We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round good family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Enotel Lido Madeira
Ranked #22 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel has something for everybody, catering for all ages & tastes. Wide age range of guests, but mostly family orientated especially during holiday periods. Good selection of food, pretty much at anytime of the day you want. The staff are always really busy , but still have time to meet your requests, particularly two of the hardest working bar staff I've ever met (Aurielo & Pedro). It's more in the hotel & restaurant district on the west side of town..Would be a goldmine if this was nearer the town centre, but as you can still stroll there in about half an hour, or there are buses/taxis/hire cars/hire bikes right outside, that's not really an issue. The Enotel's only downfall really is that it doesn't have a smoking policy outdoors . Also, don't go to Madeira if you want a beach holiday, they are few & far between on the island, nor if you want guaranteed sunshine.. most days usually have some cloud cover. This island mostly appeals to those who appreciate rugged dramatic coastlines, mountain views, walking, hiking & the odd water sport. If staying there for more than a week, consider hiring a small car for about £70/day peak season to see all the sights.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpudSpuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,456 - 1,462 of 2,617 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was our first trip to the Island of Madeira , what a lovely island . the hotel was one of the best holiday hotels we have stayed in . warm friendly staff the food in the main restaurant was top class
, on top of that there were 3 onsite restaurants 1 Italian 1 Local and 1 sushi we ate in the first 2 and the food was also top class . The rooms are very nice with the added touch of bathrobes . would have no problem visiting this hotel again.

Room Tip: All the rooms come with a lovely seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira, which you may witness in your next visit here.

We thank you for your co-operation and I would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.
Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Had a lovely week at this resort. The hotel is well presented, the staff very helpful, the entertainment staff great fun, our grandchildren loved the kid's club, the food (although not 5 star) was varied and generally good quality and the house brands were drinkable and you were served quickly. The evening entertainment was also quite good. Couldn't get into any of the specialist restaurants on site so recommend you book early for these. The only (minor) grudge was that we couldn't get Wi-Fi on our floor (they were aware of the fault but were not able to fix it all week) and the Wi-Fi hotspot in reception was poor. However one of the most relaxing holidays we have experienced.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank shropshirejourneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

Just for your information, we have fixed the WI-FI connection and it is now working properly in all rooms.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have just returned from a 2 week all inclusive holiday at the Enotel and were very impressed and delighted with almost every aspect of our holiday. We were a little concerned in some of the reviews that we read before we left that the average age of holiday makers was over 60, but this is certainly not the case while we were there in July. There was a good mix of young families, teenagers, couples and more mature guests. We had requested a quiet room on a higher floor and that is exactly what we got. Our room was near to the lift but we never heard a sound from it and as the rooms are all carpeted, we virtually didn't hear a sound from other guests.

Starting with the room; it was extremely comfortable, well furnished, kept spotlessly clean and had a lovely pool and sea view. The beds were firm and very comfortable, the bedding was changed frequently and the room cleaned to a very high standard every day. In the bathroom were a selection of complementary toiletries, two fluffy bathrobes and plenty of snow white towels. There was a separate shower as well as a bath with a shower attachment. A hint, if you want a kettle and complementary tea and coffee in your room, just ask at reception. Ours was delivered within half an hour. There's also a mini bar which is kept restocked free of charge and a safe which is also free to use.

The pool was perfect, kept spotlessly clean, well maintained, very safe and with plenty of sunbeds for everyone without the need to getting up at silly o'clock in the morning to get one. You could come down at 9 or 10 'clock and there would still be plenty available. It looks like the sunbeds are new this season as there were no damaged ones and there are plenty of good condition parasols.

Dining at the Enotel is an absolute pleasure. There are four restaurants to choose from, although three, namely the Madeiran, Japanese and Italian all need to be pre-booked and have set menus. The main buffet restaurant offers a huge choice of mouth watering food to suit all tastes. My only gripe here would be that sometimes the food could be a little hotter, but having said that there is a microwave available you can use to pep the food up. The menu does repeat on a weekly cycle, but as there is such a wide choice this is not a problem. We never once had to wait to be seated and were quickly greeted by very friendly waiting staff to take our drinks order which always arrived before we returned to the tables with our food. During the day there is also a very well stocked snack bar and sports bar by the pool area.

Entertainment is provided although we preferred to enjoy the quiet Moonlight Bar on the 6th floor. During the day the entertainments team does put on a range of activities suitable for all ages which includes aqua aerobics classes, table tennis, cards, water polo and even bingo. However, there was never any pressure to join in if you just wanted to relax by the pool and enjoy a drink. The all-inclusive includes a wide range of named brand drinks and coke etc throughout the day and evening until the early ours if you are so inclined. The bar staff always give very generous measures! (Be aware though, that the cocktails are pre-mixed and not particularly great).

The hotel is perfectly situated, 30-40 minutes walk from Funchal itself. The walk is very enjoyable, if a little hilly and there a lots of shops, bars and restaurants along the way. But if you don't fancy the walk the bus is only 2 Euro each way or there are lots of taxis available at a reasonable cost.

There are numerous trips available to explore this beautiful island. We would definitely recommend a levada walk. These range from "easy flat walk" to "difficult". We took a full day moderate walk (to the 25 waterfalls) which was amazing with some incredible views (some sections did challenge my fear of heights a little but it was worth it!) Just ensure you have sensible foot ware - definitely no flip-flops!

To end with, we would recommend this hotel to anyone, families and couples alike. All the staff are very friendly and helpful and will always go the extra mile to ensure you have a very memorable and enjoyable holiday. We would be more than happy to return to this excellent hotel.

Room Tip: We would recommend the higher floors if you want a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira, which you may witness in your next visit here.

“Obrigado” for your co-operation and I would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have just returned from a 14 night holiday, all inclusive at the Enotel Lido hotel. We have had a great holiday, the hotel was wonderful and the facilities were superb. The hotel and rooms were immaculately clean, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, they couldn't do enough for you. We felt very spoilt. The food was excellent and they have three speciality restaurants that you can access once per holiday, a Madeiran, an Italian and a Japanese one. The food in all of these restaurants was excellent. We travelled as a family of 5 with two older teenage children and we all enjoyed our holiday. There was plenty to do at the hotel such as a well equipped spa that guests over 16 can access, and an excellent entertainments team who ran various activities over the day and evening. They were friendly and never pushy. The hotel is well situated about 40 minutes walk into Funchal and you can swim in the sea right opposite the hotel. We would definitely stay at this hotel again and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira, which you may witness in your next visit here.

“Obrigado” for your co-operation and all the best for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is excellent its very clean, staff are friendly the food is really good also. We went on a week break and the area is excellent too, busses are easy, frequent and cheap if you are not keen on walking. We would definately go back, no beaches to lounge on if thats what you like though.

Room Tip: higher floor as bar is outside is noisy till 11.30
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank deborahBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Having just returned home after our latest visit to this hotel. I would just like to say a big thank you to all the staff with a special mention for Sara,you'll find her on the customer relations desk. Balthazar,he's in the pool coffee bar and Nuris, Rodolfo, Pedro and Castanha who make our stay so special so look them up if you stay there.Its the staff that make this place along with a lovely location and some great food.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StevieB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,031 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay
Pestana Ocean Bay
#36 of 88 in Funchal
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.8 mi away
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Enotel Quinta do Sol
#33 of 88 in Funchal
799 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004-576, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#22 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#22 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £150 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing