We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic Views of Funchal, Lovely clean, spacious modern hotel”
Review of Four Views Baia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Views Baia
Ranked #26 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 10 February 2011

We were lucky enough to be upgraded to the Four Views Baia from the Four Views Oasis as they were having some refurbishment done. Four Views Baia is a very modern, spotlessly clean hotel situated about 10 minute walk from centre of Funchal. Our room was at the front of the hotel, overlooking the gardens next door. It was perfectly quiet at night. Airconditioning, modern decor, lovely clean bathroom (with hairdryer) The staff were fantastic, especially in the restaurant in the evening. The food in the pool bar was a bit hit and miss - 1 day amazing, the other day half the portion size, and presented completely differently. Happy hour in the main bar in the evening from 6 until 7. Price of drinks outside happy hour quite expensive, approx €5 per pint of lager, €2.50 for a very small diet coke and €5.50 for a very small margarita cocktail. Can't say enough about how immaculately clean everywhere is. Spa facilities excellent, althought the steam room was out of order for 3 of the 5 days that we were there which was a shame. Taxis are a very cheap way of getting around the island, especially when 4 people sharing, it was cheaper than getting a bus. Would recommend the botanical gardens, the cable car, and a sight seeing tour of the east of the island. All in all, a wonderful holiday at a very nice hotel. Obrigada! (Thank you)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toadhall123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2011

This hotel is absolutely immaculate,. Even staircases and carparks were gleaming. The spa is gorgeous and the studio rooms are spacious. comfortable and well -equipped. Its not that close to the sea but does have spectacular views of the town especially from the bar and restaurant. You really can't fault the facilities especially as it is a relatively inexpensive hotel. However we did find it a bit dull. We went to the Happy Hour in the bar and as the only people in there we left after one drink feeling positively uncheerful. We heard a couple of crooners with a keyboard one night but this doesn't cut the mustard these days. More fun on the menu please!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petesdragonbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

- NICE, new and fancy hotel! Rooms were really nice, great view, good bed and big bathroom. It also comes with a big flat screen tv, were you can watch all the movies you'de like for 14,5 € during your entire stay, which we enjoyed.
- The spa facilities were cheap and had sauna, steam room, pool, and jacuzzi (which was a little cold, but good)
- The breakfest buffet offered a lot of different choises, one of the better continential breakfestest
- The location was good, a bit of traffic on the road near the hotel but accessable to the city if you to the back entrance of the hotel on your way out. It took 12-15 min by foot to the center og the city.

Since the island dosen't have that much to offer really, its a really good hotel for a 7-day stay, if u wanna have time to kick back and just enjoy your vacation too.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rasmustheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Wonderfull hotel, friendly staff always willing to help and about 5-10 min walk to the harbour in the centre of Funchal. The courtesy bus was also usefull. Would definatley recommend this hotel.
Yes the balcony is small but is designed more for a place smoke o thing but Cosy for 2 people to sit outside and admire the views

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ngood94323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

My husband, teenage son and I stayed at this hotel from22/12 to 28/12/2010. We all had a really good time!
The Hotel
It is a clean, modern hotel within walking distance of the town. Our rooms were on the 9th floor, overlooking the harbour with its amazing views. We enjoyed the fact that it was surrounded by the busy roads, it gave us so much to look at! There is no getting away from the fact that there is road noise, but to be fair, I don't think you could stay in the centre of Funchal without experiencing some traffic noise. Our rooms were spotless and cleaned everyday (except Christmas Day, when we were left a note explaining that they like to give as many of the staff the day off to spend with their families. Which we thought was a good idea AND we were invited to have a cocktail in the bar and a little present was left for us to enjoy, so no hardship really!)
The Food
We don't have much experience of staying in hotels, but we found that there was plenty of choice at meal times. Every morning there was fresh bread, rolls, croissants, a selection of meat, cheese, fruit, cereal, as well as a selection of hot food. There was also tea, coffee, hot chocolate, fruit juice and milk. You could help yourself to as much or as little as you wanted. The staff were on hand to help and clear away your plates ready for your next selection! We stayed half-board and again there was plenty of choice. Every evening there was soup, rolls and bread, followed by salad, cold meats and fish, and a selection of hot food. The best course was pudding with fresh fruit, cakes, pastries, ice cream, etc. So as I say, you were spoilt for choice! We certainly enjoyed ourselves!
Christmas
We have never been away for Christmas before, so were unsure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised! Every evening there was Happy Hour (we never actually went to that, but it was there if you wanted it!) Entertainment was provided every evening in the Woogie Boogie bar and we joined in with the Folk Dancing group that entertained us one night! The hotel provided daytime entertainment too, the one we attended was the Madeiran Wine tasting, which is to be recommended! The staff were attentive without being intrusive. We found that if you wanted advice, the staff on reception were very helpful.
If I had to say one bad thing about the hotel (which is really difficult!), it would be that I found my bed to be very firm, but that's just a personal thing!
We had a really good time staying at the Four Views and would have no hesitation in returning!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizbuffSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We stayed in a studio with well equipped self catering facilities and this was a good choice. The air conditioned bedroom, living area and bathroom were all spacious as was the balcony. Everything was spotless and the modern decor gave the whole studio a bright uncluttered look. The sofa (which could be made into a bed) and armchair were really comfortable and the bed was a supersize. Good and varied lighting throughout and a large wardrobe with plenty of hangers were a definite bonus. Staff were friendly and helpful and the facilities such as the pools and restaurant were first class. A courtesy bus into the centre of town was very useful although it only took about 15 minutes to walk there. All in all the hotel exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hulberthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

My partner and I decided to stay at this hotel for our 2 week holiday, our first time to Madeira, and we were not disappointed.

The hotel is very clean and modern and comfortable. We booked through Thomas Cook and paid a little extra for a "half sea view". I recommend asking for a high up room as the views are great - our room (1006), which is located on the 10th floor was superb and there was only 1 floor above us which I believe is only for the Suites.
The rooms have comfortable beds (if a firm mattress is to your liking) and are equipped with air conditioning, a safe (which you have to pay for but I believe is a must anywhere you go), a fridge and lots of storage space and a table and chairs plus a balcony. The maid service we received was great - towels changed everyday and bedding approx 3 - 4 times over the 2 week stay. The rooms located towards the back of the hotel have kitchens in them.

The breakfast was good, a little repetitive but nice enough. We had cereals, croissants and yoghurt everyday.

The pool area is beautiful, lots of umbrellas for shade and nice comfortable sun loungers. You do have to pay for the double "lovers" loungers though.
You can get free orange towels for use by the pool from the reception area everyday. Just return then afterwards and they'll give you a card to show you've returned them, so you can collect some fresh ones the next day.

We had lunch a couple of times at the pool bar and that was quite nice and not too expensive (roughly 7 euros for a nice burger for example). We also had the BBQ evening meal on one Saturday and that was nice too.

I do need to mention that the hotel is situated on a busy road. I recommend heading out the back of the hotel, through the car park to walk into Funchal as the route is a little easier. The hotel is located on a hill, so we tended to walk into the centre of Funchal (15min walk) and sometimes get a taxi back (which is under 4 euros). With this in mind it may not be ideal for those who can't walk very well or families with small children, but to be honest, most of the Island is like that due to being a Volcanic Island.

We hired a car for 3 days and managed to get around most of the island, the hotel does have free car parking and there is plenty of spaces.

There are loads of other hotels situated in the Lido Area (or Hotel Zone), but this one is closer to Funchal Centre, that's why we choose this particular one.

I would visit this hotel again, and definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly_Sinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsergiocosta, General Manager at Four Views Baia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2010

Obrigado!!!
That's thank you in Portuguese and that goes to thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel in TripAdvisor.We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay on the Island of Madeira and I agree completely that our convenient location is a great asset.
We look forward seeing you again in our Hotel.
Obrigado!!!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
2.7 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#31 of 88 in Funchal
411 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#35 of 88 in Funchal
3,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 88 in Funchal
1,197 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.3 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#16 of 88 in Funchal
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Views Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Baia

Address: Rua Maravilhas 74, Funchal, Madeira 9000-177, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Funchal
#15 Family Hotel in Funchal
#26 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#35 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £76 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Baia 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Four Views Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Views Baia Hotel Funchal
4 Views Baia
Sao Joao Hotel
Four Views Baia Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing