We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st visit”
Review of Raga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raga Hotel
Ranked #50 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Very clean room, small balcony but great sea view. Maid service every day. Despite what others have said we found all the staff friendly and helpful, especially the old dears at reception. Breakfast was geared for the europeans however plenty to get a start in the morning. It was very warm during our stay however always plenty of beds at the pool and the pool attendant would get you a sun canopy if you requested one. Plenty of bars etc nearby, Hole in One, being our favourite, which is good as the hotel bar lacked atmosphere. 30 minute walk into Funchal or 10 by bus with plenty of places to stop off for a beer before moving on. 4 star by Madeira standards but a 3 star by British standards. Request a sea view.

Room Tip: pay for the sea view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scotref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
There are newer reviews for Raga Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 774 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for a week late April 2014, and the rooms are nice & clean. The breakfast is fine, although fresh fruit juices and a better selection of fruit to demonstrate the great produce of Madeira would have been nice.

A small misunderstanding with the chambermaid and €13 left on the sink was swiftly and professionally handled. The pool attendant working Sunday 27 April was most unhelpful and rather rude, but we all have bad days, don't we....? Would I come back? Well, it wouldn't be my first choice simply because of the location, however it is a good hotel, which I would rate as 3 star rather than 4.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must. We stayed in 204 and 208 and they were good. Bring travel kettle :-)
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Natasja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Clean room, considerate housekeeping service (gave us a small table to put our kettle and tea/coffee bits on - they don't have a hospitality tray). The reception team while not happy and smiley in general were always efficient and helpful at all times.

The Room was clean, and perfectly acceptable while not in any way luxurious, nothing to complain about. We did strike VERY LUCKY, we were upgraded, had booked a room with a balcony and could very easily have had a room with a view of the mountain, of steep hill at the rear and very dark but we had a view of the sea and the sun from 4 pm through to sunset at 8 pm which was lovely.

Breakfast was perfectly acceptable, very busy, had 4 staff busy clearing and topping up the whole time and often difficult to find a table to base yourself while collecting from the self service breakfast array, the quality of the breakfast was better than OK but not amazing.

If you don't want to spend a fortune this is ideal, provides B&B, clean room, wifi in the reception area and by the pool which was quite pleasant.

Room Tip: a room with a view is a definite plus, the higher your room the better the view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMWBexhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Hotel was clean and nice, regular breakfast. Place was good, near is lot of reastaurants and little shops. Hotell stuff was litle stiff behavior but they are helpful. Take room for sea view, it's value for your money.

Room Tip: Sea view, it was good value for money.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TuomoR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The best about Raga is the location. It is close to the sea, and small restaurants with a wide variety of international food are easy to find in any direction from the Raga. The hotel itself is quite OK, clean and well-functioning. We only had breakfast, and were fairly happy with the selections. Probably eggpowder for the scrambled eggs, but the bacon was real. Nice maidservice, and good view from our ninth floor room. All in all, we are quite satisfied with our 2 weeks stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank HalvorJohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had requested a high floor room and were a little disappointed to be given one on the 2nd floor as we were told there were no rooms available at the present time on the top floors. Not a great start, but on seeing the room, a corner one, we were okay. It had a full fridge microwave and sink, which was unexpected, and everywhere was spotlessly clean. Towels were changed daily if they were left in the bath,with toiletries replaced if they were used.Water was always lovely and hot in a nice strong shower.
Breakfast was fine except for the juices which is typical of many hotels-more like squash than juice. There was always fresh bread and rolls with hot and cold buffet,plenty for everyone. We were only on a band b basis and had no trouble finding evening meals nearby or dine in the centre and catch a bus back.
The hotel is located within easy walking distance of Funchal centre for most people, The local buses ran from in front of the hotel just one street down and there are many tours that once booked pick up at hotel reception making it easy to explore the island direct from the hotel .It would have helped if reception had bus timetables but they told us to go to the bus stops to find the times!
Buy a Giro card from local shops to save money on bus fares 1.95 if you pay the driver but 1.35 euro if you use a preloaded giro card for the same journey.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a seaview room.well worth it
Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank TelfordTwinkle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

A real 4* star hotel in good location,but no WiFi in the clean and comfortable rooms. We enjoyed our stay there. We had nice weather to take excursions on the island. The available time table of the airport transfer bus is not valid,we landed after the last bus to Funchal .

Room Tip: the best view to the see from the room no1104( on the top floor)
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank László G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#44 of 88 in Funchal
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#41 of 88 in Funchal
614 reviews
0.6 mi away
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Enotel Quinta do Sol
#33 of 88 in Funchal
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Jardins d’Ajuda Suite Hotel
0.1 mi away
Four Views Monumental Lido
1.1 mi away
Four Views Baia
Four Views Baia
#25 of 88 in Funchal
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raga Hotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 302, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £41 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Raga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raga Aparthotel Funchal
Raga Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Raga Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing