We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star rated with 3 star service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Enotel Lido Madeira
Ranked #22 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Side sea view room Excellent...Service very poor (except reception),inefficient,no enthusiam,no smiles.The hotel is now Enotel Lido and is being used as fully inclusive package holidays.Gourmet resteraunt no longer being used.Breakfast excellent selection but luke warm bacon and eggs.Location verygood..Evening Buffet not bad but nothing special.Hotel airport transfers are no longer being offered...I would rate this as a 4 star only.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joanslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,053 - 2,059 of 2,610 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2011

Nice, but pretentious hotel & clients. Not suitable for families with young children or walkers with rucksacks & walking shoes (that's us!!). Indoor swimming pool too cold.
If you want good food, don't go half board (canteen style hot food). The breakfast is excellent. Beware of hidden costs (bring you own tea & coffee for the bedroom & your shower caps for the indoor pool). Twin beds (in our bedroom), hardly suitable for young couples!!! Wifi not free of charge, but free access PCs downstairs.
Good points: helpful staff, free parking under the hotel, good sports & spa facilities.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank franglaishtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

The staff aren't very friendly save for the 2 guys behind the piano bar. They were both very friendly. The hotel is very large! We loved the pool area and gym, however, the staff there especially the women, are abrupt and sharp in their manner. The breakfast is very good. As we were in Madeira in January the place was practically empty. There was a sadness about the place. I think it was the rain...! We had afternoon tea at Reids Palace which was magical. The Botanical Gardens are well worth a visit. The island is very green and lush but the roads are not for the faint hearted. It rained quite a bit when we were there which was the only real downside of the holiday. The hotel is so big that it does feel a bit like a business hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank perrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Very efficient service. The room was large, clean, bathroom good with separate bath (even though we did not need it). The shower was very powerful ( lovely after a long walk).
Had a good sleep every night in the huge bed and the dressing gowns were a nice touch.
Food was excellent - every night - especially the beef. Breakfast was also good - plenty of choice and i liked the local produce.
it is in a good location with a promenade walk and a shuttle bus that takes you into town - timings are reliable.
The drink prices are a bit steep and the hotel lacks character. - these are the only negative points i can think of. For us it was perfect for our needs -we were out and about every day -there is so much to see in Madeira.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank petanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Myself and my family have been visiting Madeira for the past 10 years, sometimes visiting up to 4 times a year. We are visiting again in February '11. We always stay at the Tivoli Ocean Park which has now changed its name to Enotel Lido Madeira. The staff are extremely friendly and speak excellent english. The island is quiet but beautiful. If you are looking for a relaxing stay away or a walking holiday, Madeira is perfect. The food at the hotel is very good, however it is slightly not as good as it used to be 10 years ago. There is little entertainment at the hotel but there are plenty of things to do in the evenings, for example there is a cafe/bar up the road which is a nice place to sit out and have a relaxing drink. The alcoholic drinks are slightly overpriced however if you purchase the drink vouchers (ask at the main bar in reception) then it becomes less overpriced. Overall I think this hotel is fantastic and would recommend to anyone. There is plenty to do in Funchal and plenty to see, beautiful island, friendly locals.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alliex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

First and foremost, a very BIG THANK YOU for all you have done in making our stay and that of our friends a very memorable, enjoyable and yet again a fantastic holiday.

Special thanks to Sara Correia (Guest Relations Officer) for the warm welcome with nothing being to much trouble and making us feel part of one big family.

We have been staying at this hotel since it opened in 1999 and cannot praise enough the high standard of service given by all the staff most of them having been there since open day (this speaks volumes) hope this will carry on under the new management.

As mentioned above our friends really enjoyed the stay at the hotel and were very surprised at the quality of service and attention from all the staff (well done you)

The Hotel is located in an area close to restaurants, cafes, shops and next to the promenade (from the Lido to Praia Formosa) for those feeling more energetic.

The hotel having been opened 11 years is now in need, we feel of an overall uplift to keep it's five star grade specially as it stands in the middle of 2 newly constructed hotels.

We will definitely be back sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joevi90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

This is the seventh time that my wife and I have stayed at the Tivoli Hotel which has now been acquired by the Enotel hotel Group
The hotel staff have remained the same since our first visit and when we arrive it is like visiting family
The staff cannot do enough to make your stay enjoyable and nothing appears to be too much trouble
We would recommend staying here over the Christmas and New Year period which is quite memorable particularly when taken to a wonderful vantage point to see the firework display - this year quite fantastic

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonwyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay
Pestana Ocean Bay
#36 of 88 in Funchal
1,955 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.6 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.8 mi away
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Enotel Quinta do Sol
#33 of 88 in Funchal
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004-576, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#22 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#22 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £144 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, LoveHolidays, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing