We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like Business Hotel”
Review of Four Views Baia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Views Baia
Ranked #27 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Just spent 2 weeks in Madeia as a close relative was taken ill in Madeira. The hotel is modern with great deco. Our room was on the 5th floor and at the back of the hotel. The view was very tall trees. The room was clean and beds large and comfy. We did find it a bit cool and used the extra blanket most nights. On arrival there is coffee, tea etc. But only for your arrival. If you wanted more you had to pay 3.50 euros per pack. Great shower, and bathroom, however, you could look out of a floor to ceiling window while sat on the toilet! The blind was pulled down continously!! The room cleaned everyday with fresh towels. Limited channels on the TV.
Breakfast was good with everything you could have possibly wanted. Evening meals cost 21.50 euros, I didn't like the meals. They mainly catered for the German people as the hotel was filled with predominantly german folk. The desserts were really nice and so was the bread. But 21.50 was very expensive for just that. We ended up having meals from the room service which were quite nice and for two of us and room charge and tip came to about the same as one meal in the resturant. The internet was free however, there was only two computers which I found incredible considering the size of the hotel.
The views from the resturant and pool area were amazing and overlooking all of Funchal. The hotel run a bus daily from the hotel to the marina. However, you had to book the day before. Some of the reception staff were very accomodating and helped us sending faxes and making calls to insurance company. Although some of them were very serious and didn't crack a smile.
The hill up to the hotel is ok as long as you don't rush or easy if you are fit. We use to get a taxi back with cost about 5 euro. As we were there Christmas day they did leave us a small gift of port and a madeia cake. The daily rate I thought was very expensive not just over the christmas period but before christmas. I wouldn't have been happy paying 96-170 euros per night for room only in any other circumstances.
Christmas day there was no atmosphere at all. Nobody greeted you or even raised an eyebrow. There is nightly entertainment but most night the bar was near empty.
Madeia was lovely, the christmas lights were amazing and the Madeian people we met were very friendly. The hospitals were amazing with my relative although I don't think I would go back to that hotel.
It very much felt like a holiday inn or some sort of buisness hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Candicemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed here on September 2011 on honeymoon and we loved it!

Very modern hotel with great staff and great service. The room was so big with a amazing balcony with the best view i ever had in a hotel room.

The view that we had from Funchal Baia was unforgettable. The breakfast was always so fresh and good! We could eat there every morning.

We also had one dinner on the restaurant and beside it was a little pricey, the food was also very good.

The hotel is located in one hill, above Funchal. It's a very quiet zone and you will not be disturbed there. It's a 10 minute walk to Funchal center and by car it's like 2 or 3 minutes to Funchal center.

We would love to get back there one day since we had such a great time! We loved Madeira and this hotel contributed big time for that.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view to Funchal Baia. You will be amazed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BFCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

Having returned to Madeira for NYE we had to come back to Baia. The hotel was fully booked for that week and we thought service could not be so good but we were not disappointed. Everything ran smooth, we had a slight problem with our room which had problem with the balcony door so they moved up to a Superior Sea View, 9th floor , they views were just breathtaking! We had our curtains always open when going to bed so that we would be waken up with the sunrise through our room! Gala dinner was fantastic in NYE and the fireworks truly deserve the world guiness record ! The only negative point was The pool that was a bit chilly but the temperature and the weather was lovely at 24 C ! We could have gone to the indoor pool but we couldnt miss that sun! Lovely way to end 2012!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AdamVic74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

+ The breakfast was truly excellent: e.g. an omelette bar, a large variety of fresh fruit like passion fruit, sparkling wine, just to name a few above the usual.
+ The view from the all glass outer wall to the bay of Funchal, both from our room and the breakfast room.

But that's where the plusses end.

- The room was dusty and stained even fresh after the cleaning lady.
- The bathroom was a joke: a tiny shower cabinet with a dirty curtain right next to the door in a rather large space which was totally wasted with this layout.
- The pool outside was good looking, but the water was not heated. This together with gusts of winds made it impossible to stay at the pool even on a sunny day.
- The hidious traffic noise from the four-lane right next to the hotel.
- The inside "spa" cost 5 euro extra, although most of the special features were out of order. We were still charged the full price.
- Cocky receptionists. Terribly impolite service.

So not worth it. i can't remember when I was last so disappointed in a hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank EvenJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Having visited, and loved, Funchal many times we decided to choose a hotel in a slightly different location. The Four Views looked impressive in the brochure and indeed the views were quite impressive. However, the studio rooms were dark and unlikely to ever get the sun even in the height of summer. The pool area did not have enough space for all those who wanted to find a sunny spot. We were expected to pay 5 euros each per day to use the indoor swimming pool and gym facilities. I have never experienced this in any other hotel. We found the hotel quite impersonal and that basic information e.g. acquiring towels for sunbathing was not immediately available. We also had to pay a 20 euro depost for our two shabby orange towels! The walk into town was not the prettiest, although in fairness Funchal does not have any really undesirable parts. The breakfast was good but the drinks were from a machine and the coffee was like mud. I heard a Portuguese business man request some 'real coffee' from one of the waitresses which then miraculously appeared from the kitchen. Most of the staff were pleasant - particularly those in the dining room and bar areas. There was little outside space in which to relax and as the hotel is situated on a busy roadway there was little peace. The standards of cleanliness etc. were good. We had a problem with our first studio room in that we had an ant infestation and had to throw all our food away. This was due to weather and nature and not a fault of the hotel. This was dealt with in a satisfactory way in that we were allocated another room and a free dinner for two as compensation. We would not stay at the Four Views again as it did not suit the relaxing holiday brief that we had given ourselves. It seems more appropriate and geared towards business travellers who want a clean city base.

Room Tip: studio rooms will never get the sun due to the aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Almost a fortress hotel on the hill has only one disadvantage: you are 20 minutes walk far from the coast, so swimming in the sea is little bit off the hand. Admitedly, the hotel will compensate this fact with beautiful Funchal city views and easy hotel car parking free of charge. The hotel keeps all of the high standards that other hotels from Four Views chain possess, little dissappointing being the entrance fee for the interior swimming pool and fitness centre for other than non-superior rooms guests. Internet connection with self service printing machine free of charge was a nice surprise. Right from the hotel you can access one of the many city levadas (irrigation channels) for a nice walk. You also can save some money on your drink expenses when you dont find necessary that cleaning ladies do your room every day. This dungeon-like hotel will not dissappoint you by any means.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kamil Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Half way up a hill, so quite a walk from Funchal [if you want to be near the action]. Down hill out, but a massive walk back to the hotel. This was a hotel we could have booked. There are a three Four Views hotels on Madeira, we had a nosey in them all, as they had all been options in the holiday brochures.
The driveway and the entrance and the overall look looks very swish as you arrive. And very modern feel. Room balconies are very small. The sun terrace looks great, with double wicker sunloungers, and great views over the city....however it is situated hanging over a busy highway, and the sound of traffic would disturb any quite relaxing book read. We are so glad we decided to stay somewhere else instead.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
2  Thank Harricobean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
2.7 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#30 of 88 in Funchal
412 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
3,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#15 of 88 in Funchal
2,362 reviews
1.6 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 88 in Funchal
1,197 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Views Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Baia

Address: Rua Maravilhas 74, Funchal, Madeira 9000-177, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Funchal
#15 Family Hotel in Funchal
#27 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#35 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £76 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Baia 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Four Views Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Views Baia
Four Views Baia Hotel Funchal
Sao Joao Hotel
Four Views Baia Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing