We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay at Raga”
Review of Raga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Raga Hotel
Ranked #51 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Nice hotel, in good location. We had room on 8th floor with sea view which was lovely. Bathroom was modern with good shower, towels not great, but bedding was good quality. Rooms were cleaned every day, however bedding was not changed during week stay. Beds are very firm! Breakfast was fine, and it was nice to sit outside looking out to sea, however watch out for the seaguls pinching your food! I would recommend this hotel, and would not choose one any further away from centre. Nightlife is low key but there is enough restaurants within walking distance of hotel, Chinese is good. Hole in One is nice for drinks & snacks.

Use yellow buses to/from centre, €1.95 regardless of where you get on/off, or buy loaded tickets from giro kiosk/some shops as journeys are €1.35 for 0-9 journeys or €1.25 for 9+ journeys. Also once at bus terminal in centre you can get all over island by bus. Maderia is very scenic and Nuns Valley is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Sea view on high floor is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 803 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a sea view room and enjoyed many a balmy evening sitting out on the balcony enjoying a cool drink and admiring the beautiful scenery. The bedroom was spotlessly clean and we had daily cleaning services. The hotel staff were warm, friendly and extremely helpful.

Good variety at breakfast and catered for all needs.

All in all an enjoyable stay and we would certainly go there again

Room Tip: if possible request room with a sea view as rooms not with sea view overlook houses and other hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Clean and friendly, good breakfast, lovely pool.

Beds uncomfortable could feel all the springs

They definitely need to invest in some new towels, the larger were thread bare, totally worn out. This towel was also for the swimming pool totally inadequate, luckily I took one with me , but don't expect to do this in a 4 star

Didn't really need a TV but there was one in the room reception not good.

Room Tip: must have a sea view at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OND69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Very clean room, small balcony but great sea view. Maid service every day. Despite what others have said we found all the staff friendly and helpful, especially the old dears at reception. Breakfast was geared for the europeans however plenty to get a start in the morning. It was very warm during our stay however always plenty of beds at the pool and the pool attendant would get you a sun canopy if you requested one. Plenty of bars etc nearby, Hole in One, being our favourite, which is good as the hotel bar lacked atmosphere. 30 minute walk into Funchal or 10 by bus with plenty of places to stop off for a beer before moving on. 4 star by Madeira standards but a 3 star by British standards. Request a sea view.

Room Tip: pay for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scotref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for a week late April 2014, and the rooms are nice & clean. The breakfast is fine, although fresh fruit juices and a better selection of fruit to demonstrate the great produce of Madeira would have been nice.

A small misunderstanding with the chambermaid and €13 left on the sink was swiftly and professionally handled. The pool attendant working Sunday 27 April was most unhelpful and rather rude, but we all have bad days, don't we....? Would I come back? Well, it wouldn't be my first choice simply because of the location, however it is a good hotel, which I would rate as 3 star rather than 4.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must. We stayed in 204 and 208 and they were good. Bring travel kettle :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Natasja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Clean room, considerate housekeeping service (gave us a small table to put our kettle and tea/coffee bits on - they don't have a hospitality tray). The reception team while not happy and smiley in general were always efficient and helpful at all times.

The Room was clean, and perfectly acceptable while not in any way luxurious, nothing to complain about. We did strike VERY LUCKY, we were upgraded, had booked a room with a balcony and could very easily have had a room with a view of the mountain, of steep hill at the rear and very dark but we had a view of the sea and the sun from 4 pm through to sunset at 8 pm which was lovely.

Breakfast was perfectly acceptable, very busy, had 4 staff busy clearing and topping up the whole time and often difficult to find a table to base yourself while collecting from the self service breakfast array, the quality of the breakfast was better than OK but not amazing.

If you don't want to spend a fortune this is ideal, provides B&B, clean room, wifi in the reception area and by the pool which was quite pleasant.

Room Tip: a room with a view is a definite plus, the higher your room the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMWBexhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Hotel was clean and nice, regular breakfast. Place was good, near is lot of reastaurants and little shops. Hotell stuff was litle stiff behavior but they are helpful. Take room for sea view, it's value for your money.

Room Tip: Sea view, it was good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TuomoR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#46 of 88 in Funchal
360 reviews
5.3 mi away
Eira do Serrado Hotel & SPA
1.9 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#35 of 88 in Funchal
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aparthotel Imperatriz
Aparthotel Imperatriz
#55 of 88 in Funchal
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
292 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#24 of 88 in Funchal
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raga Hotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 302, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £44 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Raga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raga Aparthotel Funchal
Raga Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Raga Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing