We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Enotel Lido Madeira
Ranked #22 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have recently stayed at this lovely hotel for a week. First impressions were very good , probably not a true five star, however, an excellent high end four star.

The reception area is very nice and the lounge area on floor five is absolutely gorgeous, with fish tank and ornamental pool and fabulous furniture.

The reception staff were the nicest that I have ever encountered as were the rest of the staff. A young guy called Victor really looked after us. We enjoyed our time by the pool and met some lovely couples, a few of who we will keep in touch with. The pool area was lovely, however, the sunbeds were definitely not five star variety and could be dangerous with front legs splaying..

The main restaurant was a bit tired, the food was nice though. We spent four nights in the themed restaurants, Madeiran and Italian and we really enjoyed these, the food was very good and we found the staff to be nice. We did not encounter any rude staff, they were all polite and respectful. The all inclusive drinks were of a high standard, my tipple was sparkling wine.

The spa area was stunning and the gym looked well equipped, but we did not use these. The room we had was lovely with a side sea view, on the fifth floor overlooking the pool and very quiet. I have never slept so well on holiday and waking at 10 am some days!

We found a jazz bar five minutes along the promenade (my husband plays sax and harmonica). We spent many an enjoyable evening there, but be warned if you are a non smoker, smoking is permitted inside and this spoiled it for me.

The area where the hotel is based is nice and the promenade quite pretty, we found the lido that had been damaged due to bad weather in January, such a shame.

This was our second visit to Madeira and we have booked to go back next year in July for the jazz festival, really looking forward to that.

I used insect repellent (Deet) as I am a magnet for mosquitos, however, I only had one bite and have in past years in Greece had 70 at one time, so would definitely recommend using repellent.

I would return to this hotel and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank denise384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,675 - 1,681 of 2,610 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

What a very nice experience staying at this 5 star hotel.
The whole atmosphere is very friendly, with cuisine at its very best. Worth visiting just for the fish dishes alone, ate like a lord for seven days.
We were entertained whilst staying on the complex at night and being one who is hard to please found it enjoyable.
the themed restaurants were of a very high standard, Italian, Japanese and Maderian, tried all three and found real quality.
Will return here again without a doubt.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea but quality views the higher you go .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank curskectus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We will surely continue to do our best in order to achieve our guests expectations.
“Obrigado” for your co-operation.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Just returned from a week (not enough) on the fantastic Island of Madeira. The hotel cannot be faulted. All the staff at the hotel were pleasant and we had the pleasure of meeting the manager who was interested in what we had to say. The rooms were well maintained, bed linen and towels were changed as requested by the guest, therefore being very eco-friendly. All areas were clean. The mini bar was restocked everyday with bottled water and soft drinks. The restaurant was basic and clean; the food of a very high standard and lots of variety. Was pleased to see porridge on the breakfast menu! Restaurant staff were attentive but not overpowering as can happen in some hotels. The pool area was spotless and the gardens immaculate. If I have one criticism it would be the length of the tablecloths in the Atlantic restaurant, they are too big and one could easily trip on them. Areas around the hotel were also spotless, not a bit of litter to be seen (as was the case everywhere we went). If you like to walk the hotel is an easy walk into Funchal and the cable car to Monte etc. We will certainly be going back in a few years but this time in the Spring when there would be more flowers in bloom and would use the Enotel Lido again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east get the sun later into the evening. Partial see views overlooking the pools are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alemap60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira, which you may witness in your next visit here.

We thank you for your co-operation and I would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Just returned from our first visit to Maderia staying at the Enotel for a week, wasn't sure what to expect of Island or Hotel but was pleasantly surprised by both, First impressions of island was how clean it was and how friendly the people are,
The Hotel was superb, good location, clean, spacious, friendly hard working staff , plenty of good food available , our room was on 6th floor overlooking pool and with sea view, we arrived a few hours before check in time but our room was ready, again spacious room very clean and well appointed we had booked a twin but were given a double which was a pleasent surprise,
This was our first experience of an all inclusive holiday and found it to be very good,booked excursion through hotel guest relations again very helpfull and well priced.
There was a varied age range of guests at Hotel we are early 50s many other guest around same age some older and some younger
Only negatives for us was a couple of bath towels were a bit thread bare withs holes in, these were changed by daily maid service, and the all inclusive drinks menu included many international brands but unfortunately not my wifes tipple Bacardi , this was at full price of 4.5 euros which would have benefited from an all inclusive discounted supplement.

Would definatlly return to Madeira and would have no hesitation in staying at the Enotol again

Room Tip: Higher floor overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HampshireWilsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

“Obrigado” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just returned from two weeks on the fantastic Island of Madeira, this is my own personal view of the 'Enotel Lido' and it's facilities.

Hotel: Nice clean large Bedrooms equipped with mini Bar and well fitted bathroom. The Hotel has a nice modern reception area with a bar, the staff at the front desk and bookings desk are extremely helpful as are all the staff within the Hotel. Overall very nicely fitted apart from the main Dinning room that is looking dated and tired. (Outdated Dress Code for Dinner, no Shorts or Sandals so be aware)

Food: 'Hit and miss', for me eating in the Dinning room for two weeks would become totally boring. The food most of the time lacks flavour and imagination, however do try the Japanese Restaurant. I cannot recommend this enough as a eating experience that is full of flavour and a show in it's self, we ate there twice. Brilliant!!!!
The Hotel also offers a Madeiran & Italian Restaurant, we found these to be both poor in quality and service.

Facilities: Sun beds a joke, most collapsed when people got on them and should be withdrawn from service before a accident occurs..
Spa, very nice and well equipped. We took a massage which was very enjoyable and in nice surroundings.

For me I found the Pool area to be very noisy with 'Pumping Music' when people were doing the Aqua-fit and the same in the afternoon when the entertainments people were calling 'Bingo'. This was so loud at times I am sure it could have been heard in Funchal!.Very annoying when you are trying to take a restful holiday and with a little thought could easily be resolved.

I accept that you cant please all the people but this is a very nice Hotel that could be a bit better, so please don't be put off by my views. There are plenty of really good restaurant around within walking distance that offer good value for money tasty food, all worth a try if this is your thing!

Enjoy Madeira.....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patroni2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We have received and carefully read your comments about our Hotel services. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion and suggestions for they are very important to us and can always help us to improve our services.

All the highlighted points mentioned by you were carefully analyzed and measures were taken in order to avoid situations like these in the future. Nevertheless we will continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service and making all our efforts to make Enotel lido a great hotel to stay.

Thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Traveled with Thomas cook,great flight times.Hotel reception looked 5*,no problems with language.Our room and bathroom spacious and everything spotless.Missed lunch in main dining but pool cafe was serving.There for a week,wish it was longer.Food was delicious,staff were smiling and courteous.The manager was well dressed and(handsome),he had a smile for everybody,a quiet word to staff and lifting plates as he moved around,setting a good example.The pool area bar and cafe was excellent,the drinks were brand names(Smirnoff ect.)and the measures non-existent,again the staff were first class.The entertainment ranged from amateurish to professional but it was all enjoyable.Situated on the outskirts but easy travel to Funchal. We went the open top bus tours,yellow and red,48 and 24 hour tickets.Arrived to do the cable car up and toboggan down.A taxi driver called Riccardo offered us a deal,he would take us up to the beautiful botanic gardens,give us an hours visit,take us up to the toboggan ride,complete that,pick us up and take us up to the top cable car station where we could travel down to Funchal,45 euros.The toboggan run is a must do as is the cable car.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dom443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us.

“Obrigado” for your co-operation and our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Te hotel was spotlessly clean, rooms were very good, staff very helpful & attentive. Great selection of food at breakfast, lunch & dinner & always something different.
The hotel is in a great location overlooking the sea. Only criticism was the sun beds which could be dangerous, particularly for older people. Madeira is a fabulous island & buses run very frequently & are reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We thank you for your co-operation and I would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay
Pestana Ocean Bay
#36 of 88 in Funchal
1,955 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.6 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.8 mi away
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Enotel Quinta do Sol
#33 of 88 in Funchal
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004-576, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#18 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#22 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#22 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £144 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Splitty, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing