We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"5 it is not star"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Enotel Lido Madeira
Ranked #22 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2012

First impressions were good ,lovely spacious reception with bar,spotlessly clean everywhere the bedroom was superb overlooking the pool & sea ,air very freshThe food in the maderian restaurant was excellent as was the japanese,the italian was diabolical uncooked pizza dough & tough veal the tiramisus was a mess of cream & chocolate.The paked lunch was appalling chucked in a plastic carrier bag ,wrapped in clingfilm with two bottles of water & two bits of squashed, the second time we requested a packed lunch after telling the manager who admitted that he would't have eaten it ,it was no better & our order was given to some else.No tea & coffee making facilities in the rooms no shampoo or shower gel in" the spa"no fresh fruit juices for those who are teetotal ,5 star I don't think,
,The staff were very pleasant & helpful .If you have any treatments in the spa book Roselia "TOP"beware the turkish bath is reluctant to work.

Room Tip: ask for an up grade to superior room more spacious
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank porscheAuxerre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time during your stay to give us your opinion about our services,so that we could react immediatelly in order to correct matters by improving and therefore pleasing you.
we can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best to provide a quality service to our guests,making the ENOTEL LIDO a great hotel to stay…

Best Regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,537)
There are newer reviews for Enotel Lido Madeira
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,820 - 1,826 of 2,537 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2012

just back from 21 nts all inc. best staff. pool and gardens spotless. bar great ,top range spirts
local beer. good size bedrooms . theatre bar has no dance floor, and no disco. Our room had
the tea and coffee making area boarded up. and no courtesy bus. We belive both were avalible when it was the Tivoli Ocean holel. Our room smelt of raw sewerage on 2 days.
the shower has no thermostatic control, and burnt us twice., the toilet seat was made of MDF
board and had delamanated it was disgusting, dressingtable chair had an embarrasing stain.
both changed on request. not 5 star. The main resturant is all buffet. .little choice and cold
The food is the worst hotel food in all aspects. the room is a huge soulless area. now we play food roullette. badly worded signs ie CORNED BEEF PIE not very 5 star . avoid untill inproves

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time during your stay to give us your opinion about our services, so that we could react immediatelly in order to correct matters by improving and therefore pleasing you.

We can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best to provide a quality service to our guests,making the ENOTEL LIDO a great hotel to stay…

Best Regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Just returned from 4 wonderful weeks at Enotel Lido. Despite earlier reports, we found the food excellent, There was always fish and meat cooked fresh on the griddle every lunch and every dinner, and this is invariably what we eat, plus veg and salad. The quality of the food was very good, lots of salads, cheeseboard, desserts. We like fish and seafood, and there was a wonderful choice - green lipped mussels, shrimp, langoustine, calamari, tuna, etc. I think some people just don't look to see what is there. Because we ate off the grill, the food was always hot, but on the odd occasion we did eat food in the trays, it was hot. Perhaps this is down to the fact that we like to eat early, when the restaurant opens. We liked the Japanese, and the Madeiran restaurants. We never saw congealed food. The staff, from the Manager downwards are always helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The bar staff and waiters/waitresses very professional. The hotel was exceptionally clean, and well maintained. It is quite a walk into Funchal centre, about 40 minutes, but there are buses - although we always walked. We could not have had a better holiday.

Room Tip: choose a pool room
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and for having enjoyed your holiday at The ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your hapiness with us,so that we can only improve to provide our guests more satisfaction and elevate the quality service.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to thank this opportunity to send you our best regards,

We sincerely hope to welcome you back at ENOTEL LIDO MADEIRA in the near future.

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This hotel was a wow from the first hello. The decor is lovely with everything immaculately clean. The food was subperb, the facilities great. Most of all as well as the food we were impressed by the genuine caring and pleasant attitude of all the staff who realy made us feel that they were there for us and to ensrue we got the most of our stay. This went from the manager right across to the cleaning staff who always had a smile. I would travel again just to stay in this hotel and its whole experience. The main restaurant was complemented by three other very good themed restaurants. The entertainment changed most nights and was varied.
The rooms were large airy and had everything you needed.
A minor note was the outdoor pool did not maintain a very warm temperature so this could prove a challenge at times (it was winter)but the indoor oe was fine.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank helstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and for having enjoyed your holiday at The ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your hapiness with us,so that we can only improve to provide our guests more satisfaction and elevate the quality service.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to thank this opportunity to send you our best regards,

We sincerely hope to welcome you back at ENOTEL LIDO MADEIRA in the near future.

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Great hotel in good position, facing sea, fair walk to town, very friendly staff, food & drinks on A.Inc. very good, we booked deluxe room & to be honest I did not think it was deluxe quality, but we were upgraded to superior thanks to very nice reception staff, entertainment was varied between poor to good & I would say a little self indulgent by some of the entertainment team. I wouldn't bother with the themed food restaurants, again lovely staff but you may as well stick to the main restaurant.

Room Tip: Room overlooking pool is a must for best views or you will be looking over road/carpark/other hotel
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillLawrence88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and for having enjoyed a “Holiday to Remember” at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your hapiness with us,so that we can only improve to provide our guests more satisfaction and elevate the quality service.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to thank this opportunity to send you our best regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We travelled to Maderia for the first time and it lived up to our expectations. The Enotel Lido Maderia was a superb base. The hotel was spotlessly clean as was our room. The walk in shower and a bath were much apprciated after the walking we did. Our only complaint about the hotel was the food. It was not the actual food quality - which was excellent - but the fact that it was often cold and congealed. We did mention it to cusotmer relations and they did try to rectify, and we were allowed to eat in the specialiaty restaurants for the remainder of our holiday.We will be returning in the near future as it is a super hotel deapite the aforementioned problem.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

Dear Guest,


We appreciate your nice comments and for having enjoyed your holiday at The ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your hapiness with us,so that we can only improve to provide our guests more satisfaction and elevate the quality service.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to thank this opportunity to send you our best regards,

We sincerely hope to welcome you back at ENOTEL LIDO MADEIRA in the near future.

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Just got back last week from our second holiday at the Enotel. We loved this hotel so much last visit that despite saying that the food was awful we still chose to stay there again. I have to say that the food was much improved and we quite enjoyed it. The staff in the restaurant were excellent, we couldn't fault a thing with any of them.

The entertainment was first class and the girl who presented it was superb. The bar staff were kept very busy but we had no problems in getting drinks. The only thing I couldn't stand was the fact that I had a really bad back and I couldn't get up to dance. Hope its better on our next visit.

The rooms are spotlessly clean, well furnished, comfortable beds and lovely bathrooms with a bath and a walk in shower too.

The pool area is lovely with plenty of sunbeds and there is a snack area and a bar which is open 24 hrs if you can stand the pace!

We had a bit of rain during the week but it was mostly at night and it was warm rain anyway.

All in all another great holiday. We'll be back shortly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank dot190748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and for having enjoyed a “Holiday to Remember” at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your hapiness with us,so that we can only improve to provide our guests more satisfaction and elevate the quality service.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to thank this opportunity to send you our best regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.2 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
839 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004-576, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#18 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#22 Family Hotel in Funchal
#22 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £151 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing