We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FOUR **** NOT FIVE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Enotel Lido Madeira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Enotel Lido Madeira
Ranked #22 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“FOUR **** NOT FIVE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Been to numerous European **** hotels - why this is ***** is a puzzle.
10th Floor - new build side - very nice apart from a very noisy extractor fan in bathroom which could not be switched off - had to stuff it with paper to reduce noise during night.
Choice of food was in the buffet dining room not up our expectations of a ***** hotel.
Lunch time sports bar buffet was adequate nut never varied.
Spirit drinkers well looked after - beer in main bar was limited to lager and only available in small glasses - even smaller amount only available in smaller plastic glasses in ground floor.
No choice whatsoever of any other beer-bottled or otherwise. Wine service in dining facilities was very good.
Entertainment varied and adequate but sitting in the immediate entrance to the lounge spoilt by behaviour of a guest - very loud singing entertainer in concert room made it difficult to hear our elderly company - very rude guest approached our table and told us to leave the room and go next door. We ignored him. Shortly after this he, his wife and other couple left.
Shouted at us in a very loud voice - "F*****G Ignorant B******S". All our company was over 70 years of age and never experienced such antisocial rude behaviour.
Next morning I observed him standing at SAGA desk talking to their representative- told him of the rude performance of his client.
Location of hotel and surrounding area was very pleasant - free garage parking in the basement together with the use of a free safe was an added bonus. All staff were very attentive and friendly.

Room Tip: 10th Floor in new build-lifts very good. Did not use the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank neilnjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We have received and carefully read your comments about our Hotel services. Thank you very much for sharing your opinion for it is very important to us and can always help us to improve our services.

All the highlighted points mentioned by you were carefully analyzed and measures were taken in order to avoid situations like these in the future. Nevertheless we will continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service and making all our efforts to make Enotel Lido a great hotel to stay.

Kind regards,

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,210
    717
    229
    47
    23
See reviews for
416
1,415
35
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (790)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

first time at this hotel, we have stayed at a couple of hotels in the lido area. we found the hotel to be clean well equipped and very friendly. the all inclusive system operated at the hotel includes three themed restaurants which have to be booked in advance. there is an Italian, Japanese and madeira restaurant. all are small accommodating about 30 to 35 diners per night. They are more on the taster style, with some drinks included. the main self service restaurant was very well laid out with a wide variety of dishes to choose from.

all rooms look onto the ocean listed as partial sea views we found the view to be excellent, our room was over looking the pool but was never disturbed by noise from the pool. there is also an indoor heated pool with towels supplied. there is also a spa and fitness sweet which you have access to for about $8.

Staff very eager to help, from the reception to the bars and restaurants, all very courteous and very quick to serve. entertainment on every night, with Monday being most enjoyable.

Room Tip: we had a room on the 8th floor of 10 floors, air con was a little noisy but not any more than others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your opinion with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

Looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week at this very nice hotel. Like most professing to be 5 star it is just a good 4 star. Nevertheless the hotel is very nice, lovely room, peaceful apart from being woken at 3.30am on the Friday by the boom boom of a disco! Staff were professional and friendly. Good value for money and despite a lot of cold food due to insufficient serving stations at busy times there was a good choice which would please most except my husband! Despite trying to find fault with this hotel in order to please those who always do I would be hard pressed and would certainly recommend to friends. My only real moan would be that the soap dispensers in the public area loos were empty for days, dangerous when everyone is handling the food serving tools. Just takes one person with a bug and a no soap hand wash to cause havoc. I did report this and they were quickly replenished. The world is a big place so we never go anywhere twice but if we did, we would! One tip, don't book the tour operator tours, you can get them much cheaper.We used Happy Tours, turn right out of hotel and just past Spar is a shopping centre, they are just inside the entrance. What a beautiful island.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding our Hotel and our services as they can always help us to improve.
We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service.
We are pleased for your co-operation and would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earl Shilton leicester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

hotel rooms had sea view ,mini bar with soft drinks topped up every day ,requested kettle it was delivered within 20 mins with cups saucers and tea/coffee .asked at bar where we could buy milk and barman gave 1 ltr carton of long life food good lots of choice all new sun beds Japanese restaurant good

Room Tip: ask to face pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alacare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We returned to this hotel in October for my 40th birthday. We went 1st in July and i loved it so much this is all I wanted for my very special birthday.
Unfortunately it was a complete let down. They always say don't go back to the same place twice and on this occasion they are right.
We paid to upgrade to a suite as our baby was 7 months old and not sleeping through the night so we take it in turns so we each can have an alternate peaceful night. Therefore the suite accommodated this with the extra bedroom.
The 1st night we found that the sofa bed was broken but it was too late to complain so we both had a sleepless night. In the morning we reported it and reception said they would sort it. Later that night we found that the replacement was also broken. Again the 3rd day we complained and they brought the original broken bed back!!!! Finally after another sleepless night as we were sharing the bedroom with an upset teething baby we were told that all of the sofa beds were broken as they were all 12 years old. Then eventually they put a single bed in our living room after 3 days. Not ideal when you pay a premium for a suite.
We also on the 1st day complained about the very loud motor/fan noise that turned out to be the air con. Absolutely unbearable but they didn't respond to this complaint at all. I don't suppose there is anything they can do about an ancient air con system that keeps you up all night but you need to know this if you are a light sleeper like me.
There were not any suitable baby chairs in the restaurant they were either broken or missing straps so we had to feed our baby in his pushchair or on our lap - not conducive to a relaxing meal. It didn't matter the 1st time we went in July because he wasnt old enough to need a chair.
We spoke the the reception staff throughout the holiday and upon checking out but they didn't care. He just told us that the hotel needed upgrading and management was aware.
I wrote to them upon my return and all they would offer was a free upgrade next time we visited. As if I am going to spend anther 2k going after such a disappointing holiday and ruined birthday. I replied with this comment and they chose to ignore me.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dawn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We have received and carefully read your comments about our Hotel services. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion and suggestions for they are very important to us and can always help us to improve our services.

All the highlighted points mentioned by you were carefully analyzed and measures were taken in order to avoid situations like these in the future. Nevertheless we will continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service and making all our efforts to make Enotel Lido a great hotel to stay.

Thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We spent a week here and really couldn't fault this hotel. The staff were lovely and the food was superb. The all-inclusive drinks package was fantastic! The public areas were clean and spacious, and the entertainment was quite good. Our room was very comfortable and had everything you could have wanted including a mini-fridge which was stocked daily with soft drinks, free safe, air conditioning and bathrobes. The open-top tour buses stop almost outside the hotel and are a reasonably cheap way to get your bearings. Funchal centre is a pleasant 40 minute walk, but a bit more strenuous coming back, so we got the local bus one day, which was cheap but very crowded! We loved this hotel and Madeira generally, and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janet2158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,
We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.
We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira.
Looking forward to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Luís Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Took a weeks all inclusive at this hotel and was surprised and the quality of both the accommodation and food. I have been on some all inclusive package tours in the past and have become a little cynical about them as many have not quite been up to standard. The hotel has three themed restaurants - Italian, Japanese and Madeiran as well as the 'standard' restaurant. The themed restaurants have to be booked in advance and I managed to get booked into the Italian and Japanese ones.

If I'm honest they were both very disappointing. The Italian one had far too many choices, so therefore the food was quite a time arriving at the table and it was nothing special. Japanese restaurant really wasn't much better. Service was quicker but it seems the 'draw' of it was that everyone sat around a square bar and was able to see the chef cooking the food.

Best part of the hotel was the unlimited drinks. Normally on an all inclusive you can only have the local stuff, but here you could have Gordon gin, Famous Grouse whisky etc with no problem whatsoever......and the shots were generous to say the least.

Hotel room presentable and was cleaned each day by 11am. Generally all the staff I met were friendly and were happy to talk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adt52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.
We thank you for sharing your opinion with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.
Looking forward to welcome you again.
Kind Regards,
Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,670 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
#32 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.9 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.1 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Property: Enotel Lido Madeira
Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004-576, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#22 Family Hotel in Funchal
#22 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing