We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STILL EXCELLENT VALUE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Enotel Lido Madeira
Ranked #22 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Our second stay at the Enotel Lido, and we were not disappointed - it was just as good as our previous visit in 2013. The Hotel is kept in extremely good order, and the General Manager, Senhor Luis Guimaraes, and all his staff must be congratulated on their excellent service and attention to detail. The staff work extremely hard and are always very pleasant. It has been particularly noticable that Sr Guimaraes visits every part of the hotel, every day, even on his day off. Our thanks to Henriques and the restaurant staff who arranged a special table for us for my husbands 70th birthday and, on the following day, our wedding anniversary. We have only been home for 2 weeks but have already booked to return next February.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Doreen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,514 - 1,520 of 2,569 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

First time we have visited the island and thoroughly enjoyed our week in Madeira...the Enotel Lido Hotel
We found to be spotlessly clean , the rooms exactly
What you would hope for and the staff extremely friendly.
The hotel food was very good , a little on the same side
But you could always find something that you could enjoy and be totally satisfied with, however when it came to having drinks with the meal , you were served by the glass , if you wanted wine with your meal the waiter never left a bottle you had to wait to get served
And on few occasions, I must admit I have stayed at many all inclusive hotels and this is a first and I would suggest that the hotel management review this policy.

Whilst talking of drinks it was also disappointing that the Great british tradition of having a gin and tonic was slightly spoilt by the hotel using a non brand tonic instead of a recognised brand ie Schweppes or Nordic mist which you would expect in a 5 star establishment

My last grievance is with the wifi , I asked at reception if
Wifi was available was available to be told it was but at a cost of 22 euros per day or 88 euros per week....absolutely outrageous...most hotel off for free or a small fee again this should be looked into.

Having said all of the above we did enjoy our stay at this hotel and found the bar service to be quick and courteous and the entertainment to be acceptable, would we return to this hotel,possibly,however we would prefer being nearer to the old town of Funchal
In the future.

Loved Madeira and will return soon.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife and I have been having All inclusive holidays in a variety of Locations for over 20 years. Without a doubt this is one of the better AI hotels we have stayed in. We never do themed restaurants preferring always to meander round the Buffet to see whats (visible to the naked eye) on offer and making up our menu for that evening in our own minds. Plenty of Fish and Shellfish, Show Cooking and Roasts most evening and as most holidaymakers fail to see there is themed nights in the Buffet Restaurant as well. Dessert and Pudding was plentiful and even the Cheese Board was varied.
Also we were served International Drinks every night, not the normal local versions or Rocket Fuel as i call it, but there was Grouse Whisky, Gordons Gin and Smirnoff Vodka as well as Portuguese wines on offer.
Sparkling wine was available also at breakfast if you wanted but i preferred the Smoked Salmon with my scrambled egg.

Room Tip: We had a Twin Room on the 10th Floor which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira, which you may witness in your next visit here.

We thank you for your co-operation and I would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We have just returned from a lovely week in Madeira. What a beautiful island, and lovely people too. Obviously this review is about the hotel and not Madeira so here goes...

Room
We traveled with our 9 moth old baby, and were joined by family friends halfway through the holiday. Having pre-warned the hotel we had a baby, we were put in a room (car park facing) with a cot already set up and dressed. The room itself was spacious and comfortable. The is a minibar in the room, and the bathroom is clean and well proportioned.
My only gripe with the room was that the mini bar was not stocked twice, not a big deal as you only get 3 cans of pop and a bottle of water.

Food
Buffet Restaurant
The buffet restaurant is actually pretty good, its not 5 star, but there is something for everyone an it is fresh and tasty. The staff here were really friendly and always had a table set up with a child seat for us at all meal times. My impression was that the room is seriously understaffed so the hard working staff are stretched to the limit. Getting a second drink is nearly impossible. They could remedy this by allowing self service of drinks (especially soft drinks).

Madeiran Restaurant
Honestly, this was quite awful. The service was so poor i saw people walking out mid meal. We got our starters after 30 mins and then our mains an hour later. Pudding is then forced on you so that you are out in the allotted 2 hours. The food you do get is poor to say the least. My tip is to avoid at all costs.

Italian Restaurant
Again this was quite poor, the menu is very limited and the food is bland and uninspiring. We were really disappointed with it.

Japanese Restaurant
The one bright spot among the main restaurants. The food here was actually really nice, and the service was swift and efficient. Our family friends, who joined us mid way through the holiday, pointed out the service was maybe a bit 'too efficient' and clinical - i could see their point.

Snack Bar
The food here (especially the pizza) was really good.
The best thing (food wise) in the whole hotel was the ice cream, especially the lemon sorbet!

Facilities
The pool area is really clean and well set up (with new looking beds around the pool). The spa treatments are expensive, but we did try them and they were relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable. The spa itself (jacuzzi etc) was ok, but not worth the extra money. As we had the baby (and with the ourdoor pool being like an ice box) we spent our swim time in the indoor pool. The staff in the reception area were really friendly and we enjoyed our times in there, although the rules that all adults AND babies must wear a swimming cap is absolutely ludicrous.

The sports bar facilities (snooker table and dartboard) are tired and very poorly maintained which was a huge disappointment to our group.

Other points
We found the reception staff to be very efficient and friendly, in fact, all the staff were really nice. However. we did have an issue with the manner of one of the buffet staff managers (thin and suited) and there was a guy on the bar in the lobby area who seemed like he would rather be anywhere else in the world other than in that hotel....

When you read the above it sounds like the holiday was poor , it honestly wasn't we genuinely had a really nice time. The negativity is due to the fact that this hotel is sold as 5 stars, having been fortunate (pre-baby) to visit 5 star hotels in Mexico, Cuba and New York, this hotel does not come close. It is however, a nicely hotel which was good value and is perfectly located.

The acid test is always this - Would we stay at this hotel again if we went back to Madeira - no.

Final note: A lot of the guests in this hotel are senior citizens whom i assume are looking for a quite break (which is perfectly fine for us), and probably didn't fancy a young baby being around all the time, however, the love an attention the paid to our baby during our stay was heart warming. We met some really lovely people there and will always be grateful for how well received we were with such a young baby.

Tips: The yellow bus at 12euros was really good value (48 hour ticket)
There is a restaurant just up the road from the hotel called Atlantico - it was fantastic.
There is a restaurant in the old town called San José which was also really really nice.
I found a wine - Quintas das Marias cuvee TT which is quite simply stunning. If you can find it, buy some (i brought 4 bottles home!!)

Room Tip: rooms 911 and 915 were good views with long sun exposure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank D_V_G_Hills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding our Hotel and services as they can always help us to improve.
We can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service, which you may witness in your next visit to the Enotel Lido Hotel.

We are pleased for your co-operation and would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have just returned. Most of the reviews give a fair review of the hotel, and a good description, so I will keep this brief !

I did all inclusive because I wanted to have an active holiday and have the convenience.

The food - important to me - in the main restaurant varied from fair to very good, always good salads and desserts. The themed restaurants (did not try the Japanese), as is usual, were not very good.

The staff - reception/restaurant staff were excellent. The bar staff not so good. They sometimes display an inclination to subtly ridicule elderly guests - I twice told 'Antonio' to behave after remarks he made to other guests which they did not pick up on. I audit in this industry - I know it - it is an arrogance that comes from boredom and management should but haven't yet pick up on it. Look out for it.

Wi-Fi is 22 euros per day - as has been listed there are 3 computers available free - this is not pointed out to you when you enquire about Wi-Fi - and free Wi-Fi is available at the first café outside the bottom door of the garden, where a beer is 1.40.

I would return to this hotel. I had an enjoyable week.

A final note - if you hire a car - I was charged for a damaged door key lock (not something you normally inspect - you are given a remote key fob - and not something I have encountered before). Someone had apparently tried to break into my car. This may be a scam which has found its' way from Faro.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are bigger with bigger balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mdcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and regarding the bar tender attitude, measures we already taken to avoid situations like this in the future.
we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

A friend and I booked this holiday to celebrate a very special birthday. We wanted a hotel who would make us feel relaxed and special. We opted for the all inclusive, as this would allow two weary mum's time to relax and spoil ourselves a little. The hotel is situated a stone's throw away from a heavily stoned beach. The view is absolutely amazing!! The rooms were both spacious and comfortable. During our stay we experienced nothing but the best with regards to service and advice. Nothing was ever too much trouble. We decided to make use of the spa and that didn't disappoint either. Daniella pampered and preened me til I felt like a princess. The choice of food is good, and there are various areas within the hotel to eat or get something to drink. In fact I would like to thank each and every member of staff, for making our stay both special memorable. It's a hotel that I would recommend, though it does seem to be a favourite for a lot of pensioners.

Room Tip: As stated by others, if you want free WiFi just pop outside to the cafe downstairs. You don't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raven64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your opinion with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

“Obrigado” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had a great time in this lovely hotel in february. Food good always enjoyed the choices available. We did try the speciality restaurants and really enjoyed the Japanese. The others were ok but not special apart from the waitress who sings in the local restaurant, she was very good. The rooms we had were spacious and well furnished. It overlooked the pool and the sea. There were superior rooms available but ours were fine. There were alot of Saga visitors in the hotel staying up to 4 weeks it also seem to be popular for single people. We went on a trip with Lido tours arranged by guest relations that was very good and very reasonable. The red and yellow sightseeing buses were also good value. We also went for a trip with a local taxi driver that was really good value for money. He charged 80 euros for a full 4 hours, 20 euros each great value and really informative. My husband is not so good at walking so the driver took us really close to places of interest. Weather really mixed from warm sunshine to hail,thunder, rain and snow on the hills one day.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the pool. We went with another couple so got rooms that were connected. We weren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudithBuffham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay
Pestana Ocean Bay
#36 of 88 in Funchal
1,891 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.2 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004-576, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#22 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#22 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £144 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing