We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel, good prices”
Review of Raga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Raga Hotel
Ranked #50 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean hotel, good prices”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We were here for our honeymoon for two weeks ( end of July-beginning of August) and we were very satisfied with the prices of our stay at hotel Raga. The hotel is very clean, comfortable, big rooms and very well situated in the city of Funchal, with easy acces to the city center and the Lido area. We had only breakfast included, which was good, except for the omlet which for me it was uneatable.
The swmming pool is ok, cleaned every morning. They lack indoor swimming pool or a spa.
Otherwise good hotel, highly recommend it for travlers whith medium budget who want to experience the island.

Room Tip: rooms with a seaside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pop_andramaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    334
    205
    74
    20
See reviews for
113
429
44
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Clean, adequate room if a touch small... Wouldn't want to stay longer than a week. Good shower, comfortable bed and pillows. No tea/coffee-making facilities and a small fridge, so calling it an 'aparthotel' is stretching it a bit. Balconey is big enough for two and the sea view is worth paying for. Only two ancient lifts for 11 floors.

Breakfast is a multi-lingual scrum and the coffee is vile. Best to go out by the swimming pool exit to the street below, turn left and have four cups of coffee and a couple of delicious pastries for less than 4 euros at the patisserie next door.

Location is very good... a three-minute walk to the Lido but a much longer one back up the hill to the hotel! The town is 5-10 minutes away by the regular yellow bus service (Nos 1, 2, 4 and 6). Get a cheap Giro card from a tobaconist.

Although the Lido is currently closed there are many restaurants and bars nearby. The Qasbar, below the Hotel Melia Madeira Mare, is great for hanging out during the day, and the Paella restaurant next to the patisserie was excellent. But nothing is free in Madeira... if you didn't order it, send it back: otherwise you will pay for it!

At night, the hotel bar is rendered practically uninhabitable by Teutonic-style music (unless you like that kind of thing). It may have been a failure of imagination but there didn't seem to be that much on at night in Madeira... we passed on the 'Bada Bing' night club in the Old Town.

Going self-catering next time.

Room Tip: Skip breakfast at the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We enjoyed a stay here for one week with a beatiful view of the Atlantic from the balcony. Very good cleaning, no noise, great breakfast with nice service people.

Minuses: Matresses very hard - (my back hurt some nights), shower difficult to maneuver under (why don't they make proper shower places instead of the tup?), no electric kettle in the room (had to boil coffee water in the microwave oven). Breakfast coffee was awful (but the cafe coffee buyable wonderful). Ice cream range in pool cafe too poor.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrotherTuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

The Hotel Raga is well positioned in the hotel district of Funchal. It is an attractive, modern building and is well appointed. The staff are friendly and helpful. The gym is small but useable, there is a TV room as well as a TV in each bedroom. The pool is a good size with plenty of sunbeds. What lets the hotel down is its food. Both breakfast and dinner are mediocre. You can get a good meal in their basement restaraunt called 'Five'.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longtallmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

The Raga isa very friendly clean and welcoming hotel. We have been coming here for number years now and feel we need to write a review about it .

The staff are very welcoming from the time you arrive, the rooms are very clean tidy and comfortable with clean linen and towels everyday. The bathrooms have a bath and powershower.

Hotel cater's for everyones needs for breakfast from hot and cold buffet sytle i.e bread rolls to hot breakfast. And again the staff are friendly and if you can't see what you would like they will try and help you.

Our overview of this hotel is always good and we always have a brill stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mstevens678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

This was the first time we had been back since it was renovated 3 or 4 years go.We are frequent visitors to the Island and i can assure you the accommodation side is as good as any up in the Hotel area.Its spotless and very quiet and private.I cant say i really enjoyed all the cooked items that were on offer for breakfast,but there was plenty of cold meats and cheeses to enjoy,with a good selection of breads and fruits.
The reception area is a pretty soulless place as is the bar,but that's the same for all the dozen or so hotels i have stayed in on the Island,and i cant recommend the sun beds.
The staff are extremely efficient,and are picking up plates and glasses as soon as you have finished with them,which can get you down a bit.The management are always on site and run a pretty tight ship.
I did not eat in the hotel at night,we always enjoy the local cuisine that can be found nearby or in the old town at night,and i would recommend you take only the Bed and Breakfast option,so you also can enjoy the varied delightful food on offer at reasonable prices.
The location of the hotel is fine,handy for nearby restaurants and the bus stop.
We had booked this holiday with Thomas Cook.Due to the adverse weather conditions in the UK we were delayed for two nights .Thomas Cook did us proud and we were looked after extremely well for the extra time we were there,being given all food and accommodation in a similar four star hotel near the airport.A very caring company indeed.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mediterraneanmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

We were put up at The Raga as a result of delayed flight to the UK. The food was awful and the staff were rude and uncaring. The room was pokey on the 6th floor. I had no cutlery and more or less had it thrown at me. The coffee was disgusting. You could not open the balcony door for high winds.You accessed the restuarant from the outside. No room to even oput your sponge bag in the bathroom. The pillows smelled dirty and were as flat as tissue. I would not stay here again if they paid me, a dreadful hotel. No atmosphere and the staff were rude. The mini bar only had two glasses in and theywanted 2 eurosfor abottle of water in the room. Dreadful hotel...AVOID.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank madeiraaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Funchal hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#44 of 86 in Funchal
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#42 of 86 in Funchal
603 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Jardins d’Ajuda Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Enotel Quinta do Sol
#34 of 86 in Funchal
736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
#56 of 86 in Funchal
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raga Hotel

Property: Raga Hotel
Address: Estrada Monumental 302, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Raga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Raga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raga Aparthotel Funchal
Raga Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Raga Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing