We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enotel Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Enotel Lido Madeira
Ranked #21 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Good, clean hotel with friendly, helpful staff. The all inclusive package is very good value. The buffet restaurant has an excellent selection of meals and there are three other restaurants available. Having experienced the Maderian and Italian I can recommend them. Food is available from a number of areas for most of the day. The only trivial problem is the cost of the wifi.

Room Tip: Rooms in the horseshoe looking over the hotel pool are quieter and sunnier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank gemini0247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,598 - 1,604 of 2,671 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

Just right location for a Funchal Hotel-a good 20 minute walk to town (you will need this to walk off all the lovely food! ) or catch the bus right outside. Our room had a side sea view with a nice balcony to sit out in the evenings. The whole pool area was spotless with plenty of loungers The all inclusive package was the best quality and quanity of food I have had yet . We did not have to wait for anything bar or food , everything was taken care of like a well oiled machine,food was replaced just before it ran out and there always seemed to be a member of staff available wherever you were. We booked our 3 day walk package with the hotel and it was the best value we found either in Funchal or internet searches.Only down side was having to wear a swim cap for the indoor pool-reminded me of school swimming lessons.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank olivia444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that you have had a good time at the Enotel Lido.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us.

“Obrigado” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel and no doubt we will return again next year,the hotel is lovely,spotlessly clean and ultra modern,the food is great and the all inclusive package is great value with branded spirits,cocktails,lovely wine,you couldn't wish for anything more,we had a lovely big room overlooking the pool which caught the sun in the afternoon,the staff are very friendly and nothing was too much trouble,well done enotel see you next year hopefully!!

Room Tip: I would recommend a balcony room which overlooks the pool,we were on the 2nd floor, the same floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira, which you may witness in your next visit here.

We thank you for your co-operation and I would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I would say this hotel is not a 5 star more like a 4 star, I was shocked that there was no wifi you had to pay 22euros a day or over 80 euros a week that is just ridiculously expensive. The hotel is clean and has some very nice areas, the fish tank is amazing. The food is excellent and plentiful and a fair range of choice. The rooms are kept well and sufficient for there purpose. The indoor pool is really nice and so relaxing to have a late afternoon swim in, if your lucky and time it right you can have it all to yourself for a while. I personally found the staff a bit hit and miss some especially those in the Moonlight bar were very nice but else where they could at best be some what robotic and at worse a little rude. One member of staff serving the ice cream spoke to me like I was a child telling the dish was glass and I must be very very careful, it was not the words but the attitude I did not appreciate. I believe in giving a balanced review as I can and say what I find, I would recommend this hotel to friends as long as they did not want wifi everything else is of a good standard. Madeira is a beautiful island and well worth a visit the views are beautiful and getting around is easy and its feels a very safe place, it is very hilly but that for me added to its beauty.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dolphin186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Our second stay at the Enotel Lido, and we were not disappointed - it was just as good as our previous visit in 2013. The Hotel is kept in extremely good order, and the General Manager, Senhor Luis Guimaraes, and all his staff must be congratulated on their excellent service and attention to detail. The staff work extremely hard and are always very pleasant. It has been particularly noticable that Sr Guimaraes visits every part of the hotel, every day, even on his day off. Our thanks to Henriques and the restaurant staff who arranged a special table for us for my husbands 70th birthday and, on the following day, our wedding anniversary. We have only been home for 2 weeks but have already booked to return next February.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Doreen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

First time we have visited the island and thoroughly enjoyed our week in Madeira...the Enotel Lido Hotel
We found to be spotlessly clean , the rooms exactly
What you would hope for and the staff extremely friendly.
The hotel food was very good , a little on the same side
But you could always find something that you could enjoy and be totally satisfied with, however when it came to having drinks with the meal , you were served by the glass , if you wanted wine with your meal the waiter never left a bottle you had to wait to get served
And on few occasions, I must admit I have stayed at many all inclusive hotels and this is a first and I would suggest that the hotel management review this policy.

Whilst talking of drinks it was also disappointing that the Great british tradition of having a gin and tonic was slightly spoilt by the hotel using a non brand tonic instead of a recognised brand ie Schweppes or Nordic mist which you would expect in a 5 star establishment

My last grievance is with the wifi , I asked at reception if
Wifi was available was available to be told it was but at a cost of 22 euros per day or 88 euros per week....absolutely outrageous...most hotel off for free or a small fee again this should be looked into.

Having said all of the above we did enjoy our stay at this hotel and found the bar service to be quick and courteous and the entertainment to be acceptable, would we return to this hotel,possibly,however we would prefer being nearer to the old town of Funchal
In the future.

Loved Madeira and will return soon.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife and I have been having All inclusive holidays in a variety of Locations for over 20 years. Without a doubt this is one of the better AI hotels we have stayed in. We never do themed restaurants preferring always to meander round the Buffet to see whats (visible to the naked eye) on offer and making up our menu for that evening in our own minds. Plenty of Fish and Shellfish, Show Cooking and Roasts most evening and as most holidaymakers fail to see there is themed nights in the Buffet Restaurant as well. Dessert and Pudding was plentiful and even the Cheese Board was varied.
Also we were served International Drinks every night, not the normal local versions or Rocket Fuel as i call it, but there was Grouse Whisky, Gordons Gin and Smirnoff Vodka as well as Portuguese wines on offer.
Sparkling wine was available also at breakfast if you wanted but i preferred the Smoked Salmon with my scrambled egg.

Room Tip: We had a Twin Room on the 10th Floor which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira, which you may witness in your next visit here.

We thank you for your co-operation and I would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
870 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay
Pestana Ocean Bay
#36 of 88 in Funchal
2,071 reviews
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004-576, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
#17 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £155 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing