We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and great value!”
Review of Orca Praia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orca Praia Hotel
Ranked #37 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and great value!”
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Stayed here for a 2 night short break in Madeira with 2 friends.

The hotel is situated approximately 7 km from Funchal town at the end of a strip of hotels so is not ideally located if you plan to spend a lot of time in Funchal (approx 12 euros each way in a taxi). It does have a courtesy bus (weekdays only), a public bus nearby, and also has free parking if you have hired a car.

The room was clean, very comfortable and nicely decorated, and the views from the balcony were stunning!

The breakfast included hot breakfast items, continental breakfast items, fruit and yoghurt, and there was even champagne in the buffet.

We did not use the pool but it appeared well maintained. The beach appeared muddy from the balcony, but when we got closer it consisted of black sand (not mud) and the water seemed very clean.

We paid about £80 for a triple room for 2 nights, which was excellent value, although I suspect we managed to get it on a special deal... I would however be willing to pay more for this hotel.

Downsides:
Distance from town centre
Beach access is not very easy (steps and steep ramp) which may be a consideration if you have any form of disability

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jod1emcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    183
    45
    10
    5
See reviews for
57
221
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

we returned to this hotel as we were so highly impressed by our first visit and since then it has been renovated which can only be described as clean,modern and environmentally friendly. Every room has a sea view and to wake to the sound of the sea is fantastic. The views are to die for and the pool area is a sun trap.Yes it is out of the tourist area but easily accessible by bus,taxi or courtesy bus to Funchal. For peace, quiet and tranquility it is ideal. You have the best of both worlds as a short journey and you are in the Lido area or Funchal. The staff are very accomodating and polite. Restaurant with panoramic views. Jusr prepare yourself for the steep descent to the beach and pool area. We'll certainly be returning -again.!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

This hotel has been recently completely refurbished.
The room was large and clean with a really large terrace/balcony.
If you want the sound of the ocean breaking on the shore, this is for you. If you want peace and quiet you can close the sliding door which is double glazed.
Rooms have no airco, so this could be an issue in summer.
It's quite a distance from Funchal town, but there is a shuttle bus.
Breakfast buffet was included and it was OK, with both hot and cold items.
We didn't use the restaurant, so can't comment.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
All in all we got what we paid for and were satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bublik2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Just returned from 3 weeks at this hotel on HB. Food at breakfast and dinner was excellent with a good choice at both. All rooms have an excelent sea view as on side of cliff. At night it was good to hear the waves breaking onto the beach rather then traffic as often is the case. Hotel is quite a distance from Funchal centre but does run a coutesy bus but need to book early as only 8 seats avialble. However, there are plenty of local busses available if no spaces left. Last time I was in Madeira (2007) it was possible to walk to Funchal along promenade but tshi is no longer possible as it is not being maintained which I think the hotel management should try to get the authorities to do something about as it would greatly enhance the pleasure of staying at hotel. Hotel is currently being refurbished so you can ignore previous comments about hotel looking a little shabby/tired. One big problem with hotel is that there are no fire evacuation details on bedroom door and no indication which way to evacuate when you were outside of room. Thsi was mentioned to reception but nothing had been done about it by end of our stay. Hotel not recommended for anyone with disablity as quite a stiff climb from swimming pool area back up to hotel - especially at end of the day!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanaplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
104 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Indeed this hotel has been completely renovated. I have a single room, with a single bed. Not large room but good and nice and large TV with many channels, just not for Holland (no BVN). The bed is a bit hard, you have to like that. 3 stars means of course NO AIRCO, NO FRIDGE, NO ROOM SERVICE In summer the heat may be a problem, but the view will make up for that. Right now nobody sits outside or swims. Breakfast is just OK, English breakfast but nothing special. Luckily I am not a big breakfast eater.
For the price I paid it is great value.
It is quietly located, the only thing I hear is the nice noise of the surf of the ocean. In warm weather I would love the big private terrace.
Internet is 4 Euro an hour. Reception has bus tickets and time table.
6 km to town, this is the most far out of all Funchal hotels.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dutchguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

Re-opened december 2009 after a complete make-over.
Good value, large rooms, every room with large balcony overlooking the ocean.
Nice restaurant,nice bar.
Not in the centre of the action, but the hotel bus can take you to the city, or just take a bus, busstop at 50 meters, 10 minutes ride to Funchal. (and a taxi is cheap, and there are a lot of them to find)
Nice swimmingpool too.
All in all, good place to stay,clean,friendly staff, stunning view over the Atlantic

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank zetep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

The cliff top setting affords great sea views and superb sunsets! The hotel is remote from any amenities and the courtesy bus only runs a few times a day and can be difficult to get a place. Local buses are available at a moderate price once you have mastered the system and timetables.The hotel food is plentiful and good but there is no possibility for variation. Since there is no competition nearby the drinks like tea and coffee are pricey. No drinks facilities or air conditioning in the rooms. The pool area is good and was never busy.The hotel has the only sandy(black) beach in the area,all the rest have rocks! Not for the unfit howewever as the pool is 60 steps and a slope from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidjanSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.2 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
1,117 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#25 of 86 in Funchal
949 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#35 of 86 in Funchal
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#31 of 86 in Funchal
417 reviews
1.1 mi away
Duas Torres
Duas Torres
#42 of 86 in Funchal
300 reviews
1.6 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orca Praia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orca Praia Hotel

Property: Orca Praia Hotel
Address: Estrada Monumental 335 | Prainha do Arieiro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-236, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Funchal
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#25 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Orca Praia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Orca Praia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orca Praia
Orca Praia Funchal
Orca Praia Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing