We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$520
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$371
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$473
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$353
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$343
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (874)
Filter reviews
874 results
Traveller rating
151
374
238
85
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
374
238
85
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewboutique lidolido areacake shoppool arealovely hotelminute walkbed and breakfastno tea coffee making facilitiescooked itemsclean hotelpool towelsbarking dogscleaned every daypingo docebread rollsfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
273 - 278 of 874 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Came here as part of a last minute package to escape the winter. Really glad we did. Hotel very clean, great breakfasts - filling enough to last a day's walking and a nice pool to end the day with. Staff very friendly and produced a lovely surprise for my wife's birthday. Location good with a hire car and could get to whichever part of the island didn't have cloud that day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winterwalker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Raga hotel was spotlessly clean,the staff helpful and mostly friendly. Our cleaner always smiled and said good morning. Our room was a good size, but would have benefited from more lighting. Beds were very comfortable and the bathroom a good size with very efficient extractor fan.
We stayed bed and breakfast and found the breakfasts substantial with plenty of variety. We had an evening meal there once, that was a help yourself buffet style, so although a bit limited in choice, nevertheless the food was of a very high standard and buffet meant you had control over quantities.
The swimming pool area was kept clean and tidy with plenty of sun loungers. I would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Room on the south side were much sunnier.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank georgeHebdenbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We visited this hotel July 2011
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Raga, staff we so friendly and helpful and the rooms were spotless. It was always possible to get a sun lounger by the pool even in the early evening after returning from a day out. Such a lovely location with a lovely little coffee shop around the corner. Breakfasts were lovely and we hope to return soon.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Hotel Raga was a pleasant experience for me,comfortable rooms,good beds and bath and pleasant view.
The price was very attractive as well: booked a package holiday from the netherlands and worked out the room-price by deducting flight_cost:it is around 30-40euro per person,breakfast included january(low season).
There only free wifi at lounge-reception area and the breakrlls taste better than cooked englisch breakfast items.
The heated pool is comfortable in winter.
On the other side of the road are the beautiful porto mare hotel gardens and a bus-stop to Funchal centre.
2 Pingo doce super-markets,the closer one with a budget self-service restaurant,the other near coastal walk Lido has more choice in products.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Having read both good and not so good reviews on the Raga, i didnt know what to expect.

Checking in was a breeze with the cheerful old dears on reception. (ok - maybe 'old dears' isnt an exact description age-wise, but they werent kids, thats for sure.)

We were on the 7th floor, so at least guaranteed a view of sorts. Turned out we were on a rear corner, with a tiny balcony. Whereby if we craned our necks enough round the corner, the sea was there in view.
Luckily, we didnt have cause to spend so much time on said postage stamp, so it wasnt crucial we couldnt see the Hanging Gardens of Babylon etc. The room - well ive had bigger, but also smaller. So it was ok i suppose. What it definitely was, was spotless, as was the whole building. It would easily pass the 'white glove' test - even under the floorboards!

The room was also underlit for me. But the beds were comfy. The bathroom was a decent size, and the shower had plenty of hot water. The two lifts coped despite the place being full. And the corridors didnt smell of damp - or worse, in the stairways.

We only ate breakfast in the hotel. Which was fine for a week. But as the cooked side leaned a bit too far towards the European taste, i was struggling if im honest come day 7. The drinks in the bars were fine, though it had 0% atmos at all times.

Staff were a bit miserable to be honest, apart from said reception, and our 'cleaner' - who was never without a smile, and would get you anything you needed at the drop of a hat. The rest really struggled to crack anything approaching a smile, but again were helpful if required.

Ive scored this Average, in the absence of a 'Good' rating. The next being Very Good - which it wasnt. Would i return? Well i wouldn't not return, but there are too many better options round and about now ive looked round.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YorkshireMixter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews