We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money"s worth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Enotel Lido Madeira
Ranked #21 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Just returned on 9 dec2013 after a week holiday in Funchal and stayed on 5th floor in a nice room with a balcony and a side sea view. The staff was very friendly,hardworking and always attentive with a smile. Madeira Funchal is a nice place to visit with a family with a nice weather in December with a temp of 18.
The negative is the bathroom with no exhaust.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dilbagsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

“Obrigado” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,648 - 1,654 of 2,640 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

Just returned last week from spending 2 weeks at this hotel. All aspects of our stay could not have been better. Two weeks of sunshine. The location is very safe with a lovely promenade walk to the Fisherman's Bay also is only a 30 minute walk into Funchal. The Hotel was clean and nothing too much trouble for all the staff. The all inclusive was what is says even the safes were free!! Water & soft drinks replenished daily & water available at all times.The bathrooms also had a full suit & a shower cubicle. The lounges, general ambiance & cleanliness were excellent. The 3 free extra restaurants were a nice touch especially the Japanese (a little less salt needed!!)
I would like to see a couple of changing cubicles near the pool it was the only thing missing.The new sunloungers were a bonus.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MAUREEN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have had an excellent holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

“Obrigado” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Our first time ever to Madeira and obviously this Hotel, we were not disappointed! We had informed the Hotel that it was my Partner's Birthday and when we arrived we had been given an upgrade to a suite with a wonderful view of the sea. The hotel is very clean the staff are very helpful and I have to say the Restaurants and food are very good (especially the Japanese Restaurant). The outdoor pool is kept clean and the waiters are constantly approaching to top up your glass when you are sat/lounging around the pool area! The only thing that spoilt things around the pool, was the standard of the lounger's, as they kept breaking, but this has been mentioned time and time again! If you are in to walking, this is a holiday for you, plenty to see and the views are spectacular. Bring your binoculars and a good camera (you will need them!), Oh and before I forget take some quality walking shoes, not much flat land around here! Although their is no age limit at this hotel, it was obvious as soon as we arrived that this catered and was used mainly by the older generation (50+), but don't let this put you off, we had a wonderful time and would most definitely return. Get out and about, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Go for a room higher up and try and get a suite if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobPalm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Hi I just wanted to let you know that the hotel was very clean and the staff mostly good.The drinks were ok, beer a bit gassy, no bottled beer. Waiter's ok, one took the piss out of people behind there backs, but only when the head waiter went on leave. (Japanese couple sitting at breakfast with waiter standing behind the couple doing kung foo moves behind them ) (also stopping an elderly man on the way back to his table to lift up his trousers to look at his shoes to the amusement of the rest of the staff) also my granddaughter enjoyed the dance lessons but when we came back from the town on Saturday the lesson had been cancelled without notice I think the reason was that the dance tutor opened her own studio and was not interested in the hotels guests, but wasn't confident enough to leave the hotels employment. The wifi is very expensive €22 a day, rooms clean and tidy and the reception very good.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank briannelson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding our Hotel and services as they can always help us to improve.
We can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service, which you may witness in your next visit to the Enotel Lido Hotel.

We are pleased for your co-operation and would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Been to numerous European **** hotels - why this is ***** is a puzzle.
10th Floor - new build side - very nice apart from a very noisy extractor fan in bathroom which could not be switched off - had to stuff it with paper to reduce noise during night.
Choice of food was in the buffet dining room not up our expectations of a ***** hotel.
Lunch time sports bar buffet was adequate nut never varied.
Spirit drinkers well looked after - beer in main bar was limited to lager and only available in small glasses - even smaller amount only available in smaller plastic glasses in ground floor.
No choice whatsoever of any other beer-bottled or otherwise. Wine service in dining facilities was very good.
Entertainment varied and adequate but sitting in the immediate entrance to the lounge spoilt by behaviour of a guest - very loud singing entertainer in concert room made it difficult to hear our elderly company - very rude guest approached our table and told us to leave the room and go next door. We ignored him. Shortly after this he, his wife and other couple left.
Shouted at us in a very loud voice - "F*****G Ignorant B******S". All our company was over 70 years of age and never experienced such antisocial rude behaviour.
Next morning I observed him standing at SAGA desk talking to their representative- told him of the rude performance of his client.
Location of hotel and surrounding area was very pleasant - free garage parking in the basement together with the use of a free safe was an added bonus. All staff were very attentive and friendly.

Room Tip: 10th Floor in new build-lifts very good. Did not use the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank neilnjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We have received and carefully read your comments about our Hotel services. Thank you very much for sharing your opinion for it is very important to us and can always help us to improve our services.

All the highlighted points mentioned by you were carefully analyzed and measures were taken in order to avoid situations like these in the future. Nevertheless we will continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service and making all our efforts to make Enotel Lido a great hotel to stay.

Kind regards,

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

first time at this hotel, we have stayed at a couple of hotels in the lido area. we found the hotel to be clean well equipped and very friendly. the all inclusive system operated at the hotel includes three themed restaurants which have to be booked in advance. there is an Italian, Japanese and madeira restaurant. all are small accommodating about 30 to 35 diners per night. They are more on the taster style, with some drinks included. the main self service restaurant was very well laid out with a wide variety of dishes to choose from.

all rooms look onto the ocean listed as partial sea views we found the view to be excellent, our room was over looking the pool but was never disturbed by noise from the pool. there is also an indoor heated pool with towels supplied. there is also a spa and fitness sweet which you have access to for about $8.

Staff very eager to help, from the reception to the bars and restaurants, all very courteous and very quick to serve. entertainment on every night, with Monday being most enjoyable.

Room Tip: we had a room on the 8th floor of 10 floors, air con was a little noisy but not any more than others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your opinion with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

Looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Just returned from a week at this very nice hotel. Like most professing to be 5 star it is just a good 4 star. Nevertheless the hotel is very nice, lovely room, peaceful apart from being woken at 3.30am on the Friday by the boom boom of a disco! Staff were professional and friendly. Good value for money and despite a lot of cold food due to insufficient serving stations at busy times there was a good choice which would please most except my husband! Despite trying to find fault with this hotel in order to please those who always do I would be hard pressed and would certainly recommend to friends. My only real moan would be that the soap dispensers in the public area loos were empty for days, dangerous when everyone is handling the food serving tools. Just takes one person with a bug and a no soap hand wash to cause havoc. I did report this and they were quickly replenished. The world is a big place so we never go anywhere twice but if we did, we would! One tip, don't book the tour operator tours, you can get them much cheaper.We used Happy Tours, turn right out of hotel and just past Spar is a shopping centre, they are just inside the entrance. What a beautiful island.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding our Hotel and our services as they can always help us to improve.
We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service.
We are pleased for your co-operation and would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,068 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay
Pestana Ocean Bay
#36 of 88 in Funchal
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
863 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004-576, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
#17 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £154 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing