We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Enotel Lido Madeira
Ranked #22 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with friendly staff”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and i stayed here on the 18th of July for 2 wks and we have only just got back. As we arrived we thought wow the hotel was lovely from the outside. As we got inside and we checked in at reception which was at the end of what was called the lobby bar. Friendly staff checked us in and we went up too our room. The room was lovely very spacious with a balcony overlooking the pool and the sea. Only issue i had with the room was 2 single beds were made up seperately and pushed together to make a double and the mattrasses were too hard. We had sore backs for a couple of days. By the pool area was a sports bar that opened till 2 in the morning. Also entertainment was there day and night. A restaurant that served food all day. There was also 2 specialality restaurants you has too book day before which was a Maderian one that served traditional food the other was Italian. Which have to say were lovely. Upstairs was the lobby bar that some nights did entertainment and downstairs was another beautiful lounge area and next too it was the moonlight bar which did entertaiment and a disco. The main restaurant was upstairs where the food was gorgeous The hotel provides a gym and a beautiful Spa. With a pool and sauna, jaccuzi,steam room and sauna. Also theres a beauty and massage area. My big issue with the Spa was that children used the pool to play in with inflatable beds and toys. My husband and i never found that area with the pool relaxing at all and thats what a Spa is for. Children should be made too use the outdoor pool too play in and i think the Spa should be adults only who want too chill out. Overall we both enjoyed our 1st trip too Maderia. Its a stunning Island. The hotel was beautiful and very clean. Staff were very friendly particular restaurant and bar staff who worked very hard and very long hours. The hotel also provides a hairdressers which i used myself. The lady is very pleasant.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank kazwaz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,252
    735
    233
    47
    23
See reviews for
426
1,455
36
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is definitely not 5 star, the beds are hard and the so called doubled bed we had was 2 singles pushed together, the al a carte restaurants were a joke the Italian had plastic tables and chairs and doubled as the snack bar in the daytime at night they just threw a tablecloth on the tables, the food in the main dining was cold most mornings even after the dining room had just opened, I had to use the microwave on many occasions, also the gym did not open till 8 o'clock in the morning, myself and other users said this was the latest they had ever known a gym open in the mornings, the only thing we found 5 star was the bar service and the bar staff.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion regarding our Hotel and our services as it can always help us to improve.
We can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service, which you may witness in your next visit to the Enotel Lido Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed for one week from 18th July - this was our second visit and after the brilliant week we had last year - we couldn't wait to return ....I think you worry about returning somewhere you've visited previously and wonder if it'll still be as good - but we shouldn't have worried as it was fabulous once again ..

The first impression when walking into this hotel is fantasic, the view through the windows from reception across the pool and to the sea is brilliant. Everywhere is immaculately clean and furnished to a very high standard. Our check in was speedy and I had I emailed the hotel a couple of weeks before we went and asked for the same room as we had last time ( 9th floor ) they were unable to oblige - but we were given a fabulous room on the second floor with a lovely pool and sea view. Our room was lovely, light and spotlessly clean, the TV had a few English channels - the bathroom was really spacious with a separate shower cubicle and full sized bath, - again spotlessly clean. Lovely fresh towels were changed as often as you wanted; they just ask that you leave any towels you wanted changing in the bath. It was the guest’s choice to chose how often to have your bedding changed; they asked you leave the note provided at the side of the bed - on red or green depending on your choice. This is a really good idea - because some people expect clean linen more often than others - and it gives you the chance to help the environment by your decision. We also had dressing gowns left for us, which came in very handy – they were immaculate and brilliantly white – a real bonus.

There was a mini bar in the room and when we arrived it had a big bottle of water and cans of lemonade – coke and orange – which were replaced daily… There was also bottled water available free of charge from all of the bars for all inclusive guests.

Staying all-inclusive allowed us to have breakfast, lunch and dinner in the main dining room on level 2 and lunch in the restaurant on level 1, which was a brilliant self serve restaurant serving meals along with sandwiches, hot dogs, burgers, chips and the most delicious pizzas I've ever had. In addition to this – there were buckets of red, white and rose wine to help yourself and slushes and ice cream for the kids. We could also eat in each of the themed restaurants – Italian, Japanese and Madeiran by reserving a table 24 hours in advance. We took advantage of all three. and while we really enjoyed them all – our favorite by far was the Madeiran – lovely food and plenty of free flowing red and white wine. But this was made extra special by Fatima – one of the waitresses, who sang in Portuguese while she was serving and gave us a lovely rendition of a Portuguese lament and entertaining us later.

In the dining room there was a good choice of foods and being buffet service you could pick and choose as much as you liked. They also had a show cooking area, where food was cooked on request – normally fish chicken or steaks. While there was not such a massive choice of food – what we had was excellent – really tasty and attractively presented and well prepared. The only disappointment as far as food was concerned was breakfast – the bacon (while we are used to the bacon served abroad) this was very fatty and extremely smoked, and the sausages were very small and spicy. Although it was more than made up for by having Cava available – as I love my Bucks Fizz at breakfast…

All types of drinks – beers, wines, cava, spirits, cocktails and soft drinks, tea and coffee - were available all day and night - this included some premium brands such as Smirnoff Vodka, Grants Gin and various whisky’s – although some premium drinks such as malt whisky were chargeable. Even while sunbathing round the pool the waiters would come round with trays of beer, sangria or soft drinks, which came in handy in the heat….

The hotel is situated on the Lido amongst other hotels. There is a pleasant promenade along the sea front and 2 supermarkets nearby. The walk into the centre of Funchal takes about 30 minutes although there are frequent buses, from just outside the hotel numbers 1 and 2 into Funchal. There is also a free secure car park under the hotel. If you turn left outside of the hotel and walk for about 10 minutes – there is a great shopping centre, full of bargains at Zara etc. Madeira is a very hilly island and the situation of the hotel is an example of this – so be prepared for this, great walking down hill – but not so good walking up hill …..

Funchal is a wonderful town – make sure you take a trip on the Cable Car and visit the gardens at Monte. We just love walking round the town – visiting the flower markets and soaking up the atmosphere and having a glass of vino in the pavement café’s and watching the world go by ….. Although there is still a lot of building work going on, as a result of the floods they had a few years ago…

Back to the hotel - Particular mention must go to the staff who, without exception, were friendly, efficient, helpful and professional. It would be hard to mention them all individually – but apart from Fatima, I was really impressed by Eduardo who seemed to be everywhere – he was working and organizing everyone in the dining room, and serving in the sports bar. If there were glasses anywhere he was clearing the tables. I've never met anyone so efficient and obviously dedicated to his role and the company. I was also impressed by the hotel manager who was continually walking about ( quite unobtrusive though ) and monitoring the standards, he even helped out in the dining room at breakfast time when they were busy ….

It was always good to start the evening in the piano bar area which is situated on the Reception floor. A couple of drinks before meal time always helps the meal go down.... After the meal it was always worth visiting the Sports Bar and the Pool area to see what entertainment they had on there. The entertainment was limited apart from the live music duo which we enjoyed on the Pool area at night. The Madeirian show was good – but as we had seen it last year, we just watched a small part of it before retiring to the Piano Bar…. Hubby was disappointed as the Golf Open was on while we were there and this was not available in the Sports Bar – they only seemed to show foreign football…

I was pleased to see the sun beds had been changed from last year, and replaced with high quality comfortable ones… There was always plenty of them available, no matter when you went down to the pool. I don’t know if we were lucky and happened to holiday with unselfish people who did not reserve them – as I noticed in previous reviews this was one area of complaint.. Pool towels are available and can be changed FOC in the spa area. The hotel also has an indoor pool and spa – although we did not use either. There is a requirement to wear a bathing cap in the indoor pool, but I understand these can be purchased from them.

It was our Wedding Anniversary while we were there and we were presented with a fabulous bottle of Cava – This was a lovely touch which was really appreciated by both of us..

Would we go back ???? in a flash …… and are already looking to book for next year, and we normally don’t go back to the same place more than once … but Madeira is special and so is Enotel Lido Madeira …

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank patsycon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira.

Looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel has something for everybody, catering for all ages & tastes. Wide age range of guests, but mostly family orientated especially during holiday periods. Good selection of food, pretty much at anytime of the day you want. The staff are always really busy , but still have time to meet your requests, particularly two of the hardest working bar staff I've ever met (Aurielo & Pedro). It's more in the hotel & restaurant district on the west side of town..Would be a goldmine if this was nearer the town centre, but as you can still stroll there in about half an hour, or there are buses/taxis/hire cars/hire bikes right outside, that's not really an issue. The Enotel's only downfall really is that it doesn't have a smoking policy outdoors . Also, don't go to Madeira if you want a beach holiday, they are few & far between on the island, nor if you want guaranteed sunshine.. most days usually have some cloud cover. This island mostly appeals to those who appreciate rugged dramatic coastlines, mountain views, walking, hiking & the odd water sport. If staying there for more than a week, consider hiring a small car for about £70/day peak season to see all the sights.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpudSpuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was our first trip to the Island of Madeira , what a lovely island . the hotel was one of the best holiday hotels we have stayed in . warm friendly staff the food in the main restaurant was top class
, on top of that there were 3 onsite restaurants 1 Italian 1 Local and 1 sushi we ate in the first 2 and the food was also top class . The rooms are very nice with the added touch of bathrobes . would have no problem visiting this hotel again.

Room Tip: All the rooms come with a lovely seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira, which you may witness in your next visit here.

We thank you for your co-operation and I would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.
Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Had a lovely week at this resort. The hotel is well presented, the staff very helpful, the entertainment staff great fun, our grandchildren loved the kid's club, the food (although not 5 star) was varied and generally good quality and the house brands were drinkable and you were served quickly. The evening entertainment was also quite good. Couldn't get into any of the specialist restaurants on site so recommend you book early for these. The only (minor) grudge was that we couldn't get Wi-Fi on our floor (they were aware of the fault but were not able to fix it all week) and the Wi-Fi hotspot in reception was poor. However one of the most relaxing holidays we have experienced.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shropshirejourneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

Just for your information, we have fixed the WI-FI connection and it is now working properly in all rooms.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have just returned from a 2 week all inclusive holiday at the Enotel and were very impressed and delighted with almost every aspect of our holiday. We were a little concerned in some of the reviews that we read before we left that the average age of holiday makers was over 60, but this is certainly not the case while we were there in July. There was a good mix of young families, teenagers, couples and more mature guests. We had requested a quiet room on a higher floor and that is exactly what we got. Our room was near to the lift but we never heard a sound from it and as the rooms are all carpeted, we virtually didn't hear a sound from other guests.

Starting with the room; it was extremely comfortable, well furnished, kept spotlessly clean and had a lovely pool and sea view. The beds were firm and very comfortable, the bedding was changed frequently and the room cleaned to a very high standard every day. In the bathroom were a selection of complementary toiletries, two fluffy bathrobes and plenty of snow white towels. There was a separate shower as well as a bath with a shower attachment. A hint, if you want a kettle and complementary tea and coffee in your room, just ask at reception. Ours was delivered within half an hour. There's also a mini bar which is kept restocked free of charge and a safe which is also free to use.

The pool was perfect, kept spotlessly clean, well maintained, very safe and with plenty of sunbeds for everyone without the need to getting up at silly o'clock in the morning to get one. You could come down at 9 or 10 'clock and there would still be plenty available. It looks like the sunbeds are new this season as there were no damaged ones and there are plenty of good condition parasols.

Dining at the Enotel is an absolute pleasure. There are four restaurants to choose from, although three, namely the Madeiran, Japanese and Italian all need to be pre-booked and have set menus. The main buffet restaurant offers a huge choice of mouth watering food to suit all tastes. My only gripe here would be that sometimes the food could be a little hotter, but having said that there is a microwave available you can use to pep the food up. The menu does repeat on a weekly cycle, but as there is such a wide choice this is not a problem. We never once had to wait to be seated and were quickly greeted by very friendly waiting staff to take our drinks order which always arrived before we returned to the tables with our food. During the day there is also a very well stocked snack bar and sports bar by the pool area.

Entertainment is provided although we preferred to enjoy the quiet Moonlight Bar on the 6th floor. During the day the entertainments team does put on a range of activities suitable for all ages which includes aqua aerobics classes, table tennis, cards, water polo and even bingo. However, there was never any pressure to join in if you just wanted to relax by the pool and enjoy a drink. The all-inclusive includes a wide range of named brand drinks and coke etc throughout the day and evening until the early ours if you are so inclined. The bar staff always give very generous measures! (Be aware though, that the cocktails are pre-mixed and not particularly great).

The hotel is perfectly situated, 30-40 minutes walk from Funchal itself. The walk is very enjoyable, if a little hilly and there a lots of shops, bars and restaurants along the way. But if you don't fancy the walk the bus is only 2 Euro each way or there are lots of taxis available at a reasonable cost.

There are numerous trips available to explore this beautiful island. We would definitely recommend a levada walk. These range from "easy flat walk" to "difficult". We took a full day moderate walk (to the 25 waterfalls) which was amazing with some incredible views (some sections did challenge my fear of heights a little but it was worth it!) Just ensure you have sensible foot ware - definitely no flip-flops!

To end with, we would recommend this hotel to anyone, families and couples alike. All the staff are very friendly and helpful and will always go the extra mile to ensure you have a very memorable and enjoyable holiday. We would be more than happy to return to this excellent hotel.

Room Tip: We would recommend the higher floors if you want a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira, which you may witness in your next visit here.

“Obrigado” for your co-operation and I would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luís Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
2,709 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
#31 of 87 in Funchal
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
1.2 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.1 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Property: Enotel Lido Madeira
Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004-576, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#22 Family Hotel in Funchal
#22 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing