We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“deserves praise and support”
Review of Royal Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Savoy Hotel
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
carradale, scotland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“deserves praise and support”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

My wife and I spent two weeks at this resort in November in a studio apartment, and were delighted on just about every level.
The resort is situated ideally. It stands adjacent to the sea yet within an easy walk of Funchal town centre, and it appears that all rooms are sea facing across delightful gardens and swimming pools. We were allocated a room on the second floor, but I am convinced that a room virtually anywhere would prove to be more than acceptable.
We found the staff to be pleasant and graceful in every department, and the cost and standard of food and drinks when purchased carefully to be more than fair for a five star establishment.
Sadly, we detected that the hotel services such as restaurant and bars were not well patronised, and this puzzled us, for we thought that the management were trying very hard to deliver value to their customers by selling various discounted meal packages and the like, in addition to extended 'happy hours' in all the bar outlets.
If I was a timeshare owner at this resort, I would be very concerned that in not supporting the useage of these outstanding facilities, the management might conclude it not worthwhile to keep them operating at that level of excellence.
In other words be careful - 'use it or lose it' !
The interior public areas and furnishings are truly delightful - comfortable and relaxing decor and interesting artwork around every corner, and so given the opportunity, we would not hesitate to return to this resort.
We see only two minor negatives...
1. The Old Savoy Hotel gardens. Its sad to see them behind locked gates, clearly going to seed. Although the gardens do not in any way detract from the excellence of the Royal Savoy Resort , we hope the rebuild of that famous old hotel and reinstatement of the gardens will not be long delayed.
2. Strangely, we found all the room towels to be a little thin, and not in tune with the excellence of the other room linens and so on.
This resort is excellent, and deserves its five star rating, and we would say well done to all the management and staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hebridesferryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    165
    47
    8
    10
See reviews for
159
436
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We took our 1 year old on her first foreign holiday to Madeira, in November. We chose Madeira because it was sort of short-haul (3 1/2 hour flight) and a good temperature in November. We picked the Royal Savoy for 2 main reasons - firstly, the location and secondly, the Kitchenette.

Funchal is a hilly town. From the harbour, it basically goes up in all directions. Some of the hills are steep. The main hotel zone is 20 minutes walk to the West of the centre. The Royal Savoy is on the very edge of the hotel zone, nearest the city centre / harbour. This is a very good thing. Whilst there is a steep road from the harbour from the hotel, which is about 200m long, the rest of the route from the harbour and city centre is flat and it is all pram friendly.

The hotel is largely a "junior suite" hotel - 95% of the rooms are junior suites, with only a small number of senior suites and "standard rooms" It is a funny set up - you walk in at the top (8th floor) and the hotel is down the side of a cliff - the pool is on floor 0, rooms are inbetween.

The rooms are of average width, but quite long, allowing for a "bedroom" and then small kitchen/living room. They are not separate rooms however and with the exception of the bathroom, it would be better described as a large room with a partial divider in it.
The Kitchenette has a 2 ring hob, microwave/grill combi, fridge, dishwasher, sink/drainer, coffee maker, kettle and toaster, as well as a very good selection of crockery, pans and accessories. This is absolutely ideal if you have a baby who needs her bottle heating, or a quick meal making.

The hotel is luxurious, the pool area is of a high standard and there are loads of sunbeds. The "heated" pools were about the same temperature as the sea and the outside ones are salt-water. There is direct access to the sea for a swim, but no beach.

Previous reviewers have commented on the lack of people having meals and I have to agree with them. We had a b&b deal and on every day were one of only 3 or so tables being used in the restaurant. Other reviewers have commented that this reduces the atmosphere in the hotel and I have to agree - it would have been nice to have seen more people. We didn't eat in the hotel in the evenings as it is very formal and we didn't think our 1 year old would have "fit in" to this atmosphere. The menus for evening meals and room service were not the most creative either.

Whilst food / drink prices in the hotel are higher than surrounding bars / restaurants, compared to other 5* hotels we have stayed in, the prices were actually reasonable.

The staff loved our baby and always stopped to coo, chat to her and hold her hand. The hotel also gave us a good cotbed and high chair. Reception staff were the only let-down on the staff front, they gave the impression of you not being special at all and that you were "inconveniences that needed processing", which is a shame, as other staff were great.

Overall, we really enjoyed the hotel and the holiday and would recommend it

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We first stayed at the now demolished Savoy eight years ago and were able to use the Royal Savoy pool. We asked to be shown around their rooms and, as we enjoy being able to self-cater when we want, found these an attractive proposition and have been coming back at least once a year since. We have only once eaten in the restaurant, however, as we found the atmosphere lacking in ambiance and the food, while excellent, not particularly good value. We prefer to eat out in the many surrounding restaurants or walk into town. One of the appeals of this hotel is that it is comparatively close to town. The furnishings have a certain opulent appeal although I can understand reviewers who don't like them; each to his own. The service is always excellent and the maids will accommodate our movements in relation to cleaning daily. A shame the bar is so expensive as it would otherwise make for an ideal rendezvous. Fortunately the rooms have excellent balconies and there is a supply of ice available to enable one to finish off the day in style.

Room Tip: Lower numbered rooms - ie 3003, 5004 rather than 3026 etc have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LuvFunchal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We have recently returned from a holiday in Madeira staying at the Royal Savoy. This is our 2 nd stay here and once again had a a great holiday. Our room was on the ground floor which was great as we could have a swim before breakfast without having to go through the hotel.The hotel is in an excellent position being a 15 min. stroll along the new promenade to the centre of Funchal , were there are great restaurants. The hotel is all you could ask for clean ,friendly,good food and spacious accommodation. Cannot wait to return next year!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CDMWareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I stayed at the Royal Savoy with my mother and is was wonderful. We were upgraded to a suite on the 7th floor overlooking the sea and the cliffs of Madeira. The furniture is of a very high standard throughout the hotel. The living area was very spacious, good size kitchen with a dishwasher :), 2 good size bathrooms, a dressing room, a good size twin bedroom and a large balcony which was great because we are smokers and ashtrays were provided. The kitchen is great if you want to go self catering as there is a cooker and fridge as well as toaster, coffee machine and kettle. The shower was amazing, we wanted to take it home with us! The breakfast was a typical 5 star hotel breakfast, plenty of choice, hot and cold. The location of the hotel was perfect as it was only a good 10 minute stroll to the old town which was wonderful. There is long cobbled street in the old town which is well worth a visit, all the front doors of peoples houses are decorated in a different way, it was awesome. We packed a lot into our 6 days including The Botanical Gardens, Tropical Gardens, Santana, Pico De Ariero and Porto Moniz. Pico was incredible, it is worth the journey to the top of the mountains which is 1810 feet above sea level, you are above the clouds and you feel like you are in heaven, amazing feeling which cannot be captured by a photograph, take a jacket or shawl tough cos it was cold even though the temperature in Funchal Town Centre was 28 degrees! Santana was cute but you can see it in 15 minutes, cute pyramid houses. Porto Moniz was amazing, the colour of the sea is turquoise and the waves looked soapy like washing powder. Go to the restaurant down by the natural rock pools, food was lovely - had Portugese fish with banana, yummy, also take your swimsuit because you can swim in the rockpools. We took taxis most places because Madeira is extremely hilly, not for the faint hearted or for people with knee trouble. Taxis were very reasonable, about 5 euros to get here and there.
Altogether a great holiday with beautiful weather, fabulous hotel and Portugese hospitality.

Room Tip: we had room 1700 which had a wonderful view. I am sure all of the rooms/suites are of an extremely h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shoptilludrop007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

My wife and me return to the royal every year, (9) times to date and find that it is still an exceptional hotel.Rooms are highly furnished with all amenities, 5 star without a a doubt. Staff are kind friendly and attentive apart from the odd lapse. On our visit in Oct we ordered room service which was fine. However the dishes were still waiting to be collected at lunchtime the next day. The hotel is working hard to attract its residents to use the facilities ie eat and drink in the hotel by offering various discounts as an incentive but while I believe the meals to be excellent I do not think that overall they are value for money and that is still a problem for the hotel.
The bar is still as it has been for several years, lacking atmosphere with high priced drinks hence its lack of customers. I think that the bar area is in need of a major refurbishment.I still love the place though and the staff are very professional and welcoming.
The swimming pools are very good a very small gym is available and swimming in the sea from the hotel is available to the foolhardy
Meals around the poolside tend to be expensive, consider alfresco dining for lunch on your balcony. there are several small shops nearby to by basics like bread, ham, cheese and tomatoes.
Having said all of that I will be back in May knowing that I will still enjoy the hotel, the island and its people.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that gets the sun most of the day, some are tucked away and are in shade for a good p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johnruskin92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

My husband and I spent a week at the Royal Savoy at the end of September in a hotel room on a bed and breakfast basis. We had a luxury bathroom plus a dressing room and the furnishings were lovely. We had a good size balcony for the size of the room but we were on the fifth floor with a roof garden in front of us so even though we had a sea view we had to stand to see it.
The standard and variety of food for breakfast was excellent. On the second night of our stay we decided to try the restaurant and we were not disappointed. Although we had not booked a table the head waiter found us one. We did not realise it was the "Candlelight Dinner" evening until we opened the menu. It was a five course meal, which we could not fault, plus coffee and petit fours. All our wine was included in the price of 39 euros each and the service was what one would expect from a 5* hotel. The setting of the restaurant by the pool with the sound of the sea crashing on the rocks below was superb.
Housekeeping was something else. The chamber maid could have put a bit more effort in when it came to cleaning our room. She came early one morning just as we were going out. She went straight into the bathroom and just as I was leaving I realised I didn't have my sunscreen so popped into the bathroom to get it only to find her wiping the vanity unit over very quickly with her apron. I have stayed in many hotels around the world and this is the first time that the maid has not washed or changed cups and glasses that had been used.
If we went back to Madeira this is the place we would stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tljsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.4 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Savoy Hotel

Property: Royal Savoy Hotel
Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#18 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Savoy Hotel  is situated in a privileged oceanfront location overlooking the harbour of Funchal. The city's fascinating historic and cultural centre are close by. Funchal's Old Town district, the bustling Marina, beautiful city gardens, Municipal Theatre, city squares adored with outdoor cafes & esplanades, Shopping Centres, Museums and many more interesting places to visit are just a stone's throw away.  This Hotel offers 12 spacious standard rooms, 101 junior suites plus 59 superior suites with one or two bedrooms, each elegantly decorated providing the utmost quality and comfort whilst creating a unique exotic atmosphere. All rooms have an ample furnished balcony and enjoy magnificent ocean views. All junior suites have their own kitchenette, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, cable and interactive flat screen TV, DVD player, Internet, electronic room safe and a full bathroom with separate shower, hairdryer and bathrobes. The superior suites have 1 or 2 bedrooms, kitchen, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, interactive cable, flat screen TV, DVD surround sound system, electronic room safe and 2 or 3 bathrooms (master-bathroom equipped with bathtub and separate shower), hair dryer and bathrobes. All rooms have free internet wireless system. This stunning complex is architecturally designed to allow you to appreciate to the full extent the beautiful breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. Enjoy the wide variety of both on-site and off-site leisure facilities and entertainment services, including heated indoor pool; gymnasium; a luxury spa where you can enjoy the free use of the sauna, steam room and tropical shower; games room; hairdresser, free internet wireless system, fine a-la-carte and buffet restaurant, piano bar with nightly live musical entertainment and pool snack bar, 2 outdoor sea-water swimming pools (one heated), jacuzzi, and children's splash pool. We also feature a spacious sundeck and terrace coupled with shady and lush sub-tropical gardens, which are further adorned with a barbecue area, a short seaside promenade, fountains and water cascades, private sea access and outdoor games area - all providing maximum holiday ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Savoy Funchal
Savoy Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Funchal
Royal Savoy Resort Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing