etc. Unfortunately the room had ants who streamed out during the evening and a couple times in middle of night I absent mindely reached for a cracker or half banana and...... So we rented a fridge. No fridge in the room but you rent for 5 euros a day. There is bar open from 1800 (with only 1 available red wine, weirdly) which has rather odd live acts from 2130. We saw a couple. I loved the magician on Saturday but there was no audience for the poor fellow.......... All in all, we found the place a little depressing - but closing our eyes and going straight to balcony every day worked well, sort of). The restaurants on the beach to the left aren't bad..... We did abandon this hotel in the end in favor of a far superior place bizarrely ranked a couple notches below Orca by Trip's system - and were very happy to have done so.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dopice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

It is a very special hotel, wonderful for those who do not look for crowds. It is situated some 15 minuted bus ride to the center of Funchal. It is quiet, clean, with a beach (partially sandy, partially pebbled), a number of nice restaurant around, including some on the oceanfront. The rooms are very big, so are most of the balconies. The beds are comfortable You hardly need air conditioning as there is always breeze from the ocean. Still you can rent a fan for some charge. The same is right about a fridge and a safe box. We did not close the glass door, so we fell asleep and woke up listening to the music of Atlantic. As all the rooms have an ocean view it is difficult to miss beautiful sunsets and sunrises. The place offers a very good breakfast. Almost every day there is a nice entertainment programme in the bar.The staff was friendly and helpful.. We found it was strange - the hotel was full, but we did not notice it a bit. The feeling was very cosy, comfortable, relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank regaleks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.9 mi away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#25 of 87 in Funchal
986 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#29 of 87 in Funchal
391 reviews
1.6 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#27 of 87 in Funchal
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#20 of 87 in Funchal
257 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.4 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orca Praia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orca Praia Hotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 335 | Prainha do Arieiro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-236, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Funchal
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#27 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £47 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orca Praia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Orca Praia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orca Praia
Orca Praia Funchal
Orca Praia Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing