We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beuatifull view of Funchal harbour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quinta Mae Homens Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beuatifull view of Funchal harbour”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

When we choose Madeira for a short holiday we didn't want the pressure of the Hotel regime so we opted for an appartment where we could do our own cooking. Quinta Mae proved to be a great choice. The rooms had a decent size and was equiped with a good kitchen. The views from our balcony was great. Beautifull sunsets and the bustle of the cruise ships going in and out of the harbour.
The downside of the place is that is doesn't have fulltime staff so you have to time your arrival. On leaving you just leave the keys in a mailbox without checking out. The property is also located on the hill which is a stiff walk from the city centre. We often walked down and took a taxi up (about 5 EUR). We also had a car so driving around was relatively easy. Th ehotel has a good inside parking lot. You will probably need a GPS to find the place as Funchal has a lot of one-way streets.
So al in all: great place to stay if you want to be self-sufficient.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankDijkstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    29
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We didn't do a lot of research before we booked our holiday and we were really happy that this accomodation wasn't located in the hotel zone but in an urban part of Funchal, so we weren't surrounded solely by(mostly german and english) tourists but had the chance to integrate with the extremely hospitable locals.
The apartments are, like the whole of the city, situated on a hill, which provides beautiful views. Make sure you ask for a apartment in the alto lagar on the first or second floor for the best views.
The swimmingpool is big and clean. The staff is really friendly and helpful and the apartments are spacious and spotless.
Mind you that although the walk downhill into town will only take about 10 mins, the walk up again is near enough impossible because of the steep roads. There's a busstop just outside the walls of the quinta, but the busses only drive once an hour or so, so you have to plan a bit. The taxiride will up will cost you about 5 euros, so that's a good alternative.
It you stay at this quinta make sure to try a poncha (local drink) at the bakery/ pizzeria just 100 meters downhill.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmKarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed here over New Year's Eve, one of the busiest times of the year in Madeira. We chose it because it was exceptionally good value (around €60 per night) for the season, was located outside of the touristy hotel district and was self-catering.

The room was large, simply furnished with very basic cooking facilities. The views and gardens were really superb. The setting was very relaxing. This is not your typical, generic hotel. It is a converted farmhouse (banana plantation possibly), it does not offer 4 star hotel facilities but on the other hand it is a more unique, memorable experience (and cheaper!). There is wi-fi in the Club House and a small pool and the rooms do have TVs.

It may not be the best option for those with physical disabilities, as it is a bit outside of the town centre and the climb uphill is pretty tough even if you are young and fit (though there is always a bus or taxi).

Really spectacular views of the New Year's Eve fireworks. If one wants a luxury hotel experience this is not the place to be, on the other hand if one wants an authentic Madeiran holiday I would recommend this Quinta.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmce02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

The Quinta Mãe dos Homens is located in a residential area about 1,5 km northeast of downtown Funchal, obviously uphill. It can be reached from the town centre by city buses (line 32 - departures about 30 minutes apart in daytime), taxi (about €5 in daytime) or on foot (20-30 minutes uphill, about half that going down). You could also use a rental car, but the streets in Funchal are steep and narrow, and some local drivers are out of their minds. The quinta has its own parking lot, but finding parking elsewhere could prove difficult.

The quinta is a fenced-in property with barbed wire and glass shards on the walls surrounding it. Its reception has limited opening hours, but they're able to receive you at any time if you have clearly stated your time of arrival. It appears that the owner lives on the site, as some buildings and areas are signposted as "Privado".

We had requested a taxi pick-up on the airport. The driver was slightly late, but apologised politely. He drove us straight to the property and had his own keys. We were received warmly by several members of the staff and got helped carrying our luggage in.

The quinta consists of several buildings with apartments/studios of different sizes, with the remnants of a banana plantation in-between. There are a few lawns and an old wine press in the gardens. There's a pleasant pool (rather deep - not suitable for children who can't swim) with deckchairs around it - but the water was too cold (in late February) for more than a short dip. There's also a self-service "clubhouse" with a TV, some chairs and lots of paperbacks (probably lefty by previous guests). Wireless internet is available here, but only erratically elsewhere.

We had a family studio with a large living room/bedroom/kitchen, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The living room had two queen size single beds put together as a spacious double, a sleeper sofa (usable by two enjoying each other's company), two tables, some chairs, a spacious wardrobe and a TV. The separate bedroom had one single bed. The kitchen had a microwave oven, a two-ring stove, a small refrigerator, a toaster, a water kettle and a sink. The cutlery and utensils provided was somewhat limited, but just enough (as always when renting an apartment, bringing a sharp knife is a good thing). The drinking glasses were all different - apparently, earlier guests have broken things and replaced them with whatever they could find in the shops...

The bathroom had a washbasin, a WC, a bidet and a bathtub. The shower and shower curtain worked well, and warm water was plentiful even on a rainy day. Apart from toilet tissue, no toiletries were provided except a bar of soap that was not replaced during our 8-day stay. An ample amount of towels were supplied.

The balcony had a small table, two chairs and a drying rack. The views over Funchal were excellent!

Everything was well-kept and clean. Cleaning and change of towels is done three times per week, linen is changed once a week. The cleaning staff obviously takes pride in doing a good job!

There's no restaurant on-site, but you can book a "breakfast basket". Locally there's a combined bakery/pizzeria a few minutes walk away - I have eaten better pizza, but it's OK. There's also a mini market nearby. For major shopping, go downtown instead, the Anadia shopping centre (open 7 days) is lose to the 32 bus line and has an excellent grocery store downstairs. You could also buy bus tickets here.

Staff was not too visible, but the reception is open some hours each weekday. They do keep listings of different activities, tour operators etc. They also have a good selection of guide books, maps etc. that can be borrowed free of charge.

While I did find the quinta's staff service minded, I did get an impression that they could do more to follow up on promises given. We only encountered minor issues, but together they were somewhat harmful on our impression. First, we did not get a proper receipt for what we had paid - only a credit card slip as their printer was broken. We were promised that a receipt would be left in our room, but we got none. Secondly, we had some minor technical issues in the room - a broken light bulb and a poorly functioning toilet flushing mechanism. These were reported immediately, but nothing was done to fix them even during our stay. Thirdly, we did pre-book a taxi pick-up for our day of departure, but discovered by chance a few days before that they had recorded the wrong time even if we had made our booking in writing. These were all small things, but they did give us the impression that the staff could do more to make sure that the guests' requests are fulfilled.

All in all, we had a pleasant stay and would come back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank blazius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Very attentive and friendly staff . One day before arrival I received an email of the general manager at what time we would arrive and she informed about our flightnumber. On the day of arrival we were welcomed with a big, genuine smile.
Our apartment was enough furnished, therefore also spacious, the beds are ok. We had our own balcony and garden in which it felt good to be. No noise of traffic or anything else noisy. Very peaceful. The garden is well kept, with lots of different colours. Always loungechairs and umbrella's available at the swimmingpool. The water is very soft, hardly any desinfectans, a bit small but quite deep (I experienced different about the depth of swimmingpools in other 4*hotels).
Location: downhill within 15 minutes in the old centre of Funchal with very many nice restaurants with good food, uphill: a taxi is less than 5 euro's when you have a lot of grocerystuff with you, but walking is to do, when you're not that packed
The view is splendid, day- and nighttime.
It is really a place to be, when you want to forget for a while this hasty businessstuff from home.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelyn018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2010

We arrived around 8 pm on the Saturday evening. The gates to the complex were locked and nobody was answering the doorbell or the phone. We frantically tried to call our hotel booking service in the UK but it was closed for the weekend.

I stopped a man who was out walking his dogs to ask if he knew about this hotel. He said that the owners had probably gone into town for the flower festival and he kindly offered to take us into town so that we could get something to eat and wait for the owners to return to the hotel. We put our luggage in his car and after we had eaten he took us back to the hotel. Still no one was there and we could not get in again but fortunately the owner answered her phone this time. She had assumed that because we made the booking in the UK that we were flying from there also. This was the time of the volcanic ash and no planes were coming from the UK. However, we were coming from Lisbon as we had flown there before the ash problem and the flights to Funchal from Lisbon were not affected. Also the owner told us that we should have given a time that we would be arriving as the reception is not 24 hours. Bearing in mind that she had assumed we were not coming anyway I don't know what difference that would have made.

The hotel is set in lovely gardens and the room we were given had wonderful views. The quality of the furnishings was dated and gloomy. Things didn't work such as the toaster and cooker. Also we had to ask for a remote control for our t.v. and an iron which took two days to arrive.

The location wasn't great as you have to take a bus or a taxi to get to and from Funchal especially coming back as the climb is very steep.

All in all I would never stay here again. I also found Funchal to be rather boring.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SW9Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2008

We had high hopes of this Quinta because it looked so nice on the website. We had requested a quiet room with a sea view but there was a building site right beneath our apartment with 2 large cranes obstructing the view of the sea. We were moved to a smaller studio at the back of the Quinta with no view. We would not have booked this accommodation if we had been told about the building site. It is a shame because this would have been a nice place to stay otherwise. 20 min walk to town - catch bus 32 back up the steep hill or get a cheap taxi. Lots of barking dogs but they tend to be quiet during the night.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank MellyMelBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinahuber, General Manager at Quinta Mae Homens Apartments, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
General information - There have been no more building works going on below us since the summer of 2009.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
2.8 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#20 of 86 in Funchal
239 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 86 in Funchal
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
2.4 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#7 of 86 in Funchal
1,378 reviews
2.2 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Mae Homens Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Mae Homens Apartments

Property: Quinta Mae Homens Apartments
Address: Rua Mae Homens 39, Funchal, Madeira 9060-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta Mae Homens Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quinta Mae Homens Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Mae Homens Apartments Hotel Funchal
Quinta Mae Homens Apartments Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing