We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Holiday Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Enotel Lido Madeira
Ranked #22 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My wife and I booked this hotel via 'Jet 2' and as 'All Inclusive', we were not disappointed in any way. On arrival at the hotel we were dealt with by very friendly and welcoming reception staff who were very efficient in processing our room and All Inclusive wrist bands. They briefly explained about the resturant, bars and the 3 'free' themed restaurants that were available to book during our stay.
Our room was on the 4th Floor and was very spacious and very clean, with the cleaning and replacing of bed linen as required being done to a very high standard. Bottled Water and soft drinks from the in room fridge were constantly replaced as used, as were any toiletries used. One item not provided in the room is Milk portions, so if you like you coffee or Tea white, you had to 'obtain' some from one of the bars or restaurants or have it black. There was a free 'in room' safe, which was a bonus. We did have an occassional 'whiff' from the drainage sytem, especially if the room was closed up all day.

The view from our room was great with the bay outstretched to our left and the pool and sunbathing terraces below. We used the restaurant for nearly all our meals and found a wide varied selection of food available at all times, together with Beer and Wine, plus soft drinks as required. The waiting staff were very good in cleaning the tables of used plates and empty glasses and rushed around to ensure that nobody was waiting to get seated. They were friendly, helpful, and very obliging. My wife and I soon felt comfortable with the care and service they gave to us. One point the Hotel should look out for is the table coverings, though clean and replaced frequently, they were 'too large' and did make a trip hazard for the unwary.
We took advantage of the 'themed restaurants' and found them all to be very good with quick service and eager to please staff. I would recommend the Maderian and Japanese in paticular.

Whilst we walked into Funchal by our own choice, there is a frequent and good bus service very near to the entrance, but visitors beware the terrain of Funchal is hilly and if you are not good at walking, then a bus or a taxi is best for you.

When we were not sightseeing, then we took used the sunbeds provided, there were plenty but a little too close together with some guests claiming sunbeds as early as 7.00am in the morning, but only using them a couple of hours during the day. Invariably those were the ones next to the limited number of sunshades, so the hotel should look at this abuse for its more considerate guests.
The entertainment on the evenings was varied both in content and quality, from the poor( The Parrot Show) to good, (Musical Show Time and Singing duo's in paticular)
On our last day our transfer arrived on time, our suitcases brought from storage for us bang on time.
I have read other reviews about this hotel, and you will always get some that expect more, and also unrealistic expectations, all I can say is, this hotel was 5 star for its location, weather, and service. True, you might expect more from a London 5 star Hotel, but get real, this hotel offered great accomodation, hard working friendly staff, a constant choice of good food, drinks throughout the day and night.
Our holiday was a great success from start to finish, and we would return there without hesitation, as the minor quibbles are that.............. 'minor'

Room Tip: If possible go for a room that overlooks the pool and sea area, the others look out onto buildings w...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,526)
There are newer reviews for Enotel Lido Madeira
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,878 - 1,884 of 2,526 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed at the hotel as a couple through First Choice for 2 weeks in July on an all inclusive basis, on arrival we checked in very quickly and efficiently with friendly reception staff, we were more than happy with our room that overlooked the pool and sea. Our room was lovely and clean, the maid came in everyday, the safe was free, which is rare and we have stayed at a few five star hotel's in the past, we found nothing too much trouble, there was plenty of choice at meal times, i have read plenty of reviews previously and all I can say is some people just have to complain about anything! we didn't check out the Japanese or Italian restaurant which were free if pre-booked as we were quite happy with the buffet restaurant however other quests we spoke to said how good they were. The towels were also free...again rare, and the waiters around the pool very eager to serve and also brought a choice of drinks alcoholic and soft drinks directly to you at the pool....what more could you ask for! overall we had a brilliant stay the only one little nag would be that there was a shortage of sun shades, we only spent a few hours a day at the pool in the afternoon and it appeared some people bagged their beds and sun shades and disappeared for hours. Again some people make big issues about nothing and we found the Hotel always seemed to go out of their way to address problems....we would recomend.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 7th floor, good sea view and quiet
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and for having enjoyed your holiday at The ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.
We thank you for sharing your hapiness with us,so that we can only improve to provide our guests more satisfaction and elevate the quality service.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to thank this opportunity to send you our best regards,

We sincerely hope to welcome you back at ENOTEL LIDO MADEIRA in the near future.

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I have just returned from the Enotel and reread other people's reviews and all I can say is that it is understandable why some people really like it and others don't.
First of all the good points - the staff are very hard working, polite and friendly - they couldn't be better. The hotel is only a bus ride (1 euro 90) from Funchal, which is the bustling capital of the island. The weather was good, the hotel was clean and our room was superb. We had a balcony, flat screen TV, fridge, free safe, tea making facilities, lots of space, settee and armchair, walk-in shower, bath...... I personally thought that the food in the main Atlantic restaurant was tasty, varied and plentiful - I really enjoyed it. So why have I only given it 'average'? Simply because I would hate to class it as 'very good' and people go there due to that recommendation and be disappointed as we were.
The sun beds around the pool have literally NO space between them so you are right on top of the person next to you . There is little shade and because there is absolutely no beach there is nowhere else to relax unless you sit at a table. Unfortunately, like another Trip Advisor reviewer, we too had the smell of sewage on and off in our bathroom and it was disgusting. And lastly the entertainment was poor at best and embarrassing at worst (the parrot show).
It is misleading to think you are going to a 5 star unless you go knowing that their idea of rating and ours are very different.
That said, if you like baking in the sun and don't set your hopes too high there are many good points to be said for this hotel - and we have to remember that we are 'spoilt' with all we have in England (except the weather of course!) and Madeira is neither a rich or large island.
One thing I would suggest to the management is that if they could put loungers on the balconies then there would be space where everyone had the option to relax and we would have enjoyed it much more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank susansmithCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion and suggestions as they are very important to us and can always help us improve our services.
We are happy to know that you have had a pleasant holiday at ENOTEL LIDO MADEIRA.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back at ENOTEL LIDO MADEIRA in the near future.

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed at the Enotel Lido 12 years ago when it was the Tivoli Ocean Park, a 5* deluxe hotel, we visit Madeira at least twice a year and like to try different hotels, but travelling with family this year, we decided to give the all inclusive option a try, we were a little apprehensive as to whether it would be as nice as last time, we had no need to worry, from our arrival to our departure we were very satisfied with all the service we received. Staff were wonderful from the managers to the cleaners, all a delight. Food was very good, varied and plentiful, lovely fresh sardines, a nice surprise, great choice of drinks. Food was available all day with drinks on tap for self service, lovely ice cream too. Our only dissapointment was not being able to book a table at the Japanese restaurant, it was very popular, maybe next time. I have to agree with some reviewers about the towels on the sunbeds problem, this is always annoying and was never allowed when we stayed before, there was always a pool attendant who made sure beds were not reserved, I understand this is being dealt with, it does cause bad feelings and is easily sorted.
Our room was very comfortable with a few soft drinks and water in the fridge, tea and coffee, replenished every day, plenty of tv channels, comfortable beds, good AC and a nice veranda, well equipped bathroom.
Hotel is close to bus stop if the walk to town is too far for you, it is cheaper to get a taxi if more than 3 of you, around 6euros, the bus was 1.90euros each, you can by a daily or weekly ticket which is cheaper if you want to get about on public transport.
We are returning to Madeira in November and had booked another hotel but decided to cancel that one and have booked this hotel because we were so pleased with it.
Special thanks to hotel manager Luis Guimaraes and all the staff for their kind attention at all times, well done. Look forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madeira1Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed here for the first time last summer. We were very disappointed because renovations were taking place and so the spa, the gym and the kids club weren't open. We like the location and fancied trying the All Inclusive here so thought we would give it another chance this summer.

The good: Well located in the lido area. We had a junior suite which have the most enormous balconies, overlooking the Atlantic, with fabulous views. This was great as when my toddler had a nap in the room in the afternoon, I could use the sunbed on the balcony. For AI, the food is of a decent quality and is available on a constant basis. I quite liked the Aquagym classes, at noon in the pool most days but there was not always enough equipment to go round. The food choice and quality in the restaurants was ok compared to other All Inclusive hotels that we have stayed at.

The bad: the queues for drinks in the Sports bar could be ridiculous. Mostly, just one person at a time would be serving and the wait was up to 20 minutes. Similar waiting times could be encountered when using the lifts at peak times. We tended to use the stairs but you might not want to do this if your room is on the 10th floor! Entertainment for children is limited. Some days, a nice young man called Diego would turn up and play with the children for a bit but there wasn't much going on. Towards the end of our holiday 2 girls from Brazil arrived who I think are going to be trained to do entertainment but my son said they couldn't speak English. Wifi is extortionate at 22 Euro per day. There are 2 computers near reception but these were always in use. We could usually find a couple of sunbeds but they are squashed quite close together in some areas and were quite cheap as they were prone to collapsing. We were mithered 3 times to do their Enotel plus presentation (a bit like timeshare) but we resisted! The hotel has clientele of mixed nationalities but the majority appeared to be French and without wanting to be racist, some were rather lacking in manners! As we stayed for 10 days we were entitled to use the Speciality restaurants 5 times but when we tried to book we could only get in twice. We went to the Italian and Madeiran but service was painfully slow both times. Service in the main restaurant was also inadequate and you would often have to get your own cutlery as tables were not laid and dirty plates not moved. One waitress was particularly unpleasant when the children went for an ice cream when not completely dry. If you're going to have ice creams for children in the poolside restaurant, expect some drips or put a non-slip mat down!

The ugly: BEWARE! we made our booking directly on the hotel website. When we arrived we were informed that the Agent we had used had gone bankrupt and we would have to pay again! The hotel's website reservations were handled by an agent called Strawberry world. As we were travelling with children we agreed to do this and will hopefully be able to claim the money back through the credit card company which we are currently looking at doing. Other hotels such as the Pestana were still honouring their clients bookings but the hotel was quite unapologetic that even though we had booked on their own site they would take no responsibility. They even charged us the same rate directly although they would not be paying the agent's commission.

Despite our issues on both of our visits, I would consider staying there again if we wanted to go All Inclusive. For BB there are other much nicer hotels nearby such as the Pestana Promenade, Melia Mare and Porto Mare.

Room Tip: Ask for a Junior Suite overlooking the ocean (tower suites have kitchenettes but smaller balconies).
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kilouju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind contribution and to share with us your thoughts about the hotel.
We look forward to welcome you again in our hotel,

Best Regards

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We loved it here, a beautiful hotel in a good location and the first on the Island to go All Inclusive, we think they are doing a grand job. Looking at some of the reviews it seems some people are frankly "Snobs" anyone who regularly travels abroad knows that foreign 5 star is not the same as 5 star British (thank goodness!) this hotel has got it just right, It is really nice to go into the restaurant, find a table of your choice and go and help yourself to beer, wine, water and soft drinks as much as you like and really lovely beer and wine too!.The hotel was busy but we never had a problem finding a table, the dining room is extremely spacious and the staff are highly efficient, clearing the table constantly as you finished courses and getting alternative drinks if you preferred something else. The food at all services is very varied you really are spoiled for choice, be prepared to put on a few pounds! of course you could always work it off at the well equipped Gym if that's your thing, (far too energetic for my chillaxing holiday) The rooms are a good size and have a lovely bathroom with both huge bath and separate walk in shower, all toiletries and bathrobes provided. Big comfy bed, tea and coffee making facilities (I took my own tea bags)A fridge that the maids keep stocked, flat screen TV with some English channels and a nice balcony with table & chairs. Everything kept immaculately clean and also your own adjustable AC nice and quiet so you can have it on through the night. The A.I. is 24 hours and alcohol is branded not just local.
The pool area is really nice, lots of beds maybe a few more shades would be beneficial but we always managed to get one. The prom outside is lovely to walk but it is hilly, as is everywhere in Madeira, I think you would struggle if you have mobility problems. This was our first visit to this lovely Island we would definitely return and certainly to this hotel.

Room Tip: We were facing away from the pool & Bar, on the 8th floor and were glad of it, we had a lovely s...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank shazza_suga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear Guest,


We appreciate your nice comments and for having enjoyed your holiday at The ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.
We thank you for sharing your hapiness with us,so that we can only improve to provide our guests more satisfaction and elevate the quality service.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to thank this opportunity to send you our best regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This is a fab hotel on arrival,the reception is a modern beautiful area and the first you see.You must remember it is built into a hill so the pool area is on level 1.We flew as a couple and for the first time we found ourselves children free:) This is a friendly all european hotel and we found no problems making conversations.
If travelling frm the UK be aware the bank charges you 12% when changing money so fill ur account at home and use ur debit card at a wide range of banks which you will find locally and in town.
We found the staff friendly and helpful though 1 waitress was intent on giving us the sob card at every meal time ie pics of the kids ect but this we fixed by moving dinner times and stations in the main restaraunt.
Yes there is no shuttle bus but taxis and buses are in abundance and run late at night,so travelling round the island is easy and cheap enough if you buy a block ticket available from most wee shops.
My only prob was that the food in the Sports Bar was always cold due to the food heaters not working which was a shame and the fact that the reception bar closed at 9pm.This may sound petty but if you don't fancy sitting by the pool at night in ur good clothes and listening to loud muisic then this might have been a good option as in any other hotel.
All in all we had a good time and would go back,oh if the loungers were not all reserved with no one sitting on them even though we complained about it.
Maybe they need to bring in a charging service?If ur backsides is not on the lounger you reserved then we will take the towels away and charge you to get them back.Hmmm it works at other hotels and resorts:)
Hey if you book this hotel you will love it and look out for Pedro and Marco at the poolside,these guys will look after ur drinking needs and can tell you all the best ways to get round the island.Enjoy

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking the pool but towards the sea end.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idalina Maria S, General Manager at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion and suggestions as they are very important to us and can always help us improve our services.
We are happy to know that you have had a pleasant holiday at ENOTEL LIDO MADEIRA.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back at ENOTEL LIDO MADEIRA in the near future.

Best Regards

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 87 in Funchal
2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.2 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 87 in Funchal
836 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004-576, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#22 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#22 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £156 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing