We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food definitely not 5 star.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Enotel Lido Madeira
Ranked #22 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Food definitely not 5 star.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

First time on Madeira and at this hotel. The hotel is lovely and the staff helpful and pleasant (apart from a couple at the pool side restaurant at lunch-times!). Its fairly central so you can get into Funchal quite easily and there are a couple of nice bars along the main road to go for a change as the entertainment is not that great!

We had requested a high floor for our room a few days before we left the UK and we were on the 9th which was great, quiet and had a nice view over the pool. No problems with lifts never had to wait that long. The room was very comfortable and kept lovely and clean.

The pool was very nice, there was usually enough sunbeds apart from at the odd lunch-time on a very sunny day people did struggle a bit, but towards the end of our holiday we noticed a few more had appeared. You weren't supposed to reserve sunbeds but people did usually on their way to breakfast. It didn't cause too many problems apart from one day when someone complained and the pool guy was told to remove all the towels!!

What let this hotel down was the food. We've been to several All Inclusives and I would say this was the worst for food. It was basically just OK - nothing special and very samey. The choice of desserts was very poor, it was basically different flavour mousses and cake. The food at the pool bar at lunch-time was not good and when we were there was always running out, a couple of times my husband had to ask for more chips and fresh pizza, one day I even had to ask them to slice some more tomatoes as these had run out in the salads- someone needs to take charge down there.

We tried the Italian and the Madeiran and we enjoyed them both, we felt people rushed their food rather than being rushed.

Madeira is a lovely island and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th Floor - very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlamGranLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We have received and carefully read your comments about our Hotel services. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion and suggestions for they are very important to us and can always help us to improve our services.
Thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,254
    737
    233
    47
    23
See reviews for
427
1,458
36
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (813)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

just come back in july 2014 from this hotel was good but had a few complaints on first nights went down for diner had three quarter lenght trousers on was told to go and change okay fair enough why were ladies able to wear shorts also no iron in rooms when i asked for iron was told would have to pay good job i took my own on last night we were having diner my a man walked in with shorts on when i told waiter he told me the man did not have long trousers come on i could have said that when i came however was a good holiday

Room Tip: stayed on level 3 was always clean and tidy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding our Hotel and services as they can always help us to improve.
We can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service, which you may witness in your next visit to the Enotel Lido Hotel.
Regarding the dress code during dinner we already took measures to make sure that all our guests respect our policy.

We are pleased for your co-operation and would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Lovely property with helpful friendly staff - lovely breakfast & lunch in the coffee shop was good. Dinner in the buffet restaurant was ok to terrible, and the Italian restaurant was awful! We did not try the other restaurants. Some of the entertainment was ok - the 'clown' who appeared randomly on Tuesday and who was a juggler on Wednesday was really annoying and should have kept his act for the kids club - not good! All in all a good holiday in a 5* property with 5* staff, but 3* food and entertainment.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Balikissangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We have received and carefully read your comments about our Hotel services. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion and suggestions for they are very important to us and can always help us to improve our services.

All the highlighted points mentioned by you were carefully analyzed and measures were taken in order to avoid situations like these in the future. Nevertheless we will continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service and making all our efforts to make Enotel lido a great hotel to stay.

Thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was our first visit to Maderia, after doing our research we chose the Enotel Lido.
We could not have chosen a better hotel, we arrived to discover that we had been allocated room 433, this has one of the largest verandas I have ever seen it was at least 40 x 24 feet with the sun on it from first thing in the morning till sundown, seperate sitting room with kitchen and the bathroom had jacuzzi bath with seperate shower, must be the best suite in the hotel, so if you want space this is the room for you.
All the staff were very helpful, nothing was to much trouble, the food was first class there is no way you cannot find something to eat in the main restaurant.
On arrival we were informed the bar was 24hrs and after 2am you can help yourself, I did not take them up on this but was assured by others that you can go behind sports bar bar and make pour your own drinks.
If you want a relaxing holiday this is the place, dont believe all you read about it being for the older person, yes there are many but the young kids are welll looked after by the entertainment team.

Room Tip: Room 433 first class sun all day with large veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have just returned from Enotel hotel we could not fault it in any way. The hotel was very clean the staff were very helpful we had a lovely quiet room on the eighth floor overlooking the pool. I have to have a gluton free diet the chef would show me all the food I could eat and there was plenty.It was my husbands birthday a lovely bottle of champagne was left in our room in a ice bucket. We will be back hopefully next year.Thank you for making our holiday so engoyable.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor overlooking the pool and a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have recently arrived back from this lovely hotel, our second visit.

We stayed at Enotel Lido in September of last year the first time, and fell in love with the hotel and Madeira, which we had not visited for more than 20 years.

Imagine to our surprise and delight this time when we were upgraded to a suite on the eighth floor. It was lovely, even had a fully fitted kitchen with coffee maker, kettle and dish washer, although we did not use the facility of the kitchen. The suite had a walk in wardrobe, separate large bedroom and large lounge and dining area, with a very large balcony, heaven.

All the staff at the hotel were very pleasant and hard working.

We visited the Portugese and Italian restaurants, they were excellent. At the Portugese restaurant, the lady maître de sang Fado and what a wonderful voice she had.

We also visited the Japanese restaurant and this was a lovely experience and fantastic food, we really enjoyed all the restaurants.

We also decided to join Enotel Plus to be a gold member as we both enjoy this stunning and elegant hotel. Lots of holidays for us here in future years.

I would highly recommend this spectacular hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank denise384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

“Muito Obrigado” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

First time to madera, the hotel is in a ideal location for exploring the capital and the island, the hotel staff were great , liked a laugh, the food was brill the rooms and hotel were spotles, we went of working and exploring, nice walk to the little fishing along the promenade, did a lavada walk with a guide , found the area very quite on the night time but the daytrips out is what this island is all about , the flora, the butterflys and scenery make up for it,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joe485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,711 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
#31 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
1.2 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.1 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Property: Enotel Lido Madeira
Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004-576, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#22 Family Hotel in Funchal
#22 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing