We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view”
Review of Four Views Baia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Views Baia
Ranked #26 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Spent one week at the Four Views Baia hotel in Funchal, Madeira (third visit to Madeira). Had a room at 9th floor with a fantastic view over Funchal. Also in other respects this hotel was very good with friendly and helpful staff, a very good breakfast restaurant and a pleasant pool area with a snack bar. Free internet all over, with cable connection in the room and Wi-Fi in the lobby. The Four Views Baia is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank UBtParga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

Having not long since returned from a week in Madeira, I could recommend this hotel to anyone who can cope walking up and down hills. The hotel is very clean everywhere. The standard twin room (612) is very well proportioned and is on the corner of the building at the rear with excellent views up the valley. The balcony which faces to the rear of the property had a large tree in front which gave some shade until about 4pm then it was just right to sit out. If you opened the curtains to the sitting area you could then sit on the balcony and look out up the valley.

We stayed on half board and the food was very good. There was enough choice (different every day) to be able to satisfy even the most fussy of eaters. (My husband being no exception, he managed to eat 4 courses every day at dinner.) Only complaint would be the bacon in the mornings, this was rather fatty, but then again where outside of England isn't it.

If you don't use the courtesy bus (which you have to book the day before) to get into the town, then I would suggest that you walk towards the Casino and up and down the hill through Santa Catarina Park, lovely area and much easier to walk.

The pool area is very clean, there are however in my opinion to many beds and not enough brollies. Kids pool is in the sun all day long with no shade at all. This is more a couples hotel than a family one.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room or a corner room at the rear looking up the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were clean, modern and just what we needed for our 5 day break. All the staff were very friendly and polite. they genuinely were happy to help and we felt like their guests. The views from all angles of the hotel were stunning. It is a bit of a walk to the old town and traditional restaurants but we knew this before we came to the island. It would also be nice to have the option of a double bed too. The only thing I would say that let's the hotel down is the hot breakfast options are not very appealing. Gave us both upset tummys. We were fine when we stuck to cereals and pastries though. This and the wifi is not always available and we never had wifi in the room as advertised.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The rooms we had were on the 9th floor and very clean. Hotel is based in the residential area of Funchal and about 15 min walk to either the new or old area. Breakfast is abit hit and miss,the cold buffet is lovely with fruit and fresh bread but the hot food is not brilliant.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed here on a business trip to Madeira and was quite impressed with the stunning views the hotel offers from the great spot where it is located (though a bit far from the centre). Indeed the large windows of the bar/restaurant on the 2nd floor can give a nice start of the day while having breakfast.
However, I was quite unlucky with the internet access, that is free with wifi on public areas and also free but with cable in the rooms. I had to work while in the room so requested the cable at the reception desk, but it didn't work. Maybe there was some problem, asked them to see and they changed the cable for another one and still that didn't work! The (spacious) room had 2 places to connect and also the telephone cable but neither worked. The result was that I really had to work while there so had to remain in the lobby until around 2 am using the wifi, and this could have been avoided...
The hotel could also improve the offer of fresh fruit at breakfast, being a 4-star located on such a gifted island for that matter.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RuiAna_ptbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Reception with its 'red lights' at night is a bit dated and I was expecting 'ladies of night' to appear ! Lift / Elevators take a long to arrive - during breakfast its easier to walk down the stairs - unless you are on the 10th floor! Rooms are nice - beds are hard (Scandinavians love hard beds!). Breakfast is a fight and quality of some items not so good. Hot eggs dishes can take 20 minutes to cook - Breakfast chefs were too slow. My balcony was so small & less than 1 m2 the door would not open fully & impossible for 2 persons to sit down. Steep walk to city center not for the weak kneed! . After asking daily for 4 days to fix air con - nothing was done! Nice chamber maid - very friendly (no English) & did a good job looking after room. Exception value if you are on a package holiday. Cat 5 Internet never worked but Reception obtained a USB WiFi unit for last 5 days of stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a harbor view - great view of the cruise ships
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank johnccsifin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Had 2 weeks Holiday in Madeira, this was our first visit. It was as beautiful as we had been told, the flowers were everywhere & the smell was gorgeous, fortunately it didn't affect my husbands heyfever.We stayed in the Four Views Baia, a good hotel but a climb from the town, we didn't find it a problem, but some might. There was a mini bus 4x aday from the hotel to the harbour area, if the legs get tired.There are lots of walking to be done if you want. Buses & taxis are plentiful & cheap.We didnt find a great deal to occupy us the 2nd week, the boat trip to the nearest island we thought expensive At 84 Euros each without meals,it departed at 8.30. & arrived back 9pm so we would miss breakfast & dinner at the hotel(we stayed half board).The coach tour round the west of the island is worth seeing.The weather wasn't very good, cloudy but warm, occasional sun which was hot. It can be changable!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlendaSaleCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
1.0 mi away
Four Views Monumental Lido
5.5 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
786 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#16 of 88 in Funchal
2,241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#33 of 88 in Funchal
2,908 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#29 of 88 in Funchal
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Views Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Baia

Address: Rua Maravilhas 74, Funchal, Madeira 9000-177, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Funchal
#24 Family Hotel in Funchal
#26 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#35 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £68 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Baia 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Four Views Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Views Baia Hotel Funchal
4 Views Baia
Sao Joao Hotel
Four Views Baia Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing