We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Enotel Lido Madeira
Ranked #22 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but.....”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hotel has some really fantastic aspects, particularly the food and drink, excellent choices for all meals and the bonus of 3 themed restaurants, Japanese, Italian & Madeiran.
However there are some issues that should be addressed. The quality of the sun beds was very poor and in fact there were many that were broken or damaged, apparently they are to be replaced but the broken ones should be removed immediately before someone is injured, we saw people who when trying to lay on them fell because the arms were broken but it wasn't immediately obvious.
Also the road outside the front of the hotel is now a through road whereas it used to be a dead end at the hotel next door.
The volume and noise of traffic was tremendous, the first room we had, 614 was noisy not only due to the road but also the hotel air conditioning units were directly under the balcony which we did not notice as we arrived after dark. The next day we complained and were moved to 950, this room was even nearer to the road so just as noisy, day & night, the balcony was therefore unusable as it would have been unpleasant to sit listening. At night the noise was just as loud, unless you had the air con on,which is also noisy, just a different type of noise. The hotel should review the glazing of the balcony doors and improve them for all those rooms on the outside of the hotel near the road. As we were only staying a short period of time, we put up with the second room as we couldn't face re packing again, if I was intending to stay again I would only consider booking a pool view room.

Room Tip: Avoid 614, 950 and any outside balcony up near the road at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khasbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding our Hotel and services as they can always help us to improve.
We can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service, which you may witness in your next visit to the Enotel Lido Hotel.

We are pleased for your co-operation and would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,286
    749
    236
    47
    23
See reviews for
432
1,488
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (831)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redlynch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We have just returned from a week's all inclusive holiday in Enotel Lido. The all inclusive option is great value for money and the service provided by the staff is excellent. Our room was very clean, comfortable and stylishly furnished and decorated. The bathroom was spotless. We had a room overlooking the pool/sea on the 6th floor and although the poolside entertainment went on quite late it certainly didn't bother us or keep us awake. I would say that the hotel and cost of the holiday are 4 star not 5 star. I think anyone visiting after experiencing a 5 star in Mexico or Africa would not have their expectations met but then the price reflects this. The hotel lobby is very modern and stylish with lovely comfy sofas and chairs. The reception and guest relation staff are really friendly and helpful and the waiting staff and bar staff are just wonderful. There were a few niggles such as the previously documented sun beds which are dangerous and very difficult for older guests as they collapse when used. We noticed several older guests were unable to use the sun beds and had to sit in a chair. Also the practice of guests reserving sun beds for several hours before use is just downright ignorant and rude. You people know who you are!!!!! The pool is lovely but the poolside area really lets the hotel down as it is very crowded with no privacy as the beds are all crammed together. We would have preferred there not to be any aqua aerobics with loud music or bingo as we felt that this created a downmarket image and was not conducive to peace and relaxation or 5 star ambience. The food was very good in the buffet with a reasonable amount of choice but having tried all the themed restaurants we much preferred the buffet as the food in the Japanese, Madeiran was not brilliant. The Italian was the best in our opinion for food and service. The lack of tea/coffee making facilities in our room was also a negative. The cost of wifi is extortionate but we never had any problems finding a free computer behind the reception area. The entertainment was great especially the Cabaret Show which was fabulous. All in all we had a great holiday and it was nice to be able to fly to Madeira in 3 hours rather than a long haul trip. Madeira is a beautiful island and you certainly feel safe there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank addisonchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

“Obrigado” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Having been booked into the Royal Savoy for a week we booked the second week of our holiday at the Enotel thinking that we might save some money on having to eat out, it being all inclusive. Our only previous experience of all inclusive had been poor with unmotivated staff and bland, repetitive food combined with people getting drunk on endless free booze. However, none of this was the case art the Enotel. First the choice and quality of the food was excellent catering for the varied tastes of a family. The themed restaurants are okay but nothing special. The Japanese I would not bother with if I went again: average sushi followed by a stir fry and griddled pineapple chunks. However the variety in the main restaurant more than made up for that. As for the staff, they are a credit to the hotel. When we there in August the hotel was completely full so the staff were under pressure but they still had time to make us feel as if we were important to them. We booked a suite for the four of us, which has was worth the extra cost. The children slept in the sitting room while my wife and I had the comfortable bedroom, with TVs in each room. A great reason to have a suite is undoubtedly the fact that they have enormous balconies meaning that we did not go poolside during the day except to swim, preferring the expanse and privacy of our personal sundeck. It is not that we are anti social but the failure to enforce the no reserving sunbeds policy meant it was impossible to get four loungers together after 9am. It is possible to swim in the sea near by but getting in and out of the sea can be precarious here. There is a stony beach a short cab journey away but when we went there despite it being August the sea was red flagged due to the choppy sea. Everything was fairly clean considering amount of people staying in the Enotel. We did have a sewage smell for a couple of days but following a word at reception, the odour in the bathroom was gone. Entertainment was fine and multi lingual. We got a bit fed up when at the outside seating that they did not make smokers sit in their own section as there is little worse than having to put up with some inconsiderate smoker's noxious fumes, but it is not enforceable yet! The children adored the parrot display and I enjoyed the attractive dancers! People were relaxed but there was no drunkeness. Cheap taxis are probably necessary when you want to go into Funchal though there is a nice mall about ten minutes walk away. Madeira is lovely so don't spend all your time in the hotel but the Enotel is a good bet and I would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zog666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just returned from a one week stay in Enotel Lido and couldn't recommend highly enough. We wanted for nothing. The hotel was spotlessly clean. The food was lovely and there was a good choice. The seating areas were really nice and comfortable and we enjoyed the entertainment. The staff were all polite, cheerful and only too happy to help. We celebrated our silver wedding there and had a wonderful time. We would certainly return to Madeira and the Enotel Lido without hesitation.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor looking on to the Pool area and didn't find noise a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine_B_12186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido.

Once again “Obrigado” for your co-operation.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
433 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Having read all of the reviews about this hotel, I did not think that it could be as good as was stated, I am a fairly cynical traveller and this is not the best hotel I have stayed in but its pretty close, I have tried to give an objective review of its pros and cons , but the cons are so minute that they seem insignificant, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.
Pros
Great location , 30 mins pleasant walk into Funchal or very cheap taxi or bus ride
Staff Attitude - Excellent , nothing is too much trouble for them
Food- Varied and excellent, a good choice for everyone
Drinks - brand names available on all inclusive deals
A La carte restaurants - Italian, Japanese and Maderian, I tried them all, they were good and a nice change from the buffet. and if you are still hungry you can always visit the buffet afterwards
Pool - Large and very clean and checked daily
Rooms - spotless and cleaned daily
Value for money certainly
On site activities - Good and varied

Cons
Evening entertainment- a bit amaturish, but enjoyable never the less, the local nightlife is poor but then again if you want a rowdy nightlife you would not come to Maderia
Sun Beds - Plentiful, but some have front legs that given way and should be replaced
Dress code = long trousers for men in the evenings a pain but you are warned beforehand
Spa - looked inviting but very expensive at 65 Euros for a 1 hr massage so i did not partake

i was looking for a quiet break where I could relax and re charge my batteries, this certainly fitted the bill, I broke up my week with a couple of locally purchased tours, the East Tour was my favourite

Room Tip: Lower floors are the noisiest so try and get a room above the 4th floor, book any trips locally they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank andycoldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and other reviewers.

“Muito Obrigado” for your cooperation we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is immaculate, clean and well run by friendly staff which is testament to the manager who is to be seen regularly checking on things from the pool to the restaurants. The food is varied and lovely. Entertainment a bit limited. If you want a relaxed holiday in a well run hotel then you should book this. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OOHx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and with other reviewers, that was much appreciated.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had a very good time at this very friendly hotel. An excellent choice of food available at all times with friendly and helpful staff on hand to help in any way they could.The range of drinks available was a pleasant surprise with several branded whiskies with the staff soon learning our likes and serving when they recognised you.
Our rooms had a side view of the sea, were well furnished and serviced, the fridge contained branded can drinks and water always renewed daily.The facillities and entertainment was good apart from the the sunbeds which proved to be amusing at times at their lack of strength in the legs, they could however be dangerous, we were assured they would be replaced soon.
This was our first trip to the beautiful Island of Madeira and would like to return and wouldn't hesitate to stay at the excellent Enotel Lido.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,771 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
#32 of 85 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
1.2 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Property: Enotel Lido Madeira
Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004-576, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#22 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#22 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing