We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Enotel Lido Madeira
Ranked #22 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Reading some of the negative reviews prior to travelling, we were a little apprehensive about what to expect. We can categorically state that we could not find fault with anything. From our arrival to departure we have absolutely no complaint, and would cordially like to thank all concerned for making our stay so pleasant. It was a pleasure to see the staff happy in their work, and nothing was too much trouble.
How some earlier reviews were derogatory escapes belief. If you expect boozy nights and fast food, then not just this hotel , but Madeira on the whole is not the place for you.
Funchal is a beautiful place, litter free and lout free. Let's all hope it stays this way. This is an idyllic setting for couples and small groups of friends , but having no golden beaches would prove a handicap for families with younger children.
To finalise, thanks for a brilliant time!!

Room Tip: Never heard anyone complain about any aspect of their room. Most have sea view so we would take what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank travellersreturned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

“Muito Obrigado” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,447 - 1,453 of 2,577 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Had a lovely holiday Staying at the Enotel Lido first two weeks of july.Nice large room with pool and sea view,plenty of storage room and a nice queen size bed.Bathroom with bath and seperate shower and bidet.Free room safe and fridge and nice large balcony.Room maids kept rooms spotless so no complaints there.Food in the buffet restaurant was good with a variety to suit all tastes.We tried all 3 themed restaurants (Madeiran,Italian and the Japanese) and we loved them all,the flavour of the food was excellent and was well presented.We read some reviews before the holiday about people saying they did'nt like the food in one or more of these restaurants and a guy on the table next to ours said i don't like Italian food and i thought well why book an Italian themed meal if you do not like Italian food,what an idiot.If burger and chips is your diet then don't waste peoples time booking the themed restaurants.Plenty of seating in lounges and the bars and drinks were excellent and all staff were friendly and helpful.Cannot comment on the entertainment as we always went for a walk after our evening meal,usually down into the town which is about a 45 minute walk and then got the bus back (number 1 or 2) costing 1.95 euros per person.Cheaper bus travel can be achieved by buying a giro bus card locally,but is only worth it if you are going to use the buses a lot.Plenty of sunbeds around the pool and we never had a problem finding one any time of the day.Pool towels supplied on ground floor by the indoor pool.Excursions can be booked at local travel offices outside of the hotel and are much cheaper than booking with your holiday reps .You can walk down to the cable car in the town and purchase your tickets there for a ride up to Monte(15 euros round trip per person) and is well worth doing as the views are amazing and you can watch the toboggans.
There is a small restaurant by the pool serving food till late afternoon and this does have seats inside,however there are also seats outside where you can also eat,but my one and only gripe about this lovely hotel is that if you choose to eat using the outside tables then you will be pestered by the scavenging pigeons,so beware do not leave food unattended on your table.
Hotel management please take note this problem needs sorting out.
Could say a lot more but other reviewers have covered most things.
All in all we had a great holiday at this well run hotel and all our thanks to all the staff that made our stay a truly pleasant one and we would definitely recommend the Enotel Lido and will certainly return.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luv2travelsolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here on a Time Share and requested a quiet room and wasn't disappointed as we had a one bedded room with lounge and mini kitchen with a huge balcony overlooking the sea with 2 sun beds, also a further 2 small balconies off both the bedroom and the lounge.
There was an all inclusive supplement of just over 300 euros which Included all drinks and food throughout the stay.
There was plenty of choice on the buffet style menu and a chef freshly cooking the specials of the day....you could even help yourself to sparkling wine with your breakfast.
There are alternative restaurants on site that you can pre-book-Italian, Japanese and a Madeira restaurant. I only ate at the latter one and wasn't keen but this is a personal choice and we had the same Items on the menu the next day in the standard restaurant. Expect the waitress to burst into traditional song.
The staff are very friendly and helpful although sometimes when entering the dining room there's a lack of staff to show you to a table but otherwise a good experience.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank 89sam90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just been reading some other reviews, some people get a life. The Enotel like the rest of Madeira was relaxing, excellent staff always willing to please. I to run into the trouser problem but went to the Forum and spent 30 euros on 2 pairs of chinos job done.The bar staff were excellent,friendly, and served branded spirits which I have never had in Europe before, usually the local brands. The food was fine I had no complaints. I would recommend the Japanese theme night. The only regret my wife and I had was we only booked 7 nights but have agreed to return when we get another chance the hotel sells its self. A lot of other guests we spoke to were on return visits. We both thought it was excellent value for money and would recommend this hotel and Madeira to any one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel from 2nd to 16th July this year. The hotel staff were without exception first class in courtesy and customer care throughout all areas of the hotel. The restaurant provided excellent choices of food and as much wine as you wanted. In addition 'specialist restaurants' were available but need to be booked in advance. Do try the Japanese restaurant.
The room was excellent with a high standard of cleanliness through out my stay.
Good all round facilities catering for all - young and old.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel - particularly for those seeking the best 'all inclusive' package.
Peter Martin

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

this was our second visit to this hotel after having a great holiday here last year.
staff are brilliant and friendly,reception area is worthy of a 5 star hotel rating.
Ricardo and Pedro still giving their best at the sports bar.told Ricardo to read what people say about him on trip advisor he eventually believed me.
when you get past the facade of reception the star rating drops off quite quickly,food is varied but not cooked fully,breakfast on the last day was cold yet we were in when it first opened up.manager was helping but i think he must have forgotten to remove the bit of tissue stopping a shaving bleed on his face,not very professional !
cleaning of rooms and shower cubicle poor or non existent,balcony area filthy with pigeon droppings,carpets showing dirt and wear in and around main restaurant.
entertainment around the pool area was rubbish and to my mind disturbs the peace and does nothing for the scores of customers who want to relax, all in all i wouldn't even rate the hotel as 4 star .we wont be going back

Room Tip: get a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank reidy_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments with the feedback from your stay.
We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed so much your first visit that you have decided to repeat it.
We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido..

We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay here and would go back to this hotel.
Very clean, very friendly & helpful staff. Food on the whole was excellent.
Never a long wait at the bar. Always a lounger by the pool. Weather was lovely, comfortable heat.
If I was to criticise something, it would be my bed.....a little too hard for my comfort,sorry.
It wouldn't stop me going again though!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruby993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay
Pestana Ocean Bay
#36 of 88 in Funchal
1,907 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.2 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004-576, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#18 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#22 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#22 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £144 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing