We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pestana Palms(Funchal)
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$578
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$486
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (895)
Filter reviews
895 results
Traveller rating
351
414
98
24
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
414
98
24
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townpool decksmall balconygreat views of funchalminute walksea viewwalk downhillair conditionsteep hillcommon areashotel zonehot foodnice bathroombalcony doormobility problemsexcellent breakfastsuperior room
Filter
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 895 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We chose this hotel for its central location and were disappointed to discover that it is a good 15 min walk to the town centre. It is a very unpleasant walk as you have to keep crossing over and back to avoid walking on the road – there are pedestrian crossings though. Also you need to know to exit by the back of the hotel otherwise you really take your life in your hands. The hotel itself is spacious quiet and clean with friendly helpful staff. There are tea making facilities in the rooms but bring your own teabags if you plan to have more than 2 cups. The pool area is very nice. Should you celebrate your birthday while there the occasion will be well marked! However, I think it is over rated at 4 stars – the decor in the reception area leaves a lot to be desired, the lifts are very small given that there are 11 floors and the air conditioning is not great. Breakfast is average with an over use of machines and having to cut your own bread is a bit much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at the four views after finding the holiday through travel zoo. We were very pleasantly surprised. We had a fantastic time in funchal made even better by the hotel staff. The waiter in the pool terrace was excellent, the reception staff very helpful as were the evening bar staff. Nothing too much trouble. Brilliant bar be que on the saturday which enticed us into the restaurant again on sunday! The only downside was the walk back up to the hotel from the town. We would def reccommend this hotel. Well done four views baia!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank D2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We booked into this hotel through a travel agent and were really pleased when we arrived. We booked a self-catering studio but due to wildfires on the island the previous occupants had to stay for an extra night. The hotel put us in another room for the evening but provided a free dinner and breakfast. Once we got the studio we were really impressed. It was a really good size with everything you could want in facilities. The balcony was a good size compared to the one we had in the normal hotel room.

The pool was a pleasant area and the pool bar was reasonably priced for drinks and food. The bar had live entertainment every night and the whole hotel has a great view over Funchal.

The spa regularly ran offers and I enjoyed the massage which I went for.

Overall really pleased and I'd go back. Its about a 10 minute walk into central Funchal but be prepared for the return walk as it is all uphill!

Room Tip: The studios have better size balconies
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tatumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Do not be put off by the 3 Average rating, if there was an option for Good I would of used that.

After seeing the pictures of this hotel I was a bit disappointed when we arrived. First of all the young lad at reception was excellent, he couldn't help us enough! There was modern furnishings and decor and I liked the orange lights on the dark wood.

We booked a double room, when we finally got up there (the lifts are awful and you wait ages!) they had given us a twin, well the two single beds were together but I wouldn't call it a double. As we were only staying a few nights and after a long morning of touring Funchal we chose to ignore it and avoid going back down as all they probably would of done is put a sheet over the two beds (hard mattress, starchy sheets). There was a nice fruit bowl and water as a welcome. The room was very basic with tv on the wall, table, chairs, tea/coffee facilities, empty fridge that wasn't on, empty white walls, painted on headboard. No decor at all. The bathroom had a square toilet seat, compact shower, one sink on a very very large surface, hairdryer that was stuck onto the wall, a retractable clothes line, the towel rack was at least 5 steps away from the shower next to the toilet and opposite the toilet was a very clear floor to ceiling window...which would have been nice in the bedroom, safe to say the blind was down the entire stay to save the people below the views!

The light at the door was broken and wasn't fixed while we were there, we notified the maid on the first day and even though she was lovely and polite she only visited our room once.

Please Note! You have to leave a 10 euro deposit per pool towel you take, if you use the tea/coffee facilities there's a charge to supply you with another tea bag! and if you return to your room to a nice large bottle of water that you didn't ask for this is not complimentary and you'll have to pay at check-out. Why does a 4* feel the need to charge such minimal costs for basic things?

I was truly looking forward to the breakfast after reading the reviews on here. It was unfortunately a big disappointment. There was tables everywhere full of dishes and left overs. The bread was incredibly dry. Milk was warm. tea and coffee from a dispensing machine you'd find in a hospital. If you just eat fruit, cold meat and cheese then you'd like it as this was 80% of the spread.

We decided to eat at the pool area instead and I must say it saved the day. The food was delicious and was the best chicken we had during the entire time on the island. Everything seemed to be served with crisps which we found odd. The pool itself was nice, not deep in the slightest though, really liked the double sunloungers, careful they do get incredibly hot!

Surprised that we had to pay to use the indoor pool / spa / gym area. Locals used this facility as well. Changing rooms were tiny and all few lockers had been taken. The pool was nice however I had to get out soon after entering as a young man suddenly appeared with a boom box to do a water aerobics class! To save my relaxing time the sauna and steam room was magnificent. They even had the crushed ice and bucket shower for after. You also had stunning views from the Jacuzzi which was cold.

We thoroughly enjoyed one of the nights entertainment, it was two men, one on drums and one on the keyboard. They played and sang all sorts of nostalgic music and took requests. The drinks prices and food is very reasonable, the gentleman who made our drinks was very friendly and always brought them over.

We found the "games room" one evening which consisted of a small snooker table, sofas, and a broken TV. It wasn't even a room just a triangular hallway that allowed people to walk past to their rooms.

Take the straight main road straight into the heart of Funchal,you pass a shopping mall on the way down and come out where H&M is, or use the taxi service if you want to go to the other side of the mountain or casino. It is all one way systems and zebra crossings which you soon get used to. I definitely recommend the cable car, basket ride and a bus over to the nearest beach. If you have children there is one mcdonalds and one pizza hut that we saw and are next door to each other at the harbor.

They are currently building their flood defenses along the harbor but when finished there are rumours there will be a man made beach which really that is all this area is missing.

All in all I probably wouldn't stay here again, the staff were brilliant but the hotel even though looked great and had stunning views had the rooms of a travelodge. I'd highly recommend finding a hotel with more of a Madeiran charm.

Room Tip: Get Sea View unless you want to stare are peoples homes
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank PurpleBeach5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

- Within walking distance from Funchal center
- New modern facilities
- Nice pool area and optional spa
- wifi provided in lobby and pool area, elsewhere not available.
- Great if you rent a car, fast access to highway and parking facilities.
- This is not a 5 star hotel, but easily better than most 4 star hotels.
- Worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Emil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews